1-10 amps 83 first time no shot PMPS 264 SICK KITTY.. HELP APPRECIATED

Status
Not open for further replies.

MartinJA527

Member Since 2014
Booger had an eventful night. She had 3 episodes of vomiting which dropped her to the 50's. I'm working and haven't been able to update her spreadsheet. I was able to bring her up to the 100's finally but she still dropped off to the 80's by amps.. And there was more vomit this am :-(. My husband and I are both working today and nether of us could be there to watch her or feed her if she continued her sick spell today.. I am sad being away from her and worried.. We've never ever skipped insulin before.. My husband will be able to check on her at some point this afternoon so I will update if possible. I hope I made the right call but I couldn't see loading her up when I fought so hard last night to keep her in the 50's... Not knowing if she was going to keep her food down... Not too sure what's going on with her right now..
 
You made the right call. Safety first. She will get back on track quickly I suspect. I hope she is feeling better by the time your husband checks in on her.
 
There you are. . .
I'm glad you skipped -- it was the wise choice. Safety first..

Better a day too high than an hour too low . . .as the saying goes :cool:
 
Ok, I have Booger's numbers updated in the ss now. When my husband went by to check on her she was 218 this afternoon. Tonight when he got home she was laying on a blanket and wouldn't come to dinner (usually the first one, greets you at the door, wide-eyed, bushy tailed.. all smiles and meows.. will eat anything you put in front of her). My husband had to carry her to her bowl and offered her her normal dinner time meal. She turned her nose up at it initially and reluctantly took a few bites. She immediately vomited it up. My civies aren't sick.. I don't think it's the food. She won't touch anything at the moment.. I haven't dosed her yet, I don't know what to do!! Can someone give us some advice?? Thanks in advance!
 
Do you have any all neat baby food without garlic it noon added? Sometimes they will eat Gerber's 2nd chicken or turkey or ham or Beechnut when the turn down other food. You can try finger feeding or syringe feeding if needed.
 
I can only say what I would do, and that is skip the shot. If he is sick, and wont eat, he could drop too low if you give him insulin. That is my opinion. You need to have him eat something, and if he isnt better and eating soon, then a vet trip is recommended. Edit- sorry.. He is a she!!
 
She will most likely go up higher if you skip, but 264 isnt really terribly high right now, so concentrate on getting her feeling better and her appetite back, then worry about her numbers...
 
Have you given any thought to getting her to an ER vet? This frequency of vomiting is worrisome. She may need fluids and vomiting can have an effect on electrolytes.

Is there any chance she ate something toxic or something like string? She she used the litter box?
 
Ok thanks on the advice. No we don't have any baby food.. I thawed out some home made cat food (chicken) that I made and gave that to her. She just ate about 2 tablespoons of it. I think she would've eaten more so that's a positive. I did put some extra water in it. I'm going to see if she can keep that down before I put any more in. Yes, I have thought of it Sienne. I thought very hard of it on my way home when my husband was telling me about her on the phone and then when I got home. It is still on the table. I do have to work in the morning again.. and so does he. It is also an option to give her fluids here.. I am going to schedule a vet visit for Monday but I will not wait that long if things worsen.. I cannot be 100% sure of what she may have gotten into while we were at work.. although I can't imagine what it would be. My mind keeps going back to the new shipment of canned food we got in on Monday but I would have thought she would have been sick before now or that my civies would be as well. But the fact that she's eating my food is giving me hope.. I'm just hoping she keeps it down for now..
 
I hope she keeps the food down. If she does give her some amounts each hour. Your instincts to not feed too much at once are right on.
 
Paws crossed she keeps the food down. Hopefully she eats for you in the am as well so she can get her insulin. If you have any issues at amps, just ask for help in your subject line. I usually am on at 7:45am, and if I can help, I will.
 
Paws crossed here too.. Would you suggest regular dose if shes high as a kite?? We've never done this before.. Thank you so much for everyone's help. Praying she is felling back to her old self tomorrow!
 
sending Booger healing vines. I'm wondering if she might have pancreatitis. Have you ever read the Primer on Pancreatitis.

It might give you some info to discuss with the vet. I think if she doesn't hold this foo down today, I'd think about the ER.
 
sending Booger healing vines. I'm wondering if she might have pancreatitis. Have you ever read the Primer on Pancreatitis.

It might give you some info to discuss with the vet. I think if she doesn't hold this foo down today, I'd think about the ER.
Ugh.. While I haven't read that specific post.. Yes that has crossed my mind. My husband said she didn't eat her canned food this morning. (He got up early to feed her and see how she was going to do) so he pulled out the home made diet and tried that. She does seem to prefer that right now but something is still not right. We're going to the vet.. I just have to decide if it's tonight or in the AM. I have contacted him via e-mail, but you know.. He won't see that til he's in the office I'm sure. She kept down the food from last night. We have yet to see if she keeps down this mornings breakfast.. She does "seem" nauseated still..
 
It sounds to me like she might be having a bout of pancreatitis. I would get her into the vet right away. This can quite serious. Please read what Marje wrote in her previous post Primer on Pancreatitis. I lost my diabetic cat to pancreatitis so as I said it can be quite serious.
Please keep us updated.

Terri
 
Sorry.. I should have said I hadn't read it before.. I did read it when she posted it. Yes, I'm afraid a vet trip is in order.. I know something's going on with her, I just don't know what .. This just isn't like her. I won't be home until after 7 and he won't be home until after 5.. Of course she feels bad on the weekend and on a weekend we're both working.. So it won't be until then..
 
I am sorry Booger has not been feeling well- I echo the thoughts of others as to getting her to the Vet asap- even the ER vet if need be. Pancreatitis is a horrible thing, will look forward to your updates.
 
It does sound like pancreatitis. Make sure they run the test specf fPL and not the in house SNAP test which is just a positive negative and doesn't give a number. They will likely give a nausea shot. Make sure you are sent home with cerenia and/or a script to get Ondansetron for nausea. Keep us posted.
 
Also Buprenex for pain. Cats DO have pain when they have pancreatitis. But not all vets will agree with this and some will tend to argue with you as they do not want to give the pain meds, but if she does have pancreatitis insist on buprenex.

Terri
 
Thank you all so much for your help and thoughts and suggestions. Booger "seems" better tonight. She ate dinner willingly. We followed advice and layed off the canned food as it seemed to be irritating her. We offered her the normal amount of home made food she would normally eat at a meal. She has kept it down, has been perky and acting herself. I'm still not convinced, though. I'm about to update her spreadsheet and I was really really scared of dosing tonight as well.. giving her turn of events as of lately.. and that she's dropping so we're playing it safe again tonight. Shes' drinking water but I'm concerned she may be dehydrated since her numbers are lower.. even with eating.. and I would assume with her being sick if it were infection or pancreatitis her numbers would be elevated (trying to think through out loud??). She has energy, appetite, and I can rub on her belly without eliciting what I would take as a pain response.. she seems to enjoy it. I'm really at a loss for what is going on with her. She ate a moderate lunch and a generous dinner today.. with water added. I am watching her closely tonight and will be making an appointment for first thing tomorrow morning regardless of her status.. Thank you all for the suggestions to take to the vet.. I will be taking them with me. You all are amazing.. I am so thankful for each of you..

Edited to add: Shes now 224 +3 and came out of the bedroom and just jumped up on the cat tree to sharpen her claws.. she is acting like a "normal" cat in terms of behavior..
 
While I've dealt with chronic pancreatitis for 5 years I don't have experience with it and FD. EAting and drinking sounds promising but I'm with you that I would make the vet appointment. :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top