1/1 Tiger AMPS 480, PMPS 441, 360+1, 389+2

Deb and Tiger

Member Since 2023
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-31-tiger-amps-439-335-3-210-6-5-pmps-415.285139/

Tigers appetite is low and having trouble finding something he will eat, started yesterday. So I know his eating is off and affecting his numbers somewhat. Normally he eats his kibble snack at 3am, as soon as it drops but not the last 2 nights. He ate it but way late and this morning he was climbing all over me hungry by 6 am, but when I fed him at 7:30 amps, he barely ate 1/3 of his food.
Not sure what it is but with his tummy troubles he has to eat every 6 hours or so and getting him to eat, a priority. I wonder if trying to get him on LC food and trying different foods is the cause. I have not changed his nightly kibble snack, trying to not change everything at once. It’s such a balancing act…
 
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-31-tiger-amps-439-335-3-210-6-5-pmps-415.285139/

Tigers appetite is low and having trouble finding something he will eat, started yesterday. So I know his eating is off and affecting his numbers somewhat. Normally he eats his kibble snack at 3am, as soon as it drops but not the last 2 nights. He ate it but way late and this morning he was climbing all over me hungry by 6 am, but when I fed him at 7:30 amps, he barely ate 1/3 of his food.
Not sure what it is but with his tummy troubles he has to eat every 6 hours or so and getting him to eat, a priority. I wonder if trying to get him on LC food and trying different foods is the cause. I have not changed his nightly kibble snack, trying to not change everything at once. It’s such a balancing act…
Are you checking his urine ketones? Is he drinking water and how is his overall demeanor (is he active or lethargic?).
 
Are you checking his urine ketones? Is he drinking water and how is his overall demeanor (is he active or lethargic?).
His ketones were last checked when we found out he was diabetic and they were 0. He’s drinking about normal.
He never has been a very active kitty but yesterday and today he seems more laid back. Hasn’t played with his toys. However he was very active at 6 this morning wanting me up to feed him. He did eventually finish his breakfast this morning.
 
His ketones were last checked when we found out he was diabetic and they were 0. He’s drinking about normal.
He never has been a very active kitty but yesterday and today he seems more laid back. Hasn’t played with his toys. However he was very active at 6 this morning wanting me up to feed him. He did eventually finish his breakfast this morning.
Urine ketones should be checked every single day when the BG is this high. The fact that he ate is a good sign but I would not neglect those urine ketone tests. You can buy urine ketone test strips (don’t get the ones that also check urine glucose) at Walmart or any pharmacy. The human ones are what you need.
 
I can’t imagine how we would do that. Can’t get near litter box when he is in there, he runs out if we come near it.
Not sure what’s going on today, staying flat around 400. Just asked for food so gave him some ff LC flaked. Just a spoonful.
 
I did just a spoonful as a snack. Didn’t want to raise numbers….

he has never had these numbers all day long. Bounce?
 
Ok any advice other than ketones? Since it’s NY day not much I can do other than emergency room. Should I be freaking out because of numbers and just take him to emergency? It’s not ever done this and being new, it’s scary. Will it possibly fall just as far in the middle of night tonight. I see others getting replies but I’m not, so posting again.
I’m sorry if I am being a pest but all this makes me so nervous and I tend to panic I guess. I know Tiger is sensing my nervousness which doesn’t help him.
 
Oh I see, it’s ok to give a couple of teaspoons if he wants to eat it now. As Marje said it is important to test for ketones regularly.

the basic recipe for developing DKA is an insufficient supply of insulin + inappetance + infection or other systemic stresses

Deep breaths :bighug:, he’s staying a little bit high and flat today, but that is because he still isn’t used to hitting blues.
 
Ok good to know. That’s why I’m concerned about the teeth.
Is it likely he will fall a lot tonight?

tysm for answering. I felt like everyone was skipping over me …and I was getting panicky.
 
You are welcome :)
Looks like he might already be trending a little downward, I know the higher numbers are hard to see. Sometimes the board slows down for a bit. You can also add a question mark at the thread title, that can help draw experienced members if you have a specific question.

Now, eat your fuds, Tiger and stop scaring your mama :cat:
 
Remember it’s a holiday so there are less people around. Sometimes, the ones that are responding to others might feel like they don’t have the experience to give you any advice.

Do you have a human meter and know how to ear test him? If so, next time he gives you a lower number than you are used to seeing, go ahead and do an ear poke and check his BG on a human glucometer to see how close the Libre is.

Honestly, I don’t like his numbers being this high for this long. If he wasn’t eating dry food, I would encourage you to do TR so we could increase the dose alot more often. He doesn’t need a trip to the ER unless he stops eating, drinking, acting lethargic, becomes hypoglycemic (less likely to happen with you monitoring him), etc in terms of emergencies for diabetes. Do not worry about feeding him LC food in terms of his BG. It is not likely to raise it much, if any. It’s more important that he eat.

I would try to resist checking his Libre so much. It’s smart to follow what the rest do that are doing ear pokes and using hand-held glucometers: always get a preshot reading; check the reading at +2. If it’s the same or less than the PS and the BG is high like this, read it at +4 and then decide from there. If it’s higher and it’s nighttime, read it before you go to bed (it is likely still going to be high) and get some sleep. You don’t have to record every single BG the Libre reads so that should save you some time.

If you can’t do a urine ketone test, there are blood ketone meters that are very similar to the hand-held glucometers; however, the strips for them are quite expensive.

It’s very possible his numbers are so high because his body didn’t like the 1.5u and so he’s built up so resistance sitting there for a week. I understand you were just following SLGS and what you did was completely correct. However, it’s just not the best method of regulation for cats as high as this. If the cat is not eating dry food, we will suggest the caregiver (CG) try TR just long enough to get the BG into a better range and then they can go back to SLGS if it’s their preferred method. We also sometimes fast-track cats even on SLGS but not when they are already getting into yellow and occasional blue numbers.

The main thing to do right now is be sure he continues to eat and drink. If he’s do that but not eating well, talk to your vet. Insofar as to whether he will come down tonight, he hasn’t really moved much today but you’ll be able to tell more after his PS and +2 tonight.
 
Last edited:
We do have a hand held but hubby hasn’t gotten a drop of blood yet.
He is asking to eat right now and looking for hidden kibble on the floor. He is due to eat in 20 minutes. If he refuses LC, do I give his reg ff?

Maybe we should invest in that meter, at least price them.
His numbers today worried me too, that’s why this thread.
he just now is playing with his toy, go figure.
He gets his shot at 8 pm and we go to bed at +3, however one of us has stayed up till 3 am to take readings.
Tysm
 
We do have a hand held but hubby hasn’t gotten a drop of blood yet.
He is asking to eat right now and looking for hidden kibble on the floor. He is due to eat in 20 minutes. If he refuses LC, do I give his reg ff?

Maybe we should invest in that meter, at least price them.
His numbers today worried me too, that’s why this thread.
he just now is playing with his toy, go figure.
He gets his shot at 8 pm and we go to bed at +3, however one of us has stayed up till 3 am to take readings.
Tysm
Sure feed him what he will eat if he doesn’t want the LC. Trying to starve cats into a new diet doesn’t work. It can take a very long. Time to transition them and it should be done very slowly especially with a cat with a sensitive tummy.

I will check back in in a bit and see what his +2 is so I can advise you on whether you should just go to bed and not worry about testing anymore.
 
I swear by the Abbot Precision Xtra to test Ketones from the blood, it's more instant to detect than the urine. https://www.amazon.com/DSS-Precision-Glucose-Results-Included/dp/B00JIK6CIW/ref=sr_1_1?crid=3QF0O42D8DS1X&keywords=abbott precision&qid=1704168830&sprefix=abbot precisio,aps,163&sr=8-1

The strips have come down quite I bit from when they first hit the market, I buy from this link and it's been great > https://www.amazon.com/Precision-Xtra-Ketone-Test-Strips/dp/B07CKX3XBW/ref=sr_1_2_pp?crid=1SHXWFTYCJUZN&keywords=precision xtra&qid=1704168572&sprefix=precision xtra,aps,184&sr=8-2

Right now there is a 5% coupon and if you don't have Prime for free shipping, you can add something cheap to it for free shipping at $35 total cart.

I have the urine ketone sticks, glad to ship those to you for free. I have the Relion brand and the Ketostik name brand. I only used a few from each bottle, not going to use them. PM me on the side, I will ship them first class tomorrow.

The Precision Xtra is really the best way to give you piece of mind with high BG.
 
Jason that is so kind but we will check those blood testing ones you sent the link to? Hubby was checking at Walmart earlier.
I don’t think we could get the urine samples.
Tysm for that great info.

I just checked Walmart, they appear out of stock, only selling from third party stores at $42. The Amazon third party stores sell around $25. Just for the meter.... strips will run you $1.25 per test. I've searched high an low, that Amazon link has been one of the best I've found, but you might fight cheaper. Good luck!

Important note: you need a lot of blood for this kind of meter. A normal glucose meter needs a tiny drop I think 3 microliters, the ketone meter will need slightly bigger drop of blood, at about 5microliters. When you prick, you need to ensure you got a nice big bead of blood or you will waste the $1.25 strip. You will want to be very prepared with that the meter and the expensive strip is all ready to go and if your cat is a shaker like my, don't loose that drop!!!! LOL

Let's get that BG down so you only need to do maintenance tests once a week with those expensive strip! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
He’s just bare.y more than 20% meter variance down from PMPS.

Based on his history and patterns, he might see some high blue but I would be shocked if he went lower than that.

I wouldn’t worry about checking again until +4 or +5 and if he’s close to where he was last night, I’d sleep.
 
Back
Top