
@MrWorfMen's Mom yes I was surprised alsoGood morning. Happy New Year! Nice start for Tyler given his criminal activity yesterday!![]()
Happy New Year CarlaHappy New Year! Nice start for Tyler today.
@Beth 73 hey Beth, I know what you mean, sometimes I will head over to the vetsulin page lol, I still go over there to see how the kitties are doing that I have come to know.Hey , DianeHaving to remind myself to come looking for you here instead of vetsulin ....can’t imagine how you must feel . Hope your day has been good ....Tyler and you are doing wonderful
![]()
@Sue and Luci Happy New Year Sue, I sure do hope that Luci gets her cast off on the 6th and her numbers improve for the new year. I'm sorry to hear about your mom, it must be really tough seeing her like that. I was looking to see if Luci had gotten her cast off and saw that amazing 12 layer cake you made, oh my lord, I could go for a piece of that right now, beautiful job, what were those goodies that were in the plateHappy New Year Diane and Tyler!



Give little tubby man Tyler an extra hug from me Beth, you and Elmo did amazing today!!! Low yellows, blues and greens!!! Could it be that Elmo has ditched his trampoline for 2020? (anti jinx)Elmo has had me on my toes again today . I have to steer most of the day to keep him in safe numbers and from going so low that he then bounces . It just takes time and patience ....and a lot of prayingHugs to The House of Diane
Give little tubby man Tyler an extra hug from me
![]()
Thank you! It’s a busy holiday day but I will try and pop in later and see how it’s going!@Marje and Gracie Hi Marje Happy New Year, you helped me out once with Tyler when I was on the vetsulin page. You asked me to let you know when he started lantus, here we are . He is doing very well. Just wanted to drop you a line
No rush, take your timeThank you! It’s a busy holiday day but I will try and pop in later and see how it’s going!

What a great job you did with that little fart lolElmo has had me on my toes again today . I have to steer most of the day to keep him in safe numbers and from going so low that he then bounces . It just takes time and patience ....and a lot of prayingHugs to The House of Diane
Give little tubby man Tyler an extra hug from me
![]()
Not sure, Sonia ...just hope and pray he can now do it without constant steeringBeth, you and Elmo did amazing today!!! Low yellows, blues and greens!!! Could it be that Elmo has ditched his trampoline for 2020? (anti jinx)
Boy, that’s interesting as he looked to me like the Lantus starting dose was too low@MrWorfMen's Mom hey Linda you're probably sleeping now but @+3 tonight Tyler BG was 80 so that means a reduction of 0.25 how the heck would I do that since his dose is already 0.25? Do we just keep giving him 0.25 @MrWorfMen's Mom I fed him 6% carbs
Hey Marje I copied this from when he was on Vetsulin this is the reason we started with 0.25 unitsBoy, that’s interesting as he looked to me like the Lantus starting dose was too low
Under SLGS, he’s earned a reduction to 0.1u. The picture for this is in this post.
Good luck with the reduction!
If you’ll PM me, I’ll fix the SS link for you so it doesn’t take up so much space.
The one from the two above; 0.1u.@Marje and Gracie which picture would the reduction be
Fine dose gradations:
Pictorial guide using a U-100 syringe marked with half units:
- 0.5U = exactly half a unit
- 0.4U = skinny 0.5 touching the line
- 0.3U = skinny 0.5 with daylight under the line
- 0.2U = fat zero with daylight over the line
- 0.1U = fat zero barely touching the line
![]()
![]()
@Marje and Gracie so where would the plunger go up toThe one from the two above; 0.1u.
You are using U100 0.3cc syringes, yes?
@Beth 73 this is getting to be too much lol, I don't know how you do it all nightDiane , you are doing great ....you won't have to take reduction til the AM so you just concentrate on tonight .And yes, I am still up too so we can keep each other company![]()
Diane, can you check your syringes? You posted a pic of the U-40 syringes used for vetsulin.@Marje and Gracie Yes I'm using these
Monoject U-40 Pet Insulin Syringe, 1/2cc, 29G, 1/2" - Case of 3
4.6 out of 5 stars from 11 reviews
Shop all Monoject products
Item # SY8881500042PK3
![]()
Deliver One Time Only
Your Low Price: $52.90
Schedule AutoShip and Save 5%
Diabetic Coverage AutoShip Price: $50.26
Quantity
Add to Cart
Product Description
Monoject U-40 Pet Insulin Syringes are sterile, single-use and individually packaged. These syringes are consistently sharp for smoother injections. The clear barrel and bold markings the Monoject Pet Syringes allow for fewer errors when giving an insulin dose. For use with U-40 insulin only.
Monoject U-40 Pet Insulin Syringe Features
- Sterile.
- Single-use.
- Latex-Free.
- DEHP Free.
- 29 G x 1/2" (0.33 mm x 1.3 cm)
- For use with U-40 Insulin Only.
- MPN: 8881500042
- Contains 300 Monoject U-40 Pet Insulin Syringe, 1/2cc, 29G, 1/2".
You are right I put the wrong pic up one minuteDiane, can you check your syringes? You posted a pic of the U-40 syringes used for vetsulin.
The U-100 syringes typically have an orange cap. The U-40 syringes typically have a red cap.
OK I just put the correct image upLantus is a U100 insulin. Did you do a conversion?
Hey Kel I still don't know where to put the plunger for the reduction for the am, do I bring the plunger right under the first long line the zero lineThanks for checking, Diane. There have been a few scary moments in the past when someone used the wrong needle.
Just estimate the top (needle side) of the plunger in between the zero line and the 0.25u line. It’s just important that you be as consistent as you can not that it looks exactly like the photo.Hey Kel I still don't know where to put the plunger for the reduction for the am, do I bring the plunger right under the first long line the O line
Are you talking about the reduction? I will talk with Linda in the amNow I'm learning from you , DianeWhatever it is you need to do you will be able to do it . You are one of the strongest ladies I know and figuring this out will be no biggie for you
![]()
I think I know what you are talking about, I'll be cross eyed looking at it lolJust estimate the top (needle side) of the plunger in between the zero line and the 0.25u line. It’s just important that you be as consistent as you can not that it looks exactly like the photo.
Glad you are using U100 syringes!
Yeah...it’s not easy to see, that’s for sure and it’s not easy to draw consistently.I think I know what you are talking about, I'll be cross eyed looking at it lol
Do I have to take the reduction, what happens if you don'tYeah...it’s not easy to see, that’s for sure and it’s not easy to draw consistently.
I could be wrong but he just didn’t look ready for a reduction. It’s why I don’t really care for SLGS.
Have you seen my post on Dosing with Calipers which makes macrodosing so much easier?
Thanks Kel sleep wellFor a 0.1 unit dose, the very bottom of the black part of the plunger (the inside part of the syringe) should be almost on the 0 mark on the outside part of the syringe.
Practice drawing up a bit of water with a syringe. When you think you've got 0.1 units, mark the practice needle so that you do not accidentally use it, then use that syringe as a comparison. Consistency in dosing is important.
I'm off to bed. I hope Tyler behaves for you.
@MrWorfMen's Mom what do I shootWow. Tyler's been a busy boy. Like Marje, I really thought he'd probably be going up to 0.5u rather than down but I am happy to see his numbers getting down. Now if you could get that kibble out of the way.......![]()