1/1/25 Minnie Bella's roller coaster - 335 AMPS .75u, 292@ +2, 126@+5, 87@+6, 161@+ 7, 98@+9

DianefromDallaa

Member Since 2024
Bella was feeling and acting so much better last week after she was given Aranesp due to her dropping PCV. Today, she wasn't great. She seems to be getting lethargic again.

Her glucose numbers were higher last week so I increased the dose. She ate very well last night.

Today, her numbers dropped fairly quickly. She ate some food and seemed to be on the increase - but then she dropped again.
I just fed her some food with more carbs - but I don't want a big swing.

I am seeing that she seems to be more lethargic when her numbers get better. Is it possible that she just feels better running high?
So confusing...

I'll test again shortly


Last thread
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-30-600-amps-bella-staying-high-again.297028/#post-3232520
 
Any word on what I should do tonight if her BG is not higher? I have a big doctor appointment in the morning so I can’t be up all night like I’ve done in the past.

If I dose her when she’s under 200, she will go low.
 
Are you still feeding dry food? (as per your previous thread). If so, you have to follow SLGS for dosing. That means a 0.75 unit reduction in dose because she went under 90 today.
 
I don’t feed dry. I only gave a few pieces to quickly get her BG up. In November when she dropped very low, Karl and honey were not doing the trick. I gave a few pcs of dry food and her BG jumped. When I am desperate, I would use- but haven’t in the past few days. I’ve given food with gravy to get her up.

UPDATE-I just tested and she up to 576! WTH??? That’s odd. She’s eaten but nothing dramatic. Geesh.

she is acting so weird tonight
 
Last edited:
Sorry about the delay.

I’ve been dosing for over 5 years and just was told about this. I need to go back to messages from over a week ago yo understand the difference. I’m clueless.
 
We have a Sticky Note that describes the dosing methods. Not every with a diabetic cat follows a dosing method, but we do as it helps us help you and tells us when you should raise or lower the dose.
Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)

Thanks Wendy
I think I could do either process but probably have been doing SLGS.

I don’t think remission is feasible. She went into remission many years ago - when she was first diagnosed.

Not sure that will happen again so my goal is really to achieve flatter curves than I see today.
 
Actually, you are restricted to using SLGS. Even a few pieces of dry food counts as using dry food. You can't use TR if there's any dry food in the picture.

When was the 576? There's no indication on your spreadsheet as to when you got that reading.

FWIW, some cats don't feel great in lower numbers. Their bodies get used to the higher range numbers and low numbers make them feel lousy. If you know any human diabetics, some of them will tell you the same thing.

My best advice would be to stick with SLGS. Follow the dosing guidelines to the letter and let's see what we can do to get Bella's overall level to come down.
 
Actually, you are restricted to using SLGS. Even a few pieces of dry food counts as using dry food. You can't use TR if there's any dry food in the picture.

When was the 576? There's no indication on your spreadsheet as to when you got that reading.

FWIW, some cats don't feel great in lower numbers. Their bodies get used to the higher range numbers and low numbers make them feel lousy. If you know any human diabetics, some of them will tell you the same thing.

My best advice would be to stick with SLGS. Follow the dosing guidelines to the letter and let's see what we can do to get Bella's overall level to come down.


I just checked the spreadsheet which wasn't updated from my phone - geesh!!

Bella has been very lethargic since Tuesday. She was SOOOO alert and good this weekend after the vet visit on Friday where she was given Aranesp (PCV=30%) and a shot of Covenia.

Recheck today shows PCV of 32%. BP normal which was VERY surprising because she was being handled A LOT.

She came home and has been eating a lot. She is just all skin and bones - no muscle. Such a HUGE change since mid October. So sad....
 
Last edited:
Does anyone know how to change the "title" of all my messages to have Bella's full name of 'MinnieBella' since there are several cats named Bella?
 
On the top right of your first post, just under the title, is a drop down menu call "Thread Tools". Select Edit Thread, then you can change the title.
 
Back
Top