1/10 Ruben amps 308 +5 157

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/10 Ruben amps 308

I hope that he'll eat very soon. I know that it takes time for the insulin to work, and for it to build a shed under the skin. Just keep trying, and if necessary, try force feeding him a little bit of watered down wet food.. Enough water where it'll fit into a plastic baby eyedropper without it clogging the eyedropper, and then insert in the side of mouth, and gently squeeze out a bit. Remove the eyedropper from his mouth, and keep doing that until the eyedropper is empty. Make sure that you allow a bit of a break between the gentle squirts. You don't want to overdo it, and make him afraid of being force fed.

Just a thought.
 
Re: 1/10 Ruben amps 308

Hi guys .. I'm sorry to hear ruben is not feeling well .. It's never fun when our furbabies are sick :sad:
 
Re: 1/10 Ruben amps 308

heading to vet.........yet again. he is in pain. i wish it was me instead
+5 157
 
Re: 1/10 Ruben amps 308

Morning Sam, sending healing vines and prayers for little Ruben today. I hope you can get him to eat something or try what Angela has suggested above. You must be so exhausted. I know you're worried and hope you were able to get some rest last night.
 
Oh I just saw your post as we were posting same time.
Glad you're taking Reuben to the Vet. Let us know when you can. Sending vines and prayers.
 
(((Sam & Ruben)))

My hunch is "pancreatitis", but I'm no vet.

Please let us know what you find out.

Carl
 
Yep its starting to sound like that but I do remember Sam said something about a colonoscopy in a thread and I wonder what the reason was.
 
hi gang,
they cant say for sure whats going with ruben, its like were in the perfect storm. so they gave me "bupe" to give him at home (thanks to that artical on pancreatits) and zofran for the nausea. they dont know if its pancreatitis ro some gi problem. he has had blood comeout after he poo's, so after 2yrs of conservitive med i decided to have colonoscopy. when he went in they tested his bg and it was 400 so we switched gears and here we are today.
he has nibbled on his food in the last hour (bout 1-2 tsp) gonna test at pmps and post. hoping your here carl or marje
they said i could skip if didnt eat but from my understanding cats shouldnt be a 1x a day dose. s.i.d < yay me
if this course of treatment doesnt work then there talking about hospitilization or maybe feeding tube......(he's eatingas we speak-oh god is good, lets see how much tho)
anyway i did crush some of his old kibble over it to get him to eat (not diabetic approved but if he eats im in)
ihavent been on, not cause i dont want to but have been at vet all day and am not feeling very good. im trying to stay as low key as possible which kills me cause i want to be doing something, anything to help my sweet boy. but as my mom and some of the gang here say, if im not well who's gonna take care of ruben. i was hospitilized for my condition on jan 3rd and written outof work to adjust to meds and to stay as stress free as possible....lol oh well for that. anyway, i need to find a balence for ruben and myself, do not, can not end up in the hospital again.
so ruben and i are resting for now, but i will be here at 7 with pmps #'s he has eaten in total about 1tbsp but its not near shot time so, not sure how to handle shooting, especially if number is low, could use guidance.
ruben and i have always been attached at the hip (i like to sing "me and my shadow" to him) but he is unusually needy today < i do not mind at all, but an indicator of how bad he feels
they were talking about antacid, they held off for now, but would this room clearing gas warrent him amybe having it. its brutal. lol
hope to see you at 7 peeps
thanks for the vines he needs them
 
pmps 199
the vet said if he's under 200 to hold off shot, he does tend to drop at night time (sorry for carl and marje and those who stay up with me while we dance) he hasnt eat very much today (actually hardly anything)
i think i feel more comfortable not giving evening shot, but i also know that cats really should have 2x doses
he skipped last night and actually was better this morning than when he has his second dose, which makes me think he should be ok to skip. vets said some cas are fine 1x (s.i.d.) i have checked for ketones earlier and they were negative, he hasnt been in the lb yet so i havent checked again but i will. maybe i could do a delayed shot, but honestly do not want to get into the testing game tonight (not saying i wont) but honestly ruben and i are not feeling great and stress is bad for both of us. dont know what the balence is? i can do the ketostix tho, those are less stressfull for us.
looking for guidence. i honeslty do no know if i can stay up if i shoot to test to make sure he doesnt hypo. my own neurological problems are coming back with force. i can not, repeat can not go into the hospital again, for one reason only, RUBEN, i am the only cg for him. my mom would have to take him to her house with her scary dog if i go back into the hospital and no doubt that would stress him and my mom out big time. bf is useless so that is not an option, he thinks all this stuff is killing him and says give him back reg food and stop shoots.......so he's an idiot..lol
point is cant trust him.
 
Sam

Given all that, I think you should skip the shot tonight.

brb

Carl
 
Samantha,
It isn't going to do or Ruben any good if you can't get sleep and not make yourself sick. Just keep an eye on him while you're awake, and get a ketone test when you can.

Don't over-stress about this. He's on a low dose of insulin, and even with missed shots, his numbers are still great considering all he's been through for the past few days. If he's in pain, he won't be all that active, and probably just needs you to make him feel safe and loved.

Did they give you meds to give him? If so, make sure he gets those, and try to get him to drink to keep him hydrated.

Get yourself some sleep tonight, and feel better, okay?

Carl
 
i love you carl
is tuna water okay to give ruben, to get him fluids, they did give me med to give him "bupe" he's do around 12am ( no big deal, i can do it ) he also got subq fluids at the hospital so im hoping he does have some hydration.
i will be off and on here all night so please post any thoughts. he just licked his food and maybe took a tiny bite but still not enough to warrent shot, or so i think
marje-if you see this, ill be looking for your opinion as well. it holds weight with me. big time. my bff wanted me to tell you she loves you too...lol she said she can see the stress come off me when i talk about you and she thanks you for that.
i was gratefull for my "cm or bm diagnosis" b/c i am out of work and is perfect timing. trying to see the bright side, i am an optimistic to the core (thoughts become reality) but when i have to rest instead of test (sounds like a slogan lol) i dont like it.
thank you fdmf, a heartfelt thank you. from the depths of my being words can't describe my gratitude.
marje, carl and wendy you guys get an honable mention. you restore my faith in humanity. there is good in the world, just gotta give it to get it. i have lived my life with the idea of doing no harm to life and to smile at the world in the hopes it will come back to me. i know i daid it before but you are my karma.
(side note marje, you know im a pro mini golfer, right? hoping to putt with you one day) at one point i was ranked 4th best woman in the usa- thats out of 5 women...jkjk not sure if that ranking still stands had a bad season last year.)
 
is tuna water okay to give ruben, to get him fluids

Yes, but just check the ingredient list on the can. Sometimes it says "Tuna in water" but there's other junk in there. Whenever my cats don't seem all that thrilled with the flavor of the day, I put tuna water on top of their food and suddenly it's the flavor they've been waiting their whole lives for.

Carl
 
HI Sam......when you give Ruben the bupe, be sure to put it in his cheek pouch, or under his tongue.

Don't squirt it down his throat.

It needs to be absorbed by the mucus membrane, not swallowed directly.
 
Hi Sam

Just catching up with your condo and I hope you are sleeping and Ruben ate tonight.

Cats metabolism is faster the humans so, in most cases, lantus should dosed twice a day (bid). There are rare cases where we have the CG dose sid but it's rare and Ruben doesn't fit the bill for that right now.

As Carl said, it's always possible to take his dose down to .25u bid to give you a break.

I think the course of treatment is good if its pancreatitis. It sounds like they gave fluids there instead of setting you up to give them at home. If he doesn't eat soon, you will have to discuss a feeding tube.

Good to keep on those ketone tests. I sure hope he is eating so you can get some insulin in him tomorrow.

Hugs,
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top