1/1 Maverick PMPS 86 +3 68

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karrie and Maverick

Member Since 2010
Hi gang! Happy Happy New Year!!!!!

Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=33305

I wonder if I should start updating his spreadsheet as a .25 dose? I really don't know if I'm doing a skinny .5. I think it is a .25? Maybe I'll try and get a supermacro shot with my camera and you guys can tell me.

Maverick is doing great today compared to yesterday when his hips were really sore. Playing with some toys on the new dog bed. I put his catnip placemat thing that we got at the craftshow on top of it. His idea of playing involves lying down due to his hips but it sure is nice to see.

I started syringe feeding him cosequin last night. It did not disolve at all in tuna juice so I'm going to mix it in with some food and assist feed it to him via syringe.

Also a little nervously I tested my own blood glucose for the first time ever this morning. Fasting 11AM blood glucose is a 90 :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/1 Maverick AMPS 96 +3.5 69

(((KARRIE))) :lol: :lol: :lol: was that an intentional test or an accidental one? :lol:
Nice numbers for Maverick today and hope he will start eating more on his own. How is your back?

HAPPY NEW YEAR TO YOU AND DH and all your babies!!
 
Re: 1/1 Maverick AMPS 96 +3.5 69

Very nice numbers this morning, Karrie! Maverick is doing great. Blackie doesn't really like the taste of Dasuquin either, but I think he used to like Cosequin better. I hope you and yours have a wonderful 2011!
 
Re: 1/1 Maverick AMPS 96 +3.5 69

Happy New Year to you and your family!! :RAHCAT

Good BG Maverick and Karrie!! :lol: I tested myself also for the first time last summer and now once a month... (always <100 :smile:)

Thanks for the link yesterday on PureBites/PureSnacks.. They are just everywhere now.. I didn't realize that was dust, some big morsels in there.. must be my French!! :-D
 
Re: 1/1 Maverick AMPS 96 +3.5 69

Way to go, Maverick!! You are looking terrific today. I am also giving a skinny dose (s.25) but I don't really know if that is exactly what I am injecting. When the dose is lower than .5, it is hard to really tell on the syringe. Have a great day and keep up the good work!
 
Re: 1/1 Maverick AMPS 96 +3.5 69

Happy New Year, Karrie!

Looking good numbers-wise! I hope the cosequin helps Maverick's hips.

It gets tricky to measure the microdoses, I use reading glasses and a lighted magnifier and I'm measuring 1.5u! :lol: If you can get a pic, that might help verify what to call it. There are pictures of the small doses in the New to the Group sticky if you are looking for a reference. The most important thing is to be consistent...whatever you call the dose, it needs to be as close to the same amount every time as you can get. Not easy, I'm sure! Just do the best you can.
 
Re: 1/1 Maverick AMPS 96 +3.5 69

Happy New Year to you both & WOW what a good start to the New Year!--You may have to start feeding that boy--
Moonie also plays on her belly-as she has bad arthritis & neuropathy--Her favorite thing to do is to drag herself across our living room carpeting & feel it on her belly, then rolls over & does the happy dance! Hope he has a wonderful day!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/1 Maverick AMPS 96 +3.5 69 +5 87

Wow those are super numbers for 1/1/11 !! :mrgreen: <--- Jealous!!!! (for your #s as well as the microdose problem - if you've seen Sooty's Acrocat SS you will see that microdosing is not something we have to worry about, right now...!!! )
 
Re: 1/1 Maverick AMPS 96 +3.5 69 +5 87

hey girl, I have seen mention now several times about Maverick's steps that you have around your house. maybe I missed it when I was away but are there pictures of these anywhere? your DH built them, right? I'd sure love to see them.

didn't mean to change the subject, good luck with Maverick's microdoses.
 
Re: 1/1 Maverick AMPS 96 +3.5 69 +5 87

Great numbers!! I agree with Laurie -- as long as you shoot the same dose consistently, you can call it whatever you want.

My GA senior kitty, George, used to get Cosequin. I just opened a capsule and mixed it into his food. He was also not a fussy eater so that may make a difference. It has chicken and tuna flavorings mixed in so it may be appealing.
 
Re: 1/1 Maverick AMPS 96 +3.5 69 +5 87

Hi Kim, They aren't high end steps lol - purely functional. They are big and wide and carpeted. Our dog needs to use them too. She's smaller than Maverick (he's 15 lbs and she's 12). But her eye sight isn't the best it seems so we had to make the steps much wider across also so she'd be confident using them. I'll take some pictures tomorrow when there is some natural lighting :) DH made them with plywood and two by tens and carpet runner (from an end of the roll carpet store). Maverick loves to use them to just lie on them too.

In the living room though we had to get very creative to keep our dog out of the catfood. Since Maverick can't jump at all we couldn't keep her out. So we had to remove the carpet runners in the living room, put a step stool up to an automan up to the coffee table to his raised feeding station (also not high end). She doesn't have the confidence to jump from the hardwood so his food is safe.

Sienne, you are lucky. He wouldn't touch the food with the cosequin mixed in. Just left it all. ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 1/1 Maverick PMPS syringe picture

Hi guys,

Here is the pic of the dose. I'm doing my best to be consistent but its SOOO hard to have confidence that it is. It was easier to see with the supermacro setting than to my eyes with my glasses. Even taking pictures of it - the camera angle made things look different. So I did my best. Let me know what dose you think this is:

Syringe2.jpg


Syringe1.jpg
 
Re: 1/1 Maverick PMPS syringe picture

Hi, I know I am repeating myself - but I like I told you earlier this week.. it does not matter what you call the dose, as long as it is consistent - I know many of us have said that though ;-)
 
Re: 1/1 Maverick PMPS syringe picture

:lol: :lol: on the steps...i made some for Homie (GA) when binks was younger but a TRULY chunky monkey. Homie wouldnt use them, but Binks was thrilled!

nice nummers, Mav!

how's the back, karrie?

FWIW, that's what i consider a .25 also...but i'm such a klutz with the dosage....i just use Ele's advice on the 3 drops between hash marks and figure if it's consistent...the name kinda is flexible!

Happy New Year!

celi & binks
 
Re: 1/1 Maverick PMPS syringe picture

Hi Karrie,
Picture 1 looks like what I am calling a fat 0.25. I would call Picture 2 a "regular" 0.25. (Now for the crucial question: are both pictures of the same syringe??!!)
Great idea to photograph your own syringe!

Happy New Year!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/1 Maverick PMPS syringe picture

I would call that 0.25U also but as long as you do the same thing each time it doesn't matter how you call it... :-D

Maverick is doing good... Wait until you measure a fat drop !?! ;-)
 
Re: 1/1 Maverick PMPS syringe picture

Im in agreement with Nicole....doesnt matter what you call it, just keep it consistent! :mrgreen:
I was also a big fan of the drop method to determine a consistent dose, along side a visual to compare each time I would draw up the insulin.

But anyway, the real reason I was stopping by is that I looked at your profile today. I am so impressed with how well you handled Maverick's past health issues. You truly are a dedicated and caring bean. Maverick is very lucky to have you on her side!
 
Re: 1/1 Maverick PMPS syringe picture

I remember the advice about consistency lol I promise. I'm going to keep it the same. It would be good for you guys to know what he's "really" getting though maybe? I'm going to practice tomorrow with drops vs visual. Getting drop size consistent. This will probably help a lot if he earns another decrease. We aren't in a hurry to get him OTJ. I think I'd feel better keeping status quo. The decreases make me nervous even though I know if he doesn't hold it we just go back and its no big deal.

I can't make out that first part of the plunger with my eyes but see it clear as day here. I remembered today I had a super macro setting on the camera. Guess its just for those people doing micro dosing :lol: When else would someone use this (sarcasm of course).

It is the same syringe :lol:

My back and neck is all better and migraines have gone away. I think Iorwen is still struggling with her back though. I hope its gotten better.
 
Re: 1/1 Maverick PMPS syringe picture

Carolyn thank you so much for those thoughtful words. I updated his profile today to make it a whole lot less wordy. Its still wordy though. :lol: I see amazing caring beans every day on this forum and it is heartwarming. It is such a great place.
 
Re: 1/1 Maverick PMPS syringe picture

I would say that the first picture looks more like a fat 0.25u, and the second one looks like a 0.25u. I do think it's an angle thing, and the second picture looks more straight on, so I would call it a 0.25u. :lol: Lots of help, huh? Just keep measuring it the same way, and call it whatever you want! :mrgreen:

Honestly, depending on how I would hold the syringe (down toward the counter, up toward the light) the dose looked different. That's why I went to reading glasses and a lighted magnifier. I measure the dose in the same position and I use the "collar" around the syringe to make sure I am looking at it at the same angle each time. I tilt the syringe so that when I look at it, I can't see the bottom surface of the collar, that way I know I am looking at it straight on. There is a use for that collar after all! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/1 Maverick PMPS syringe picture

Hi Kerrie,

Nice ambg! Oh and Maverick's is looking grand too. :-D Marjorie wanted to know if that was intentional or not. Well I gave myself Sara's insulin once. :oops: I don't know how it happened just my fumbling fingers I guess and the syringe went up into the air and landed in my hand. :smile:

My cats and 2 of my dogs love my stairs that I have for the bed also. Mine aren't as nice and sturdy as yours. They were the ones that have been on tv before. They are made out of plastic pieces that you snap together and than there is a fleece piece that goes over them. But they were a lot cheaper [$20 or $30] than the ones that you can buy in the store so I got two sets. The second set was half price. They work out great. But yours sound nice. One of my dogs was reluctant to use them but he has finally gotten the hang of it. Probley because he didn't feel that they were sturdy enough.

Happy New Year Kerrie to you and your family.

jan and sara
 
Re: 1/1 Maverick PMPS 86

Very interesting about the collar Laurie. I had to go get an old syringe to check it out.
I often see the dose look like it changes, depending upon the angle. Good idea!
 
Re: 1/1 Maverick PMPS 86

You guys crack me up. I'm always laughing. Even when I come here in a grumpy mood. Yep the BG test was intentional. I'm a carb junkie and overweight to boot. I am eating healthier - committing to eating more whole foods and not processed. I was nervous checking my BG and was happy I was green :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Sara you are the first I've heard to get the insulin instead of the cat though :lol: Dang! The as seen on tv steps is what gave us the idea to build our own. And when we saw the price of the ones in the store we realized we could do it cheaper. We don't get a lot of company so pretty wasn't our goal :)
 
Re: 1/1 Maverick PMPS 86

Hi Karrie, very nice numbers for Maverick. Thanks for stopping by my condo earlier. Sometimes I test my bg, too. I'm big on take out and don't always eat healthy, but for the New Year I will try to eat more healthy. I wish you the best for the New Year.
 
Re: 1/1 Maverick PMPS 86

The collar is what I call it, I'm sure it isn't the technical term for it! I mean that plastic piece that sticks out right above the zero line on the syringe, the cap over the needle rests against it. I'm sure it's there for that purpose, to keep the needle cap from going on too far....but I use it as a guide to keep a consistent angle when viewing the syringe.
 
:lol: :lol: :lol: CD I dont know how you do what you do with pictures.

Good tip Laurie - I think looking at it from the exact same angle would really help. Thanks for sharing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top