1-1-20 TYLER AM-128/113@+2.25/144@+9 PM-138/80@+3/116@+4

Hey , Diane ❤️ Having to remind myself to come looking for you here instead of vetsulin ....can’t imagine how you must feel . Hope your day has been good ....Tyler and you are doing wonderful ❤️
 
Hey , Diane ❤️ Having to remind myself to come looking for you here instead of vetsulin ....can’t imagine how you must feel . Hope your day has been good ....Tyler and you are doing wonderful ❤️
@Beth 73 hey Beth, I know what you mean, sometimes I will head over to the vetsulin page lol, I still go over there to see how the kitties are doing that I have come to know.
How was your day
 
Happy New Year Diane and Tyler!
@Sue and Luci Happy New Year Sue, I sure do hope that Luci gets her cast off on the 6th and her numbers improve for the new year. I'm sorry to hear about your mom, it must be really tough seeing her like that. I was looking to see if Luci had gotten her cast off and saw that amazing 12 layer cake you made, oh my lord, I could go for a piece of that right now, beautiful job, what were those goodies that were in the plate
They look delicious
 
Elmo has had me on my toes again today . I have to steer most of the day to keep him in safe numbers and from going so low that he then bounces . It just takes time and patience ....and a lot of praying :rolleyes: Hugs to The House of Diane :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: Give little tubby man Tyler an extra hug from me ❤️
 
Elmo has had me on my toes again today . I have to steer most of the day to keep him in safe numbers and from going so low that he then bounces . It just takes time and patience ....and a lot of praying :rolleyes: Hugs to The House of Diane :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: Give little tubby man Tyler an extra hug from me ❤️
Beth, you and Elmo did amazing today!!! Low yellows, blues and greens!!! Could it be that Elmo has ditched his trampoline for 2020? (anti jinx)
 
Elmo has had me on my toes again today . I have to steer most of the day to keep him in safe numbers and from going so low that he then bounces . It just takes time and patience ....and a lot of praying :rolleyes: Hugs to The House of Diane :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: Give little tubby man Tyler an extra hug from me ❤️
What a great job you did with that little fart lol
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom hey Linda you're probably sleeping now but @+3 tonight Tyler BG was 80 so that means a reduction of 0.25 how the heck would I do that since his dose is already 0.25? Do we just keep giving him 0.25 @MrWorfMen's Mom I fed him 6% carbs
@+3 he was 80 fed him 6% carbs
@+4 he was 116 no food
 
Last edited:
@MrWorfMen's Mom hey Linda you're probably sleeping now but @+3 tonight Tyler BG was 80 so that means a reduction of 0.25 how the heck would I do that since his dose is already 0.25? Do we just keep giving him 0.25 @MrWorfMen's Mom I fed him 6% carbs
Boy, that’s interesting as he looked to me like the Lantus starting dose was too low :p

Under SLGS, he’s earned a reduction to 0.1u. The picture for this is in this post.

Good luck with the reduction!

If you’ll PM me, I’ll fix the SS link for you so it doesn’t take up so much space.

 
Boy, that’s interesting as he looked to me like the Lantus starting dose was too low :p

Under SLGS, he’s earned a reduction to 0.1u. The picture for this is in this post.

Good luck with the reduction!

If you’ll PM me, I’ll fix the SS link for you so it doesn’t take up so much space.
Hey Marje I copied this from when he was on Vetsulin this is the reason we started with 0.25 units
  1. s.

  2. Diane Tyler's Mom
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @@MrWorfMen's Mom update tested Tyler you are probably sleepingnow but before I shoot tomorrow could you tell me what you think about this before I shoot tomorrow morning
    @+3.5 - 83 a big drop from PMPS which was 172 fed him 3% carbs just now
    @+4.5- 85 fed 3% pate and juice from gravy lovers 15% carbs
    @5.5 - 104 no food
    He is starting to get full had to sort of force him to eat it
    We talked about maybe going with 0.25 with the lantus #19
    Only asking because he dropped 83 points already with the 0.5
    What do you think? If you think he will be OK with the 0.5 then ok
    Now just out of curiosity if he was on lantus already and shooting 0.5u
    would he have earned a reduction of 0.25 because he dropped below 90 whether it was a pre-shot or during the cycle? @@MrWorfMen's Mom

    I had asked
    Question #1 when you said I will take dose reductions at readings below 90 do you mean if the pre shots are below 90 or if I get a 90 while testing him during a cycle
    Any time you get a reading below 90 whether it's mid cycle or at pre-shot, Tyler would earn a reduction in dose by 0.25u @@MrWorfMen's Mom

    Last edited: Monday at 3:33 AM
    ://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/e/2PACX-1vTwS_dK4PPC05n3teZ6FiQe8z2ZlBioDe03bversHEfuYRd2GEbaSAQYgIZdP1MStkxlkWJt_8GYHlm/pubhtml
    Monday at 12:11 AMEditDeleteReport
    #66Reply


  3. Diane Tyler's Mom
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @@MrWorfMen's Mom please see #66 thanks @@MrWorfMen's Mom

    ://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/e/2PACX-1vTwS_dK4PPC05n3teZ6FiQe8z2ZlBioDe03bversHEfuYRd2GEbaSAQYgIZdP1MStkxlkWJt_8GYHlm/pubhtml
    Monday at 8:14 AMEditDeleteReport
    #67Reply


  4. MrWorfMen's Mom
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    I agree may be better to try 0.25u of the Lantus with that drop last night. You can always increase later if need be. Better to start conservatively.
    If pre-shot on Lantus is 90 or under, stall without feeding and retest and if BG is rising on it's own, you can shoot. If it remains under, then it becomes a skip or chicken dose. And yes Tyler would have earned a reduction with that 83.
 
@Marje and Gracie which picture would the reduction be
Fine dose gradations:
  • 0.5U = exactly half a unit
  • 0.4U = skinny 0.5 touching the line
  • 0.3U = skinny 0.5 with daylight under the line
  • 0.2U = fat zero with daylight over the line
  • 0.1U = fat zero barely touching the line
Pictorial guide using a U-100 syringe marked with half units:

someinsulin-1.jpg
01unit-1.jpg
 
@Marje and Gracie which picture would the reduction be
Fine dose gradations:
  • 0.5U = exactly half a unit
  • 0.4U = skinny 0.5 touching the line
  • 0.3U = skinny 0.5 with daylight under the line
  • 0.2U = fat zero with daylight over the line
  • 0.1U = fat zero barely touching the line
Pictorial guide using a U-100 syringe marked with half units:

someinsulin-1.jpg
01unit-1.jpg
The one from the two above; 0.1u.

You are using U100 0.3cc syringes, yes?
 
Diane , you are doing great ....you won't have to take reduction til the AM so you just concentrate on tonight .And yes, I am still up too so we can keep each other company :bighug::bighug:
 
Diane , you are doing great ....you won't have to take reduction til the AM so you just concentrate on tonight .And yes, I am still up too so we can keep each other company :bighug::bighug:
@Beth 73 this is getting to be too much lol, I don't know how you do it all night
I don't even know where to put the damn syringe to draw the insulin
 
@Marje and Gracie Yes I'm using these

Monoject U-40 Pet Insulin Syringe, 1/2cc, 29G, 1/2" - Case of 3
4.6 out of 5 stars from 11 reviews
Shop all Monoject products

Item # SY8881500042PK3
autoship.png


Deliver One Time Only
Your Low Price: $52.90
Schedule AutoShip and Save 5%
Diabetic Coverage AutoShip Price: $50.26
Quantity
Add to Cart
Product Description

Monoject U-40 Pet Insulin Syringes are sterile, single-use and individually packaged. These syringes are consistently sharp for smoother injections. The clear barrel and bold markings the Monoject Pet Syringes allow for fewer errors when giving an insulin dose. For use with U-40 insulin only.

Monoject U-40 Pet Insulin Syringe Features
  • Sterile.
  • Single-use.
  • Latex-Free.
  • DEHP Free.
  • 29 G x 1/2" (0.33 mm x 1.3 cm)
  • For use with U-40 Insulin Only.
  • MPN: 8881500042
  • Contains 300 Monoject U-40 Pet Insulin Syringe, 1/2cc, 29G, 1/2".
Diane, can you check your syringes? You posted a pic of the U-40 syringes used for vetsulin.

The U-100 syringes typically have an orange cap. The U-40 syringes typically have a red cap.
 
Now I'm learning from you , Diane :) Whatever it is you need to do you will be able to do it . You are one of the strongest ladies I know and figuring this out will be no biggie for you ❤️ Plus you have Kel , Marje, Linda wisdom and help and me and my Pom poms cheering you all the way :)
 
Hey Kel I still don't know where to put the plunger for the reduction for the am, do I bring the plunger right under the first long line the O line
Just estimate the top (needle side) of the plunger in between the zero line and the 0.25u line. It’s just important that you be as consistent as you can not that it looks exactly like the photo.

Glad you are using U100 syringes!
 
Now I'm learning from you , Diane :) Whatever it is you need to do you will be able to do it . You are one of the strongest ladies I know and figuring this out will be no biggie for you ❤️
Are you talking about the reduction? I will talk with Linda in the am
Marje posted a pic for me but I don't understand it, what else is new
 
For a 0.1 unit dose, the very bottom of the black part of the plunger (the inside part of the syringe) should be almost on the 0 mark on the outside part of the syringe.
Practice drawing up a bit of water with a syringe. When you think you've got 0.1 units, mark the practice needle so that you do not accidentally use it, then use that syringe as a comparison. Consistency in dosing is important.

I'm off to bed. I hope Tyler behaves for you.
 
For a 0.1 unit dose, the very bottom of the black part of the plunger (the inside part of the syringe) should be almost on the 0 mark on the outside part of the syringe.
Practice drawing up a bit of water with a syringe. When you think you've got 0.1 units, mark the practice needle so that you do not accidentally use it, then use that syringe as a comparison. Consistency in dosing is important.

I'm off to bed. I hope Tyler behaves for you.
Thanks Kel sleep well
 
Yep I am , Diane ...hopefully I'll get to go to bed soon . Tyler looks good , not diving lower ...Elmo is taking a bit of steering tonight . I'm getting pretty good at it :woot: Hope Linda's dinner went well ...glad for her it's over :bighug:
 
Wow. Tyler's been a busy boy. Like Marje, I really thought he'd probably be going up to 0.5u rather than down but I am happy to see his numbers getting down. Now if you could get that kibble out of the way.......:D
 
Back
Top