1/10-Tip- AMPS-369...PMPS-163...+4-48 +4.5-56 +5-71 +6-91

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cindy & Pets

Member Since 2012
1/9 condo

AMPS - 369
+2 - 420
+6 - 183
PMPS - 163
+2 - 79
+4 - 48
+4.5 - 56
+5 - 71
+6 - 91

Yikes, I should've seen that 48 coming. I'm kicking myself for not catching it at +3 given how much lower her +2 was. I went ahead and gave her high carb. But I was wondering, is this still from her old dose? Or is this a cause to decrease? Or is this just because her bounce was breaking? In any of the cases, should I leave the dose as-is or decrease?
 
Re: 1/10-Tip- AMPS-369...PMPS-163 +2-79 +4-48 +4.5-56

Cindy

Her SS shows you reduced on the night of 1/8 to 8u and then the next morning you shot 8.25u and then you shot 8u again 1/9 PM, 1/10 am and tonight. Is that correct or is the a.m. Cycle 1/9 really 8u?

Normally, I would say reduce her dose. However, she was clearing a bounce starting this morning, she only got to 48, and she came right up. OTOH, you are dealing with a fairly large depot at 8u. The protocol calls for a reduction for a newly dx cat that goes below 50.

I think it's your decision. She has failed a reduction from this dose recently. If you can continue to test her to catch any drops, you might want to hang on to this dose just a bit more but I would say you absolutely must get those +2 tests :-D
 
Re: 1/10-Tip- AMPS-369...PMPS-163 +2-79 +4-48 +4.5-56

Thanks for letting me know, cycle 1/9 was really 8U. I just get so in to the habit of typing a dose that when it's changed that I accidentally type in the old dose.

I'm a bit confused about what you mean with dealing with a fairly large depot. Do you mean because the dose is so high that there's quite a bit of insulin in the shed? Or am I not understanding it right?

I'm leaning a little towards continuing to test and hanging on to the dose. Because from what I see, whenever a failed reduction happens, she tends to go 2-3 steps in the wrong direction. Especially since the weekend is coming up, though my grandpa has been really good about testing best he can.

Yeah, I've been trying to get the +2's. :) Only night I couldn't was wednesday because of a night class and he couldn't manage to get any blood. I've also been trying to get more +10's and more +11's.
 
Re: 1/10-Tip- AMPS-369...PMPS-163 +2-79 +4-48 +4.5-56

Did you shoot 8.25u yesterday at AMPS? You PMPS on 1/8 was 8.0u and then you dropped the dose again at PMPS on 1/9.

If that one dose of 8.25u is a typo, then I doubt this is carry over from the previous dose. If you lowered then raised then lowered the dose, it may just be that you're getting wonky numbers from the inconsistent dosing.
 
Re: 1/10-Tip- AMPS-369...PMPS-163 +2-79 +4-48 +4.5-56 +5-71

Sorry, hadn't gotten a chance to change it, that was a typo. I've changed it now though.
 
Re: 1/10-Tip- AMPS-369...PMPS-163 +2-79 +4-48 +4.5-56 +5-71

Yes...the depot for an 8u dose is larger than the depot from a 1u dose. So if you decide to hold the dose, be sure you do stay on the testing so you can catch drops. It's not that you want to prevent her from earning a reduction but a larger depot has the potential to have her come down a little faster when she is ready for a reduction so just stay on your toes :-D
 
Re: 1/10-Tip- AMPS-369...PMPS-163 +2-79 +4-48 +4.5-56 +5-71

I understand now, thanks. :) I'm just afraid of decreasing just a little bit too early. I'm going to keep watching her close as I can tonight and then decide.
 
Re: 1/10-Tip- AMPS-369...PMPS-163 +2-79 +4-48 +4.5-56 +5-71

I understand. You've been doing a great job with her! And so has Grandpa :-D
 
Re: 1/10-Tip- AMPS-369...PMPS-163...+4-48 +4.5-56 +5-71 +6-9

Thanks. :) I also passe the compliment on to him as he has been doing a really god job. I'm happy I can rely on him to take care of her when I can't.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top