1/10 Blackie pmps 268 +2 263 +4 311

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ele & Blackie (GA)

Member Since 2009
Good Morning, LL
Blackie ate well this morning as long as I kept sprinkling the fortiflora on his food. I have been giving him .1ml of Buprenex every 12 hours and though I don't know if its making him feel better, at this dose he isn't showing any bad side effects. Since we have had to close the food box, I asked my MIL to go over at +4 and make sure he eats. With the Mirtazapine he has been eating enough that he has actually gained an ounce. :-D

I think I may have to increase his insulin dose. I don't know if his numbers are staying high because he's eating more or if its because he's no longer on the Zenequin. I emailed my vet this morning with several questions including if we could increase subQ fluids and add the supplement Denamarin.

Thank you all for your support and continued prayers and vines for Blackie. And I hope Claudia's Rocket is better soon too.

Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=33984
 
Re: 1/10 Blackie amps 331 +2 339

Hi Ele,
Good news on the eating and the gaining of weight! Blackie can do it!! Hope you get some good answers to your questions from your vet.
Check back with you later, Vines will be arriving shortly!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/10 Blackie amps 331 +2 339

Good news! It sounds like Blackie is getting better. I hope so. Eating and gaining a little weight - YAY! I hope you can get some answers from your vet. Mannie and I send vines too.
 
Re: 1/10 Blackie amps 331 +2 339 +7 263

Blackie gained a bit of weight? How wonderful that he's eating well enough to do that, Ele. That's so good to hear. :-D
 
Re: 1/10 Blackie amps 331 +2 339 +7 263

I just an email from my vet. He said we can increase Blackie's subQ's to up to 200ml/day and we can start the Denamarin. He also wants him to get weekly b-12 shots. So I'll need to make an appt for that. I'm really glad our vet is on board with these treatments. He also said that it could be several weeks before we see some good improvement, but I am still encouraged.
 
Re: 1/10 Blackie amps 331 +2 339 +7 263

hi Ele,
i'm glad to read Blackie has gained some weight even though he's had a rough time...

regarding the B12 injections....would you consider giving him the injections yourself rather than bring him to the vet for yet another stress visit for Blackie?

i ask simply cause you can do the injections the same way you do insulin...they can give you the vitamin in a dark test tube (not sure how they would dispense it for you but that's how i got it) and i was to give it to him same way as insulin shots once a week for 6 weeks.....the B12 they give is NOT the methylcobalamin....but it still helps to increase their appetite...

ask your vet if you can do it at home since you already do insulin anyways...it will save you time and it will save Blackie the stress of going to the vet and travel time...

just a thought....

thanks for keeping us in your prayers....Rocket is doing ok though not 100%....but eating ok so long as i spoon feed or hold his dish....

since you are going to be doing 200 cc LRS....if i were you i would do 2 sessions....

hope Blackie starts feeling better soon...it is so hard to tell when they're out of the woods for sure....as i still don't know if Rocket is in pain....so hard to tell and i'm drained...and i know you know what i'm talking about....

sending healing vines your way as well.....
 
Re: 1/10 Blackie amps 331 +2 339 +7 263

sounds like Blackie is doing better everyday, so wonderful to read.
My continued prayers
 
Re: 1/10 Blackie amps 331 +2 339 +7 263

So Happy to hear that Blackie gained an ounce!! That's great!! This has been a difficult trial for you both--
I am glad you are getting on the more positive side now--I do worry about all the kitties here! And sweet Blackie, he's a special boy.
Healing vines & hopes the improvement continues--Big Hugs from us!
 
Re: 1/10 Blackie amps 331 pmps 268

Thank you so much for all the support. :YMHUG: I misunderstood my vet. When I called to make the appt, they said to come in and pick up the B-12. So I gave him his injection tonight and they also gave me more Bup. Blackie ate great tonight too. :-D I'll be giving him his 2nd session of fluids pretty soon. There is no way he would sit still for more than 100ml at a time.
 
Re: 1/10 Blackie amps 331 pmps 268

I'm glad you are breaking the fluids up. And awesome that you don't have to bring Blackie back for the B12 shots!!! I've heard great things about them. Wishing they work great for Blackie.
 
Re: 1/10 Blackie amps 331 pmps 268

Great news, Ele, that Blackie is doing better and eating. I'm so glad!! I know you will feel better about leaving if he's doing so much better. I think the bupe dose sounds good for him!!! Don't know about the dosing but good luck with whatever you decide. Sending more healing vines!!
 
Re: 1/10 Blackie amps 331 pmps 268

Hi Ele, My Auntie Elsie (lived to be 99) always got B-12 shots (for herself). She swore by them. I hope they will help Blackie, too!! Good vet report. I'm sure that you feel much better now about your vacation. Blackie will be fine, and you have all of the rest of this week to get him into his new routines.
Have a good evening, all of you!

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top