1/10 Phoenix BG 30 at +11.5

Scdal

Member Since 2020
@Bandit's Mom
I just gave Phoenix honey and fancy feast hc. I will check again in 20 minutes. I reduced his insulin from 9 units to 8.5 yesterday and delayed his shot for 2 hours.

I hate to skip a shot but if I delay another 2 hours, his injections today will be at 11 a.m. and 11 p.m. I can do this since I am retired so I will leave it up to people more experienced. Thank you
 
Hi, Susan, it might make sense to skip the shot so you can shoot at your regular time tonight.
I think you are right. I reduced his insulin yesterday from 9 units to 8.5. Should I reduce to 8 units or hold at 8.5 ? Before the prednisone, his dose was 7.5 units.
 
I think you are right. I reduced his insulin yesterday from 9 units to 8.5. Should I reduce to 8 units or hold at 8.5 ? Before the prednisone, his dose was 7.5 units.
The higher depot is still at play, but we tend to be conservative and reduce for every drop into the 30s. Plus you are working with a really large depot. So you might want to go to 8U tonight.

Once he is over 50, you could switch to LC and see if he stays over 50 with only LC. Since you are skipping his shot, we don't want to carb him up to the moon. LOL.
 
The higher depot is still at play, but we tend to be conservative and reduce for every drop into the 30s. Plus you are working with a really large depot. So you might want to go to 8U tonight.

Once he is over 50, you could switch to LC and see if he stays over 50 with only LC. Since you are skipping his shot, we don't want to carb him up to the moon. LOL.
Thank you Bhooma, I will give Phoenix 8 units this evening. Phoenix usually is on a raw meat diet. He only gets fancy feast when his BG drops. Phoenix just finished eating a salmon filet and some kidney.

Thank you so much for replying so quickly. Even though I am more aware of what to do when Phoenix's BG drops, it still scares me.

Before I fed Phoenix, I checked his BG. He was up to 88. With all the honey I gave him plus over half a can of fancy feast hc, I thought his BG would be higher. I think it is wise to skip his shot this morning.
Have a nice evening and good morning from Texas.
 
Back
Top