1/10 Bailie +12 95 +13 145 PMPS (+13.75) 187 +1 338

No apologies needed. Did you already test him for one hour after the shot and get 146 or where did that come from on his SS? If you haven’t tested him yet, which by my clock, isn’t an hour yet, then that should be deleted from the +1 on the World sheet and then it will auto delete on the US sheet. I have it fixed exactly as it should be. If you look at it later when you feel calmer, you’ll see the logic behind it. Because we typically shoot every 12 hours, if we delay, then the clock doesn’t start over....it just continues to +13, +14, etc. until we shoot. Then it starts over at +1 because we are looking at hours since the last shot. It would have been extremely helpful since you are at a very different time than any of us in the US, if you had said, I just tested him again and he’s 145 at +13. Then I would have known for certain when you got 187, 45 minutes later, that you still had plenty of time to shoot. It will help you and those helping you if you try to learn the lingo.

While we are waiting for that +1 test, let me go through a few things. I suggest you bookmark this page (on the top right of the first post you did today, click “watch thread” and then you can always find it in your “watched threads”) for future reference.

1. Always stay calm. It doesn’t help him, you, or the person helping you if you panic. Even if you test at some time and he’s at 40, do not panic. You do not need the 911 unless he is below 40 or is having hypoglycemia. It’s better to use the “?” prefix and have something in the subject title which indicates you need help ASAP. I have not yet, in 13.5 years, seen a cat hypo when the CG was testing and feeding appropriately. If you are doing that, he isn’t going to hypo. I understand the fear; I remember it well. We always have to have that feeling in us so we don’t get complacent but you are in control with your meter and food.

2. When we don’t shoot, it’s recorded as AMBG or PMBG. So, tonight, it would have been best for the subject line to state (after date and his name) “PMBG 95; need help to shoot”. If you put PMPS, people are going to assume you shot. Once you shoot, then you can change it as I have done for you.

3. Unless he’s below 40, as soon as you get a BG, record it on his SS immediately and then look at the US SS and see what the equivalent number is. Then post this in the condo. The majority of members here are not going to know how to convert mmol/L BGs to mg/dL BGs and so will likely not help if you don’t state it in the mg/dL format. Even for me tonight, you put it in the mmol/L, so I first looked on his SS to see the conversion but it wasn’t there. So I had to take time to convert it manually. Tonight it didn’t matter because he was at a safe number but there might be a time when every second counts.

4. Answer questions succinctly and remember that indecision wastes time. It is not helpful. Instead of continuing to ask me if you could shoot 1u or 2u, etc. and me repeating that the cycle would look the same for the first several hours no matter what you shot, you should have read my advice and then made a quick decision on what you wanted to do. While a member might decide to do something different than I recommend, it is not my business to judge or criticize it. I can tell you what I suggest after 13.5 years of doing this and helping hundreds and hundreds of people, but if you aren’t comfortable doing it and you wanted to shoot 2u, then we move forward. He’s your cat!!! And you also know your own situation and whether you have everything you need and can stay up to test him, if need be.

When I said it wasn’t safe to disregard a 95, I meant you couldn’t just skip the shot and not worry about testing him again because he was asleep. He was headed down all day and, although he was at the end of the cycle, sometimes we see the BG continue down in the subsequent cycle. Complacency is not safe here. Some times we have to wake them up to test. I know we don’t like it but if they are running lower than they have, we have to do it.

On shooting late or early. In general, you should test, feed, shoot within about 15 mins. However, that is different than when we are dealing with lower, and sometimes higher numbers. If the BG is too low to shoot at PS (below 90 for those doing SLGS and 50 for TR), then the best thing to do is not feed and then immediately post for help. Whoever is helping is going to have you test again in 30 minutes and if the BG is on the rise without food in the picture, it’s safe to shoot the full dose and feed. Sometimes, we don’t get a rising number for 1.5-2 hours so we continue stalling without food and retesting every 30 minutes and shoot the full dose as soon as the BG starts to rise. Sometimes, it doesn’t come up to a shootable BG in two hours so we skip and feed.

Typically when stalling, you want to then shoot the full dose because stalling can act like a dose reduction just as shooting early (yes, sometimes we do) can act like a dose increase.

When we stall, we have to get back to our shot time slowly, in general, and that is usually 30 minutes a day. So, for example, tomorrow, you would normally shoot at 7:30 since you shot at 8 tonight and tomorrow night you would shoot at 7:30. The next day, you would shoot at 7 am and 7 pm; the next day at 6:30 am and pm. And finally, the day after that, you will be back at 6/6.

However, we also have a little trick we can do if you get up in the morning at your usual time, test him (which would be around +10), and he’s really high. You can shoot on time with 2.5u. If this makes you nervous or you don’t know whether to do it, post, although I don’t know how many people will be on that early.
What does this mean ? Why would he be so high ?
 
No apologies needed. Did you already test him for one hour after the shot and get 146 or where did that come from on his SS? If you haven’t tested him yet, which by my clock, isn’t an hour yet, then that should be deleted from the +1 on the World sheet and then it will auto delete on the US sheet. I have it fixed exactly as it should be. If you look at it later when you feel calmer, you’ll see the logic behind it. Because we typically shoot every 12 hours, if we delay, then the clock doesn’t start over....it just continues to +13, +14, etc. until we shoot. Then it starts over at +1 because we are looking at hours since the last shot. It would have been extremely helpful since you are at a very different time than any of us in the US, if you had said, I just tested him again and he’s 145 at +13. Then I would have known for certain when you got 187, 45 minutes later, that you still had plenty of time to shoot. It will help you and those helping you if you try to learn the lingo.

While we are waiting for that +1 test, let me go through a few things. I suggest you bookmark this page (on the top right of the first post you did today, click “watch thread” and then you can always find it in your “watched threads”) for future reference.

1. Always stay calm. It doesn’t help him, you, or the person helping you if you panic. Even if you test at some time and he’s at 40, do not panic. You do not need the 911 unless he is below 40 or is having hypoglycemia. It’s better to use the “?” prefix and have something in the subject title which indicates you need help ASAP. I have not yet, in 13.5 years, seen a cat hypo when the CG was testing and feeding appropriately. If you are doing that, he isn’t going to hypo. I understand the fear; I remember it well. We always have to have that feeling in us so we don’t get complacent but you are in control with your meter and food.

2. When we don’t shoot, it’s recorded as AMBG or PMBG. So, tonight, it would have been best for the subject line to state (after date and his name) “PMBG 95; need help to shoot”. If you put PMPS, people are going to assume you shot. Once you shoot, then you can change it as I have done for you.

3. Unless he’s below 40, as soon as you get a BG, record it on his SS immediately and then look at the US SS and see what the equivalent number is. Then post this in the condo. The majority of members here are not going to know how to convert mmol/L BGs to mg/dL BGs and so will likely not help if you don’t state it in the mg/dL format. Even for me tonight, you put it in the mmol/L, so I first looked on his SS to see the conversion but it wasn’t there. So I had to take time to convert it manually. Tonight it didn’t matter because he was at a safe number but there might be a time when every second counts.

4. Answer questions succinctly and remember that indecision wastes time. It is not helpful. Instead of continuing to ask me if you could shoot 1u or 2u, etc. and me repeating that the cycle would look the same for the first several hours no matter what you shot, you should have read my advice and then made a quick decision on what you wanted to do. While a member might decide to do something different than I recommend, it is not my business to judge or criticize it. I can tell you what I suggest after 13.5 years of doing this and helping hundreds and hundreds of people, but if you aren’t comfortable doing it and you wanted to shoot 2u, then we move forward. He’s your cat!!! And you also know your own situation and whether you have everything you need and can stay up to test him, if need be.

When I said it wasn’t safe to disregard a 95, I meant you couldn’t just skip the shot and not worry about testing him again because he was asleep. He was headed down all day and, although he was at the end of the cycle, sometimes we see the BG continue down in the subsequent cycle. Complacency is not safe here. Some times we have to wake them up to test. I know we don’t like it but if they are running lower than they have, we have to do it.

On shooting late or early. In general, you should test, feed, shoot within about 15 mins. However, that is different than when we are dealing with lower, and sometimes higher numbers. If the BG is too low to shoot at PS (below 90 for those doing SLGS and 50 for TR), then the best thing to do is not feed and then immediately post for help. Whoever is helping is going to have you test again in 30 minutes and if the BG is on the rise without food in the picture, it’s safe to shoot the full dose and feed. Sometimes, we don’t get a rising number for 1.5-2 hours so we continue stalling without food and retesting every 30 minutes and shoot the full dose as soon as the BG starts to rise. Sometimes, it doesn’t come up to a shootable BG in two hours so we skip and feed.

Typically when stalling, you want to then shoot the full dose because stalling can act like a dose reduction just as shooting early (yes, sometimes we do) can act like a dose increase.

When we stall, we have to get back to our shot time slowly, in general, and that is usually 30 minutes a day. So, for example, tomorrow, you would normally shoot at 7:30 since you shot at 8 tonight and tomorrow night you would shoot at 7:30. The next day, you would shoot at 7 am and 7 pm; the next day at 6:30 am and pm. And finally, the day after that, you will be back at 6/6.

However, we also have a little trick we can do if you get up in the morning at your usual time, test him (which would be around +10), and he’s really high. You can shoot on time with 2.5u. If this makes you nervous or you don’t know whether to do it, post, although I don’t know how many people will be on that early.
Are you saying if I get up early at my usual time and he’s very high I can shoot the 2.5 at the usual time of 6:00 ? That will be 1 and a half hours early ,is that what you mean ?
 
Oh my goodness I’m so sorry lol so his number was 338
Thank you.

He’s likely so high because he is bouncing off those lower numbers he hadn’t seen in a while. It could also be because he hasn’t yet onset from the next dose so it’s best to check him at +2 and if he’s still going up, you can rest for the night.

Are you saying if I get up early at my usual time and he’s very high I can shoot the 2.5 at the usual time of 6:00 ? That will be 1 and a half hours early ,is that what you mean ?
Yes. Will you be around to test him at +2 in the morning?
 
Thank you.

He’s likely so high because he is bouncing off those lower numbers he hadn’t seen in a while. It could also be because he hasn’t yet onset from the next dose so it’s best to check him at +2 and if he’s still going up, you can rest for the night.


Yes. Will you be around to test him at +2 in the morning?
Yes I will I don’t have to go out until 10 am
 
Thank you.

He’s likely so high because he is bouncing off those lower numbers he hadn’t seen in a while. It could also be because he hasn’t yet onset from the next dose so it’s best to check him at +2 and if he’s still going up, you can rest for the night.


Yes. Will you be around to test him at +2 in the morning?
So test him in another two hours is that what you meant? Or did you mean an hour from now
 
Thank you.

He’s likely so high because he is bouncing off those lower numbers he hadn’t seen in a while. It could also be because he hasn’t yet onset from the next dose so it’s best to check him at +2 and if he’s still going up, you can rest for the night.


Yes. Will you be around to test him at +2 in the morning?
And just to be sure, what do you mean by really high? And thank you so much for all your help and putting up with me . I sure do appreciate it.:bighug:
 
And just to be sure, what do you mean by really high? And thank you so much for all your help and putting up with me . I sure do appreciate it.:bighug:
If he’s still 300 or above or headed up, you could shoot early but be sure and test at +2 and before you leave.

You’re welcome. I hope the info I left helps. It would also be good if you print off the Start Low Go Slow portion of this post and keep it handy.
 
Last edited:
Yes, I went to sleep. But I did wake up periodically got more tests he was 484 at 4am and 390 at my regular shoot time at 6 am I wish I could shoot now I wish I knew if I could I’m all confused about my spreadsheet and the times. I’m sorry I just just woke up
 
OK hi there so Bandits Mom told me it was OK to shoot his regular time because he was very high through the night and At 4am he was 469 and at 6 am he was 394.2 but I was waiting for an answer so 6:30 AM is when I shot 2.5 and I’m just wondering about my spreadsheet .I think it’s a little messed up I’m not quite grasping The time stuff. Would you be able to take a look at it and if it needs to be fixed fix it for me when you get some time? I’ll get it at some point. It’s a learning curve.
 
Back
Top