? 1/10 - New Member - Mumu - AMPS 370

Sisu

Member Since 2022
Hello, Mumu's amps is the lowest I've seen yet and am scared to shoot at this level, AT strip read 11.1 mmol/L and FS lite read 10.1 mmol/L, his current dose is 1.75.

I will check shortly as he is eating now, how long do you guys usually wait to check in this situation and what is a safe BG to shoot this dosage at? I didn't think to ask my vet as I didn't think this would happen so soon.
 
Here is your last post for continuity

Are you able to monitor this cycle, and have enough test strips?

Whenever you get a lower than usual preshot number, it is better to stall (not feed) and retest again in 20 minutes to see if the number is coming up on its own, without the influence of food. That said, based on the cycle last night, and the 88 at +5, he's been rising to preshot, so 200 would be fine to shoot. Here on the subforum, we usually suggest stalling if you have a preshot under 150, and you haven't yet collected enough data to be comfortable with shooting under 150. If you are comfortable shooting, it is always a good idea to get a +1 and +2 when faced with a lower preshot than you are used to - that will give you a good start on where the cycle might go.

It might be worth deciding which dosing method you would like to follow, since there are some differences in suggestions regarding when to reduce among other things. For example, with SLGS, if you get a number under 90 like you did last night, that would mean you would reduce by 0.25u. However, with TR, your reduction number using the AT2 meter would be 68.

Dosing methods
 
I hope you decide to shoot. As Christie said the dose depends on the method you choose. You test enough for TR.
 
Here is your last post for continuity

Are you able to monitor this cycle, and have enough test strips?

Whenever you get a lower than usual preshot number, it is better to stall (not feed) and retest again in 20 minutes to see if the number is coming up on its own, without the influence of food. That said, based on the cycle last night, and the 88 at +5, he's been rising to preshot, so 200 would be fine to shoot. Here on the subforum, we usually suggest stalling if you have a preshot under 150, and you haven't yet collected enough data to be comfortable with shooting under 150. If you are comfortable shooting, it is always a good idea to get a +1 and +2 when faced with a lower preshot than you are used to - that will give you a good start on where the cycle might go.

It might be worth deciding which dosing method you would like to follow, since there are some differences in suggestions regarding when to reduce among other things. For example, with SLGS, if you get a number under 90 like you did last night, that would mean you would reduce by 0.25u. However, with TR, your reduction number using the AT2 meter would be 68.

Dosing methods

I am now only shooting one unit of insulin in the AM as his AMPS is usually 17-20 mmol/L. And then his PMPS is anywhere from 4.5-13 mmol/L.

I shot 0.1 unit at 12.1 mmol/L and he dropped to 4.1 @ +2.5 so this is the reason why i am avoiding giving his pm dose now.

When i dont give him is PM dose his BG actually falls on its own till about +3.5 at which point it starts rising and will be around 20 mmol/L in the morning and i will give 1 unit and his BG remains high till his PMPS so it starts to fall around +7,+8,+9,+10 till his PMPS which I find odd.

Can anyone give me any ideas as to whats going on? Should i reduce dose to 0.75 unit AM/PM because i am sure if i shoot 1 unit in the PM he will become hypergylcemic.

I will update SS but cannot today.

Can you give me some ideas? Is 1 unit too much for him
 
Back
Top