1/1 Doodle AMPS 223 Dose Increase Needed for New Year???

Status
Not open for further replies.

JenniferF

Member Since 2014
Still getting used to the new format. Not sure how to post the link for last thread. Thinking Doodle may need an increase to 2.5u? I am also going to get him to the vet. His eyes look puffy and he's trying to cough up a hairball. I think he could use a 6month+ check up anyway. Would also like to see if this new vet would do a dental on him. My old vet said with his BG's so high and "unregulated" he would not do a dental yet his gums are bright red?
 
Naming a link is actually pretty easy and not unlike on the old board. Type the name of whatever you want to call the link and then highlight it. Click on the icon above the text box that looks like a paperclip. It will open a box and there will be a spot where you paste in the URL for your previous post (ostensibly, you've copied it and and then you paste it in). You close the box and there will be a clickable link in your post.

If it were me, I'd be increasing. More blue and green would be good!

I just don't get the logic of vets who don't want to do a dental on an "unregulated" cat.The inflammation/infection in the gums can be causing BG numbers to be elevated. Eliminate the inflammation and numbers will come down vs. increasing the insulin to offset the inflammation, do the dental, and then you're cat's on too much insulin. I guess it may be a factor of what the vet considers "regulated". I'd want to know the vet's rationale.
 
Suzanne shared with me the info you gave her about posting a link. It's much like yahoo. As I'm getting used to this new format, I am liking it a lot!

I will increase, thanks.

My old vet said he was "uncomfortable" with performing a dental on Doodle and when I asked if Doodle's teeth were bad he said "he's seen worse". I told my new vet that and he was like why would you wait until they get worse? So far my new vet has done 4 dentals on cats my old vet said could wait longer. My new vet has this poster in his office on the progression of dental/tarter issues and just about all my cats are on level 2 or 3 (the pictures are level 1-4). He, like me, thinks why wait until level 4 to do the dental, where my old vets seemed to prefer to wait. I assume my old vet felt the higher, unregulated BG's were dangerous for anesthesia?
 
typically anesthesia will lower BGs, which is the reason that many have you either skip or give a 1/2 dose before the dental is done. In the evening, many cats also end up with a skipped shot as well. So I don't know how high BGs are dangerous for anesthesia, but what your old vet is saying is something we hear fairly regularly.

There are enough cases of cats becoming tightly regulated and even going OTJ after dentals are done that i think it's worth doing. Especially since his gums are red so you already are certain there is a problem. I'd go with the new vet and get it done.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top