Good job shooting something. It looks like you didn't shoot on the 18th and he was pretty high the next morning.
Your data seems to show him coming up from the 152 by his PMPS. His +1 on the 28th was higher than his PMPS so he likey does trend upwards even after his shot. I think you are safe to shoot a full dose if you can stay up and test in the future. Or at least fed a snack at +3/+4 since his lowest numbers look like they might be +5.
I like to grab more +1 and +11 so I can tell how my guy looks even after his shot and right before it's due. Then I know even If I shot a 150- he's likely going to be higher befor than insulin kicks in. If I find his +3 numbers are lower, I will usually give him a LC/ MC snack so he can glide down when his insulin kicks in instead of crashing.
Well done. A half dose is a good compromise. I freaked out and did nothing the first time we had a lower PMPS.
Shoot low- stay low
Thank you, Sue!Are you going to ask @Marje and Gracie to set up your new 2020 SS?
Hope things settle down for Zhoom soonYou've gotten some great advice above from the best
![]()
Given that. you've been managing Zhoom's FD since September, I'd encourage you to think about what number you're comfortable shooting. We tell new members following SLGS to use 200 as your "post and ask for help" number. That's not meant to be static -- you want to ultimately be able to shoot lower pre-shot numbers. As a point of contrast, with SLGS you can shoot anything above 90. At this point, you could easily shoot 180 especially since it's pithing the 20% variability due to meter error.
I also think you are seeing so many high numbers given how long you are holding doses. Zhoom is definitely a bouncy kitty but holding a dose for longer than necessary is going to allow glucose toxicity to develop.
Are you going to ask @Marje and Gracie to set up your new 2020 SS?
Hope things settle down for Zhoom soonYou've gotten some great advice above from the best
![]()
Hope all is well now.Yes, you decrease by 0.25 if he goes under 90 on SLGS. You hold the dose if his nadirs (plural) are between 90 and 149. If 150 and above, you increase. Don’t look at nadirs on the cycles he is bouncing, those will be higher. The question you want to answer is “how low can this dose take my cat?” It’s been 12 cycles since he saw anything under 150, past time for an increase.And when deciding when to increase or decrease doses - if he goes under 90, then I would decrease the dose by .25? And if his nadirs are around 150, I would hold the same dose? If the nadirs are above 150, I would increase by .25? Do the nadirs have to be consistently (every day or almost every day) around 150 to hold the dose?