1/1 Blackie pmps 258 +2 308 +4 325

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ele & Blackie (GA)

Member Since 2009
Happy New Year, LL
I hope all of the LL beans, kitties and civies will have a wonderful 2011. And I'm sending prayers for Claudia's Rocket this morning.

I think I've finally settled on a dose of 2.25 units for now the way Blackie is eating. I've been doing a bad job of jumping around as I try to respond to his eating.

Blackie didn't want to eat Wellness Turkey last night and I had already put his Gabapentin in it so I had to syringe feed it. But after his shot he ate some FF Medley 11% on his own. Then throughout the evening/night he ate 3/4 can of FF Salmon and Tuna varieties. This morning he ate better even with his supplements mixed in. :-D So far he's eaten about 3/4 can of FF. Maybe this is the best we're going to get for now.

Question: The vet said we need to do an 8 hour fast before his fPLI test on Monday. His blood draw will be at +3 or +15 if no shot. Can I give him a half dose at +14 and then feed right after the blood draw at +15? Then I could take the next several days to get back on schedule. Or do you think I should just skip the shot?

Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=33317
 
Re: 1/1 Blackie amps 332 +2 306 +4 271 fasting question

Ele.... I don't have any input on the fasting but just want to wish you, DH, and Blackie a very happy new year and sending tons of new year healing vines for Blackie. Good luck with the test and here's a bump!
 
Re: 1/1 Blackie amps 332 +2 306 +4 271 fasting question

I'm glad Blackie is eating on his own. Great news!

I think you'll have to wait and see what the numbers are before deciding whether to shoot at +14. He might do just as well to skip, especially if he can't eat all night and might be running lower than usual. Does he usually eat ok after you come home from the vet, or will he hide and sulk a while before eating?
 
Re: 1/1 Blackie amps 332 +2 306 +4 271 fasting question

He doesn't hide or sulk after the vet, but at this point I just never know if he'll eat or not. I would think, though, that after fasting for 8 hours he would be pretty hungry.
 
Re: 1/1 Blackie amps 332 +2 306 +4 271 fasting question

I can't help with the fasting/shooting question. Just want to say I'm checking in every day and wishing that you get some answers or are able to rule something out with the blood work.

Happy new year to you and Blackie :smile:
 
Re: 1/1 Blackie amps 332 +2 306 +4 271 fasting question

Happy New Year to Ele & Blackie and your family :RAHCAT

Good luck with the test tomorrow and I hope you get good answers.. :-D
 
Re: 1/1 Blackie amps 332+4 271 +6 181 +8 191 fasting questio

Blackie wouldn't eat the FF Salmon or Turkey & Giblets at +6, so I fed him 1 Tb FF Medley's 11%. That is one food that he has consistently liked.
 
Re: 1/1 Blackie amps 332+4 271 +6 181 +8 191 fasting questio

Hi guys - it is good to read that Blackie is eating some on his own. Good news I think. I can't answer the fasting question. I would think it would depend upon what you see number wise that day and whether or not you think he will eat??? I dunno... sorry.

Not too bad numbers today considering all that you have going on.

Happy New Year!!
 
Re: 1/1 Blackie amps 332+4 271 +6 181 +8 191 fasting questio

Hi Ele & Blackie, and Happy New Year, Healthy New Year!

If Blackie's numbers are not too high, it might be best to skip the shot. That way you'll be able to keep the consistency of your shooting schedule (which might be better for Blackie's "internal clock"). I hope someone with experience in such things will be along with advice.
Continuing to send vines for eating!
Hugs,
Ella & Rusty

P.S. Those FF elegant medelies must be very tasty. When Stu was sick they were the only things he would eat!
 
Re: 1/1 Blackie amps 332+4 271 +6 181 +8 191 fasting questio

Hi Ele,
Few things on the fasting...
Not sure when you are due for the mirtz. Keep that into consideration. DOnt want to give his dose the night before. Im sure you thought of that, but just in case....

Also, make sure you give the pepcid. Kitties with crf, as you know, have issues with tummy acid. One of the ways to help with that is to make sure their eating times are not too spread out, or it could produce more acid and upset their tummies.

My guess is he will be fine. And hopefully he WILL be hungry afterwards.

Glad to see he is eating some on his own. And considering the large dose decrease, his numbers are not half bad!

Big hugs to you and Blackie, and wishes for a stress free, healthy 2011!
 
Re: 1/1 Blackie amps 332+4 271 +6 181 +8 191 fasting questio

Libby & Lucy & Jazzy said:
I think you'll have to wait and see what the numbers are before deciding whether to shoot at +14. He might do just as well to skip, especially if he can't eat all night and might be running lower than usual. Does he usually eat ok after you come home from the vet, or will he hide and sulk a while before eating?

Libby's response makes sense to me. I think you're going to have to play it by ear. The other concern is that you may not be able to shoot at +14 because who knows exactly when you'll be done at the vet's office and whether Blackie will want to eat afterward.
 
Re: 1/1 Blackie amps 332+4 271 +6 181 +8 191 fasting questio

(((Ele)))(((Blackie)))

Happy New Year wishes to you guys. I've just been getting caught on Blackie, poor little fella. And you too, 2011 - getting off to a rocky start.

It is so comforting to see Carolyn around itsn't it? She has such a calming nature and a wealth of knowledge and experience to share.

Keep us posted Monday, I'm sure there will be lots of folks who will be waiting to hear.

Good luck with it, girlie. I'll be thinking about you two.
 
Re: 1/1 Blackie amps 332 pmps 258

Earlier this week I remembered that Sienne said that her kitties loved Forti-flora on top of their food, so I ordered some. It came yesterday and I tried it tonight. Blackie was just sitting in front of his bowl and didn't seem interested. I sprinkled a little Forti-flora on the food and held the packet under his nose so he could smell it. He immediately started eating and with a few more sprinkles he ate a 1/2 can of FF! :-D I know I've probably created a Forti-flora monster, but I don't care. :lol:

Thanks for all the advice on the fasting. I will play it by ear and see how he is. He got Mirtazapine tonight and won't get it again until after the fast on Monday night. I hadn't thought about the pepcid, but I'll be sure and give it on Monday morning. He'll also be getting his fluids before we go and the vet said he could have a few FD chicken treats.
 
Re: 1/1 Blackie pmps 258 +2 308

HAPPY NEW YEAR, ELE!!

and wishing the best of health and happiness for you and blackie!

good news on the fortiflora...

celi & binks
 
Re: 1/1 Blackie pmps 258 +2 308

Hooray for the miracle sprinkles! Fortiflora always works for Tess too. Best wishes for the new year and lots of good vetty vibes for Monday!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top