1/10-Flame- AMPS=281, PMPS=311, +3.5=279

Status
Not open for further replies.

Donna and Flame

Member Since 2009
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-9-flame-amps-312-pmps-320-3-5-307.171039/

Sorry, keep forgetting to copy yesterday's condo!

Good morning everyone!
Have to make this quick because I have an early meeting today at work. A slightly lower PS number this morning. He was squirmy for his shot this morning again... GRRRR!! Had to try 3 times to get the insulin into him. I think I got it in OK the last time. Fingers crossed!! He's been really good. Not sure why he was so uncooperative this morning.

His squirrel friend is here right now, so he's very excited!!

Have a wonderful day all!! Love to all the kitties and beans!! :bighug:
 
Last edited:
Hi Donna~ it is looking like more yellows than pinks. This is day 5 on this dose so lets see what he can do with it . Maybe this weekend you can get a curve on Flame.

Today must be give momma trouble day as Bubba tried to bite me today when I was infecting. Must have hit a muscle.
 
I hope Flame surfs safely for you today.

I'm holding the dose for now because I plan to start weaning him off the pred in a few days since he's on the Flovent now. Don't want to increase dose again and wean off Pred at the same time. I'm hoping that's the right thing to do.
I think this is a good idea. I don't think you want to change two things at the same time. I hope it goes well.

Today must be give momma trouble day as Bubba tried to bite me today when I was infecting. Must have hit a muscle.
I love the typos we get around here. What did you infect Bubba with? :p
 
I'm holding the dose for now because I plan to start weaning him off the pred in a few days since he's on the Flovent now. Don't want to increase dose again and wean off Pred at the same time. I'm hoping that's the right thing to do.


I missed your thread yesterday, and yes , best to hold off as the weaning of the pred will probably help his numbers :cat:
 
I don't see your question about the test strips. Also, when are you planning to wean him off Pred? Keeping him at these numbers in the meantime will cause glucose toxicity so unless you're planning to wean him off sooner rather than later I'd consider an increase.
 
Hi folks,
Hope everyone in L&L land had a good day! So, PMPS is back in pink again. Could someone please tell him that pink is really not his color!!

I have a question... So, I ordered hundreds of Bayer Contour Next EZ strips from Amazon, but they were fulfilled by a 3rd party, not directly by Amazon. I checked the shipping status and it said to be delivered on 1/9. Well, don't know what made me check again on Saturday (1/7) but it said they were DELIVERED on 1/5!! So, they sat in the mailbox, in the NJ cold for 2 days!! I've brought them in and tonite I did a side by side test by getting a drop of blood on my very clean, just washed fingernail and tested with the NEW strip first and got 311. I quickly pulled the strip out of the meter and used an OLD (the ones I've been using) strip in and I got 320.

My question is, is this enough of a variation to make a difference with his testing? It's 9 points.
And... I'm not sure what number to use as his PMPS. Opinions?
May try to do another side by side test later to see what happens a second time.

Thanks everyone!!
 
Hey @Doodles & Karen
I'm planning to start weaning / reducing his pred dose on Friday. Glucose toxicity is a new term for me. I'll have to look it up. Do we have info on that somewhere?

I was still typing when you posted and my son was talking to me so I was slow. Sorry....
 
Here is the Glucose Toxicity link. What it basically means is kitty's body gets used to higher numbers and you have to go even higher in dose to break through. I agree with Karen's original post - I think it's time for an increase. You don't know for certain what removing pred from the picture will do. I would increase, then try easing off the pred and reduce the insulin dose if you need to. As a side note, I tested my civie yesterday, 68. :D He's on daily pred for his IBD/lymphoma and has been for about a year. He used to run in the 50's.

Your strips should be fine. I've done side by side tests from the same package of strips with a greater variation.
 
Problem is, I am not around to test except on Fridays and weekends. Not saying this will be the same as last time, but when I weaned him off pred last time (8 years ago) he started to come down within a short period of time if I remember correctly. I have to look and see if I still have that old notebook (before the days of spreadsheets).

It's confusing to me because in the past couple days, I've had people telling me they are seeing progress and to be patient. Now it almost sounds like he may be in iminent danger if I don't increase his dose.
If I look at his SS, it almost looks like he had more yellow at a lower dose. I'm just not seeing a pattern yet, and with working during the week and not getting mid-cycle tests, I don't know if he's going lower during the day now since he's been on 1U for 5 days (I'm not saying into blue or green territory, but lower yellows).

And, I can't stay up too much later at night to test because I have to be on top of my game at my job and I definitely do not function well with little sleep - not good falling asleep at client meetings!! The latest I could get at nite is a +4 if I stay up till 11 pm EST.

It's all scary to me... increasing his dose and starting to lower his Pred within a few days. I feel like such a newbie all over again.

So, if I were to increase his dose, would I increase to 1.25 U or a fat 1U? What would you suggest? Tagging some folks here to see what you all think.

@Wendy&Neko @Marje and Gracie @Doodles & Karen @Bobbie And Bubba @Sienne and Gabby (GA) @DebG (Deb, you've danced this dance with managing both asthma, weaning off pred and FD)

Thank you all for being here to encourage me and also to peel me off the ceiling when I am scared!! I thank God for you all every day!!
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I would only reduce the pred with the current dose if you can be very vigilant once you start to wean off on Friday. Personally, I get what Karen and Wendy are saying about the Glucose Toxicity but when you do that, can you monitor frequently during that process because his insulin demands are possibly going to go down. What is his currently dose of pred? Not sure what Wendy's cat's dose is but that can make a difference. I am probably being an alarmist but none the less things to be aware of.


ETA: I am probably being a bit cautious but because he is new to this dance again, this time around and being on the pred, and you are working full time, I would rather see you do this pred removal with his current dose more cautiously.
 
@Bobbie And Bubba he is currently on 2.5 mg pred once a day - in the AM. He's been on this dose of Pred since 12/23 after having to rush him to the vet on the night of 12/22 because he was so congested he was struggling. Prior to that, he had been on and off Pred for a couple months. He'd be on it for a couple of weeks, then we'd wean him off and his breathing would get bad again. That last time, on 12/23 is when she decided he needed to stay on the 2.5 mg daily.

My vet suggested starting on Friday, to reduce his dose to 1.25 mg once a day for 7 days. Then, if he's doing well, go to 1.25 mg every other day for 5 days. If he is still doing well, then she said to discontinue the Pred.

I will be working from home on Friday so can test intermittently all day. On Saturday I would be gone from about +4.5 or +5 to about +7 or so. But I may be able to get my son to get a test in there if necessary. On Sunday I can be home most of the day/night and may only go up to see my dad for a few hours at some point- he lives 10 minutes away.

I am pretty cautious myself Bobbie, but I also don't want to be SO cautious that I am not helping him.
 
Like I mentioned, if you're reducing the pred on Friday then just hold the dose. Not being able to test much is also a concern and I missed the SLGS method which has you holding this dose for 7 days before increasing anyway.
 
@Bobbie And Bubba he is currently on 2.5 mg pred once a day - in the AM. He's been on this dose of Pred since 12/23 after having to rush him to the vet on the night of 12/22 because he was so congested he was struggling. Prior to that, he had been on and off Pred for a couple months. He'd be on it for a couple of weeks, then we'd wean him off and his breathing would get bad again. That last time, on 12/23 is when she decided he needed to stay on the 2.5 mg daily.

My vet suggested starting on Friday, to reduce his dose to 1.25 mg once a day for 7 days. Then, if he's doing well, go to 1.25 mg every other day for 5 days. If he is still doing well, then she said to discontinue the Pred.

I will be working from home on Friday so can test intermittently all day. On Saturday I would be gone from about +4.5 or +5 to about +7 or so. But I may be able to get my son to get a test in there if necessary. On Sunday I can be home most of the day/night and may only go up to see my dad for a few hours at some point- he lives 10 minutes away.

I am pretty cautious myself Bobbie, but I also don't want to be SO cautious that I am not helping him.
I get what you are saying. I would be inclined to not increase the insulin while you decrease the pred. See how that goes. You can always increase the insulin after a few days after the pred is decreased if need be. Not too many changes at one time. And that is JMHO
 
Like I mentioned, if you're reducing the pred on Friday then just hold the dose. Not being able to test much is also a concern and I missed the SLGS method which has you holding this dose for 7 days before increasing anyway.

Actually, I had been a 'little' bit more aggressive and have increased his dose after 5 days / 10 cycles up to now. Went from starting dose of .5 to .75 and then 1U since he started insulin on 12/26. I felt OK doing this after consulting with Marje and Sienne mostly because he was still on the same dose of pred.

Thank you both for jumping in here Karen and Bobbie!! I really do appreciate it so much!!

ETA: Thank you so much as well for the info on Glucose Toxicity. I am diabetic myself. Not on insulin. Take oral diabetes meds. I learn more here than I do from my doctor!! Some of that info also applies to humans.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top