1/1 Jax- Last cycles are just flat

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Jax

Active Member
Good Evening All!

The last few cycles were pretty flat. Definitely sure I didn't get a fur shot today.

AMPS 363
+3/ 323
+6/ 305
PMPS 319

This is the 5th cycle where there has been relatively no movement at 1.2U.

Thinking about 1.25U. Good side is there are no high and low swings, down side is that what I'm currently doing isn't enough.
I've even tried a cycle where I fed a lower carb food(Merrick BG) hoping that would drive the BG lower...to no avail. My hubby thinks that he's eating too much food. Usually, He getting approx (3) 3oz cans of FF a day plus freeze dried treats.
Wish I could get a better handle on this. Back to work next week.
 
I think an increase is a good idea, Lisa. 1.25 is good. If you are feeling brave and can test tonight, you could certainly go up to 1.3. Once you get a dose that is working well, it will be easier to leave him while you work.

Oliver was a 16 pound Maine Coon and we fed him 3 cans of FF daily when he was unregulated. Once he was in good numbers, we reduced it to 2.5.
 
Sue, you are reading my mind. I was just looking at his SS thinking that I should lean toward 1.3U instead of 1.25U. A .10 increase is relatively small but may prove beneficial.

I'll be home to monitor.
 
I'd agree with an increase, I'd probably go to 1.3u, that is still a modest increase and you have enough room to drop a little lower.
 
Part of the problem is that I'm eyeballing the dose. I was rescheduled to Monday for the vet, so hopefully, I'll be able to walk out with the U100's. That will make a world of difference I'm sure.
 
ok here is my 2 cents
In looking at your SS it seems that Jax did really well on 1.5.
I only saw 70's which are really good numbers, left you with one unshootable
but it still looked good
I agree with the raising the dose, and dont be afraid of the green!
 
Do you need a prescription for syringes? I get mine without one a Wal-Mart, but I .know that's not possible everywhere.
 
In NYS you need the script. I wonder why...Nevertheless, I'll be sure to ask if they have the half unit marking. Thanks for that tip, Rob.

Denise, I'm as equally scared of the red as I am the green. Terrified of a hypo, terrified to see him in red. Everyday feels like a race against time. When I left the vet he told me once diagnosed with FD a cat has 1...maybe 2 years lifespan.

Each day, each decision, each blasted fur shot can weigh so much. I can only believe it gets better or easier with time.
 
Hi Lisa,
How much does he weigh, and what would you say his "ideal body weight" would be?

Simple formula for figuring out a good general idea of how much to feed.

20 calories per pound of ideal body weight per day.
It isn't really how many ounces or cans per day, it's what is "in" those meals calories-wise.

My sugarcat, Bob used to be a big fat pig, probably peaking out at 22 pounds. Pre-diabetes, he was around 18 pounds. When diagnosed he had dropped to 13. My vet determined his "ideal" weight should be 14 pounds. So using that formula, I went with a daily calorie intake of 280 would be what I would shoot for. At first, I went with 300 or so, to get him back up to 14. Since then I have him eating between 250-300 a day (depending on flavor) and he's been within a couple ounces of 14 pounds since late summer (so it's working for him)

Bob eats FF classics too. Also has Friskees Pates a few times a week. He gets two cans of FF classics a day, and then I make up the calorie difference with small servings of Friskees twice a day. On Binky's food charts, the # of calories in the can is included. You can use that to see how many calories you are getting from that 3 cans a day you are feeding Jax.

Don't be afraid, at this time, to feed "more" calories per day. Bob is a diet controlled diabetic since July. He processes his food "normally" and gets everything out of it like a "normal" cat would. As long as a kitty is still on insulin, and occasionally has high BG numbers, he will need more calories than "normal" to get the same bang out of the buck....

One thing that you can do if you trying to regulate calorie intake is get the numbers from Binky's charts, and write them on the cans of food on the shelf. I used to stack them in "per day" stacks to keep the calories as close to 280 as possible. But then at times I can be a little anal.... :smile:
Carl
 
Thanks Carl,

That was very helpful! Jax is 10 lbs now down from close to 20. I would imagine an ideal healthy weight would bring him to 13 lbs.

I know there is a sticky, or a link within a sticky of Blinky's charts. I've looked at it.This site is so huge that I better start bookmarking.

I found a site that gives a breakdown on calories per food as well.
http://www.petobesityprevention.com/wp- ... _Foods.pdf

Thanks again. Counting by calories, instead of ounces, makes a ton of sense.
 
Hi lisa
I undertand your fear completely..
As for the 1 to 2 year life span I disagree with..
There are so many cats on here that have been diabetic for years!
Please dont let that comment from the vet add any more stress to this situation..
Hang in there, it does get eaier and less stressfull
 
I think many vets have this kind of record. Most do not encourage their patients to home test and many continue to prescribe dry food. So you get a constant cycle of high numbers at the vet caused by high carb food and vet stress and the subsequent increase in insulin. The cat can be in constant rebound and eventually his body wears out.

When Oliver was diagnosed, I had a friend whose cat was diagnosed at the same time. She continued with dry food and didn't test. Oliver was in remission in 6 months. Sadly her cat died at the 7 month mark.

I don't know of any way to get an accurate count of how kitties do with our protocol. But I have not seen any die of diabetes or hypo if they are home tested. Most die of cancer or some other complication after their diabetes is either regulated or in remission. We have had diabetics live to 17 and longer!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top