1/10 Sebastian AMPS 342 +2 363 +7 194 PMPS 205

He has been pretty flat since +7. Can you get a test or two before bed?
Lantus is very good at giving flat cycles when you shoot lower numbers.
 
He has been pretty flat since +7. Can you get a test or two before bed?
Lantus is very good at giving flat cycles when you shoot lower numbers.

Yes I can I’ll definitely be up at least 4 hours after his shot. I do have a hypo kit as well, I just worry because it’s my understanding they need to go to the vet after/ during any hypo event and I don’t have the funds. Are hypos something you can deal with at home with high carb food and syrup and then just reduce the following dose? Or is a vet necessary every time?
 
Yes I can I’ll definitely be up at least 4 hours after his shot. I do have a hypo kit as well,
In that case you want to shoot the full dose. Don't fill him up. Feed some of his dinner at +1. You don't want him to be too full to eat a little every hour, if needed.


I just worry because it’s my understanding they need to go to the vet after/ during any hypo event and I don’t have the funds. Are hypos something you can deal with at home with high carb food and syrup and then just reduce the following dose? Or is a vet necessary every time?
You needn't worry about a symptomatic hypo episode when you are testing as much as you are - so you know how he is doing at each dose - and you are increasing the dose in small increments of 0.25U. You would also be monitoring his BG tonight (or any time you shoot a lower number) and you can ensure he doesn't drop too low by testing and feeding (high carbs or honey/syrup, if necessary).
 
Last edited:
Back
Top