1/1/22 Ares PMPS 154, +3 68, +3.3 62, +3.4 68, +3.6 67, +4 114, +5 156

Ashleigh & Ares

Member Since 2021
Morning all. another lowest number for me, im supposed to shoot it right?

I was so exhausted last night all i could do was a +8, he got down to 73 at that time.
Happy new year
 
nevermind ladies
im shooting.
Not that i dont want ur advice! on the contrary...its that i dont want to shoot too late and according to the TR guidelines, i can shoot. Also i can monitor him all day

Still anytime you want to chime in :)

shooting now
 
Hi Ashleigh

Here is your previous post for continuity: 12/31 Ares AMPS 148, +2 185, +4 171, +7 164, +8.33 186, PMPS 213, ~+2 190
It's always good to have some history on hand to look at before advising. Do you have plenty of testing supplies--BG strips, etc? Do you have MC and HC food as well as some form of syrup--honey, Karo?

While it is a new low for you to shoot, it is not too low to shoot. Looks like he may be on the rise if he was 73 @ +8. Make sure you get either a +2 or +3 test. You can also get a +1 test if you are nervous and keep posting.

BTW, we always start a new page in our SS for a new year. ***2022 SPREADSHEETS——Please read and keep bumped***
12/31 HAPPY NEW YEAR! Please move your SS 2022 tabs to the far left.

If you need help with the SS, @Bandit's Mom is great for SS as well as dosing advice.
 
Hi Ashleigh

Here is your previous post for continuity: 12/31 Ares AMPS 148, +2 185, +4 171, +7 164, +8.33 186, PMPS 213, ~+2 190
It's always good to have some history on hand to look at before advising. Do you have plenty of testing supplies--BG strips, etc? Do you have MC and HC food as well as some form of syrup--honey, Karo?

While it is a new low for you to shoot, it is not too low to shoot. Looks like he may be on the rise if he was 73 @ +8. Make sure you get either a +2 or +3 test. You can also get a +1 test if you are nervous and keep posting.

BTW, we always start a new page in our SS for a new year. ***2022 SPREADSHEETS——Please read and keep bumped***
12/31 HAPPY NEW YEAR! Please move your SS 2022 tabs to the far left.

If you need help with the SS, @Bandit's Mom is great for SS as well as dosing advice.

Thanks for responding Gina!

I have a decent amount of MC and HC gravies and honey and strips. I planned to do +2 first test
about connecting my prev post, it usually takes me a minute to remember...then i put it on there, i get flustered in morning at AMPS (wake up, test, feed because Ares is always flippy after fast, get shot ready, post to board, shoot)...it takes me a lil bit to get focused after all that!

Also, Bhooma set my chart up like that because so little on my 2021 :) You arent the first to say something about that, and you wont be the last haha
:joyful:
 
Thanks for responding Gina!

I have a decent amount of MC and HC gravies and honey and strips. I planned to do +2 first test
about connecting my prev post, it usually takes me a minute to remember...then i put it on there, i get flustered in morning at AMPS (wake up, test, feed because Ares is always flippy after fast, get shot ready, post to board, shoot)...it takes me a lil bit to get focused after all that!

Also, Bhooma set my chart up like that because so little on my 2021 :) You arent the first to say something about that, and you wont be the last haha
:joyful:
If you wanted to cut down on SS comments, you could put something in your signature to the effect that SS was set up by Bhooma. She's the best! No need to say anymore about the SS if Bhooma set it up. :smuggrin:

Yes, I understand the flusters of waking, testing, feeding and shooting, then remembering to post in the correct format. Becomes automatic after a while. Have you considered some mid-cycle PM snacks for Ares? Maybe you are already doing this. Or a regular schedule of snacks every 3 or 4 hours? Don't be afraid to experiment. You are doing great.
 
If you wanted to cut down on SS comments, you could put something in your signature to the effect that SS was set up by Bhooma. She's the best! No need to say anymore about the SS if Bhooma set it up. :smuggrin:

Yes, I understand the flusters of waking, testing, feeding and shooting, then remembering to post in the correct format. Becomes automatic after a while. Have you considered some mid-cycle PM snacks for Ares? Maybe you are already doing this. Or a regular schedule of snacks every 3 or 4 hours? Don't be afraid to experiment. You are doing great.

Ur so Smart! i put a note up top of SS

He eats about 25 calories close to every 1.5 hours cuz severely underweight.
I cannot leave anything out at night, his Civie sister Maggie will gobble ANYTHING left out! so what i do is make sure b4 i jump in bed that he and Maggie get a decent meal, then i feed him when i test him at night. i try and get at least 2 tests.
You caught my post in a bad time, as I was running on so little sleep for past 3 days and getting sick, i just couldnt test more than once last night...when i got up at 4am, my eyes would barely open, tested him (luckily without hurting him) and was only able to just jot down the number on paper b4 eyes fell closed!

While im typing Maggie wants to get up in my face and on the keyboard of course...lol she so goofy
 
I have two microchip feeders from Sure Feed that have been a total godsend for keeping one cat from eating the other one’s food. They are pricey but worth it if you can splurge as it will help Ares gain weight. I put lots of meds in Ruby’s food so I need to keep Olive out of her bowl. I also know exactly how much each cat is eating in a day. Sure Feed also makes a microchip feeder with a scale if you want to get fancy with it but I weigh all of my portions on a kitchen scale when serving.
 
Hi Ashleigh, Ares is looking awesome, I hope you are feeling better and can get a nap in today :cat:

And. these are for you! The Coveted Balls of Steel ( BOS) for shooting your lowest pre shot ever!

upload_2018-2-2_19-36-17-png.34009
 
Hi Ashleigh, Ares is looking awesome, I hope you are feeling better and can get a nap in today :cat:

And. these are for you! The Coveted Balls of Steel ( BOS) for shooting your lowest pre shot ever!

That is hilarious!!
You guys are making me much more comfy with things. And i keep a tab of the TR protocol opened all day so i can refer to it over and over, ive read it probably 20x...and as long as i can monitor him i get a bit confident.
I never did get that nap yesterday, my husband's brother came over and they began celebrating...oh well.
Im much better today, and got a lot of sleep last night.
Thank you Diane! Hope your day is going well!
 
i try and get at least 2 tests.
You caught my post in a bad time, as I was running on so little sleep for past 3 days and getting sick, i just couldnt test more than once last night...when i got up at 4am, my eyes would barely open, tested him (luckily without hurting him) and was only able to just jot down the number on paper b4 eyes fell closed!
I hear you on the lack of sleep. While I do think I am doing better about getting as much rest between PM tests as possible, there is nothing like uninterrupted sleep. Sadly, that never happens anymore. :( I hope you feel better soon.
 
That is hilarious!!
You guys are making me much more comfy with things. And i keep a tab of the TR protocol opened all day so i can refer to it over and over, ive read it probably 20x...and as long as i can monitor him i get a bit confident.
I never did get that nap yesterday, my husband's brother came over and they began celebrating...oh well.
Im much better today, and got a lot of sleep last night.
Thank you Diane! Hope your day is going well!
The first time someone sent me that pic I was like what's this for :p
You are becoming a pro Ashleigh ! I'm glad you got a good nights sleep. Have a nice day :bighug::cat: If I didn't already tell you Ares is a handsome boy
 
That spreadsheet is a great example of how Lantus can be so much flatter and better for cats than Vetsulin. You are doing a great job Ashleigh!:)

Typically the BOS are given for shooting your first green preshot. I suspect that won't be too long in coming.
 
thanks everyone.
I will def need some balls to shoot green!
I have a lot to do in morning, church, help my aunt shower, and back to store to grab cat food, litter, lancets, and relion batteries...how low could i shoot if i am not able to monitor for about 5-6 hours maybe longer after shot? Hubby will be home, but absolutely refuses to take his blood.
 
Food is your tool to help keep him safe when you aren't there. Once you've learned a bit more about Lantus and how Ares uses it, such as his Lantus onset, typical nadir, and duration, you'll get a better idea of what time he might need to eat to keep him safe. Plus you'll learn how carb sensitive he is. It varies a lot by cat, some need medium carb, some need really high carb to boost them up. Then if you have an autofeeder, or hubby can be trusted to feed at the right time, you can give him food when he needs it to keep him safe.

Another tip is the +2 test if you can get it most of the time. For many cats on Lantus, that test tells you a lot about how the cycle will go. A +2 about the same as preshot is a typical Lantus cycle with some downward action (like today). A +2 that is quite a bit lower than the preshot is a more active cycle that will need either more monitoring, or higher carb food left out. A +2 that is higher is a quieter cycle, possible bounce.

Hubby will be home, but absolutely refuses to take his blood
Sigh, I had to deal with that too. It was a work in progress for a few months. I was the one who previously fainted at the sight of blood, but I had to do the testing. :rolleyes:Eventually my DH got the idea that I wasn't going to have a life without him stepping in and learning to test. It helped that Neko loved sitting on his lap and he had a bond with her.
 
That spreadsheet is a great example of how Lantus can be so much flatter and better for cats than Vetsulin. You are doing a great job Ashleigh!:)

Typically the BOS are given for shooting your first green preshot. I suspect that won't be too long in coming.
Hi Wendy, I guess I forgot that , it's been so long. Happy and a Healthy New Year :cat:
 
Sigh, I had to deal with that too. It was a work in progress for a few months. I was the one who previously fainted at the sight of blood, but I had to do the testing. :rolleyes:Eventually my DH got the idea that I wasn't going to have a life without him stepping in and learning to test. It helped that Neko loved sitting on his lap and he had a bond with her.

lol Wendy, glad u got him to help tho.

Ares only tolerates him when he has food. He cant stand him normally. It was just me and Ares for like 4 years...then hub moved in and Ares has had disdain ever since...lol, it has been about 8 yrs since he moved in...hahaha crazy cats. On top of that Ares likes to thrash around even with me still when taking blood.

So, if i shoot him a tiny bit earlier, i should be able to get an early +2 b4 i have to leave, so I will do that and I have MC and HC, i just have no idea when to feed him those. I can ask him to put out specific food for him. (and keep texting to remind him).
Do I have enough data to tell what times i can tell DH to put out those foods ?

Back during Vetsulin he had a 48 on the AlphaTrak...i fed him about 5 high carb treats, approx 1/8 cup HC friskies dry food and 2 drops of honey (this was before i knew how to handle anything) and he went up in about 45 minutes to 69. I dont know if that tells us enough...

Thats the closest i have to figure out how fast he reacts to carbs...
 
he has been eating 2 and 3 % FF pates...so
I just ran down some info with husband and i have all my cans marked for carb%
I will leave out 6% cans for him to eat while im gone and according to how his +2 goes, ill text hub and tell him which number to give him
So thats my plan for Sundays, it will have to work.


Oh,
And
I have to take poor Aunt to doc on Jan 14 ALL MORNING and most of the night. DH says if i get syringe ready, he will shoot him, but should i NOT do that because he wont be getting AMPS?

Bleehhh, so many Qs, sorry for bombarding
 
he has been eating 2 and 3 % FF pates...so
I just ran down some info with husband and i have all my cans marked for carb%
I will leave out 6% cans for him to eat while im gone and according to how his +2 goes, ill text hub and tell him which number to give him
So thats my plan for Sundays, it will have to work.


Oh,
And
I have to take poor Aunt to doc on Jan 14 ALL MORNING and most of the night. DH says if i get syringe ready, he will shoot him, but should i NOT do that because he wont be getting AMPS?

Bleehhh, so many Qs, sorry for bombarding
SO glad we got you switched to Lantus!

That will probably work. You have wet MC and HC now right?

I would worry about the 14th when you get there. You can test before you leave, even if it's a +10 or something it will give you a clue. Then you can decideto skip, give a one time reduced dose, or what. You can also slowly work your schedule back so you can shoot that day, but then you'd also be off schedule for a few days after depending
 
His usual nadir is around +5 to +7, that said not a lot of runtime on Lantus yet. When feeding, you want to try to "forecast" the cycle, and not let them drop below 50 for TR with human meter.

Given that +3 68, consider where he might be by +5 or +7 if he continued to drop quickly like that - that's why I said MC, need to slow him down or by +4 or +5 he'd be under 50. Your retest will tell you a lot - if he's hanging in 60s, little LC to keep surfing. 70s I'd let him go for a bit with a recheck. But if he's 50s you have choice between MC and HC...depends on your comfort level. 40s is HC. Below that HC and karo

If you're close to nadir you can be a little more conservative with the carbs. But this early you often need to throw higher carbs (and often more in terms of volume) at them to slow them down. Balancing act because you also need them hungry in case they drop more
 
Be sure to note when you feed any MC or HC etc and when, it'll help you know how he reacts for future reference. I like to note it in the cell with the BG and manually color code (so "68; 1 tsp 13%"),others user Remarks column.
 
Ashleigh, please feed him some honey right away. Like Melissa pointed out, he is a late nadir cat so the action is only just starting.
After you do that, can you get another test to see if the strip was bad?
 
Back
Top