1/1 Bear Man amps 202/bloodwork results

Status
Not open for further replies.

Linda and Bear Man

Member Since 2009
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=629

Happy New Year to everyone from Bear Man, Teddy, Emily, and Pinkerton.

Bear's bloodwork results came back last night. The high Tapapzole dose affected his kidney values and his CBC. His RBC and hemoglobin are below the reference range, and his urea and creatinine have increased. The vet says to not give Tapazole for 36 hours, and then resume at 5 mg BID.
 
((Linda and Bear Man))

Can those values n CBC and kidneys come down without Tap on board for a bit? I'm not familiar with blood work lingo but I hope so! Sending good thoughts for Bear Man.
 
Happy New Year, Linda. Sorry to see the mistake has affected your beautiful boy, I hope he gets back on track quickly. Your vet sounds great, and I think it was only right that they not charge you for the blood draw. I hope there was no permanent damage.

Scritches to everyone.
 
Hi Linda. I am not at all familiar with the blood work lingo either, so I really can't comment on this. I am hoping that all turns out well tho. I'm glad your vet is working with you on this and is taking responsibility.
Keeping my fingers crossed for Bear Man....and Happy New Year to you and your furries :)
 
I know you are concerned, and I'm sorry the mistake affected Bear Man too but it seems your vet is willing to make amends. Do you think your vet would do followup bloodwork before you put him back on the med, or soon after?
 
Linda, glad you had that done & hope it can be cleared..You are such a wonderful momma bean, I'm sure Bear Man will be better soon..
Wishing you & Bear & all critters of yours, a Healthy New Year-HUGS~!
 
Tammy and Blaze said:
I know you are concerned, and I'm sorry the mistake affected Bear Man too but it seems your vet is willing to make amends. Do you think your vet would do followup bloodwork before you put him back on the med, or soon after?

I agree with Tammy....another blood workup might be a good thing....
What do you think?
Sending healing vines to Bear Man... wishing you well ((hugs))
 
(((Bear))) (((Linda))) You did just reduce the tap dose back to normal, so I'd think this are baseline values from which he hopefully improves.
 
How frustrating and worrying for you! I do agree though that your vet seems to be on it and I would not hesitate to ask for another blood test or two on the house. Here's hoping all is back to normal VERY soon.
 
Geez, Linda! I've been peeking in when I can.....this poor Bear Man.

A pox upon that vet!!

(((((((((Linda&Bear))))))))))
 
Here's hoping you and Bear Man have a happy, HEALTHY New Year! He's a real fighter and so are you...keep it up! Hugs for you and vines for the Bear. (((((((((((Linda))))))))))) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Bear Man~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
 
Shadoe and I are wishing Bear so many good thoughts. The err was horrible, but the vet is sounding on top of the issue now. I also think that more bloodwork after the changes should be done to how Bear's doing, and also to see how the changes in meds are reflecting on his numbers and all levels.

It's the start of a brand new year; let's hope it is full of improvement for Bear.
 
Linda & Bear said said:
The high Tapapzole dose affected his kidney values and his CBC. His RBC and hemoglobin are below the reference range, and his urea and creatinine have increased.

Is it possible that some of the disorientation is due to this RBC/Hg levels? This can effect oxygen binding and saturation. I do hope your vet does all of the follow-up work at no cost. This is a big error on their part. I hope you are holding up since I know I would be a wreck.
 
I also think the vet should do another couple sets of bloodwork at no cost, to see how he's doing.
I hope he is feeling better and improving real soon.

(((Linda and Bear Man)))
 
((((((Linda)))))) ((((((((Bear Man)))))))) As others have said, I am not familiar at all with the bloodwork lingo but sending snowflakes to the Bear Man for a speedy recovery. Happy New Year guys. Skritches to Bear Man.
 
((((Linda))))) ((((Bear Man)))))

You can look at Sasha's labs for reassurance. Her creatinine and BUN increased while hypothyroid too, and have steadily dropped as her thyroid normalized. She also had some downward trending CBC results that stabilized once the thyroid was back in the normal range. I have much faith that the same will happen for Bear.

Sending positive thoughts and vines.
 
Linda and Bear Man said:
Thanks to all the hijacking in your last condo, I, the Google-challenged one, have created a new sheet for 2010. My next goal is a nice labs sheet like you have. I can dream, anyway.

I haz template to share. You want? Or do you already have one? Cassandra has a diff approach, don't know if you've seen Sasha's.
 
WCF and Meowzi said:
I haz template to share. You want? Or do you already have one? Cassandra has a diff approach, don't know if you've seen Sasha's.

You haz a template!?!?! :o I totally would have used a template had I known it existed! :lol:
 
Oh (((Linda))) I just don't know what to say...
I feel so much better after reading Cassandras comments, but still...
((Bear Man)))
I just hate that this has happened to you guys and as always keeping you in my thoughts!
 
Cassandra and Sasha said:
WCF and Meowzi said:
I haz template to share. You want? Or do you already have one? Cassandra has a diff approach, don't know if you've seen Sasha's.

You haz a template!?!?! :o I totally would have used a template had I known it existed! :lol:

well, is not exactly my template. i modified the one someone posted on tanya's site :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top