1/1/14 Cobb AMPS 356 +3 341 +4 323 +7 328 +9 334 PMPS 322

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Very Active Member
Happy 2014!! Here's to a blue and green year for all our kitties!!!

Yesterday

I decided to give Cobb the overnight off from getting his ear pricked. Fireworks stress him out so it would have been pointless with the people shooting them off right next to the house. :-x Did I mention they started about 17 minutes after I got baby bean to sleep after rocking him for 2 hours since he can't shake this cold?? :-x

Hopefully he's coming down from that yucky bounce from yesterday.

Have a wonderful day!

~Suzanne
 
Re: 1/1/14 Cobb AMPS 356

Oh no, what great timing on the fireworks! :roll: I hope you all had a restful night after that. Cobb, you slide down nicely for your bean, ok? Happy New Year to you all :-D
 
Re: 1/1/14 Cobb AMPS 356

Argh on the fireworks! I'm getting to be a geezer...they had my kitties scrambling when the neighborhood fireworks (which are illegal!!) started to go off, and I was not happy to see them upset because some bozos had to light of noisemakers. I can't imagine how upsetting it was for your wee one to be woken up by them!

Bring it down a bit, Cobb. Have a Happy New Year's, Suzanne!
 
Re: 1/1/14 Cobb AMPS 356

Well, handsome Cobb, let's see some better numbers to start off the new year. What do you think? I hope your baby is feeling better soon. I know I'm tired of being sick. Happy New Year, Suzanne!
Liz
 
Re: 1/1/14 Cobb AMPS 356 +3 341 +4 323

i've become an old geezer too - not too crazy about the fireworks either. we don't usually have too many around New Years, though, mostly 4th of July.

One of the best things we did with our middle child was to start running a fan while he slept. He was uber-sensitive to every sound and it made a huge difference. Not sure if that will help you, but thought i'd mention it just in case it helps.
 
Re: 1/1/14 Cobb AMPS 356 +3 341 +4 323 +6 403

Happy+New+Year+52.gif


I hope the baby bean (love that) feels better today. And Cobb....come back down, buddy.
 
Re: 1/1/14 Cobb AMPS 356 +3 341 +4 323 +6 403

Continuing the bounce? Why the highest number at +6? I know nadirs change but that makes no sense.

I know we talked about slowing down to 6 cycles instead of 4...does everyone still agree with that?
 
Re: 1/1/14 Cobb AMPS 356 +3 341 +4 323 +6 403 +7 328

On a hunch, I checked an hour later and it was 328.

Meter variance for that 403??
 
Re: 1/1/14 Cobb AMPS 356 +3 341 +4 323 +6 403 +7 328 +9 334

if it were me, i'd stick with the 4 cycles and increase until we were seeing more than one blip of blue.

But Libby's got tons of experience, and it was her that initially suggested slowing down when you saw a blue. Why don't you pm her and ask her what she thinks on cobb today? Not sure how long you have til shot time, but she may see a pm.

Often more data changes our opinions.
 
Re: 1/1/14 Cobb AMPS 356 +3 341 +4 323 +6 403 +7 328 +9 334

julie & punkin (ga) said:
if it were me, i'd stick with the 4 cycles and increase until we were seeing more than one blip of blue.

But Libby's got tons of experience, and it was her that initially suggested slowing down when you saw a blue. Why don't you pm her and ask her what she thinks on cobb today? Not sure how long you have til shot time, but she may see a pm.

Often more data changes our opinions.
Thanks Julie! I have a few hours before shot time. I'm inclined to agree with you, especially if Cobb does have IAA...stay ahead as much as I can. And its his same pattern of dipping into a nice number and then surfing in the pinks. :roll:

I PM'd Libby. Just waiting to hear back.
 
Re: 1/1/14 Cobb AMPS 356 +3 341 +4 323 +6 403 +7 328 +9 334

I'm not sure my messages are sending. It is in the outbox, not sent messages folder. I resubmitted it, but it is still in the outbox.
 
Re: 1/1/14 Cobb AMPS 356 +3 341 +4 323 +6 403 +7 328 +9 334

Hi Suzanne,

answering your PM here.

When the numbers are high and flat, increasing every 4 cycles can be a good strategy to get to a good dose faster. Once the numbers start being not so flat, it's a good idea to switch back to the "usual" interval of holding the dose for 3-5 days. For most cats, when they first hit blue I suggest holding doses for 5 days. In Cobb's case, I don't think it is necessary to wait 5 days because I suspect you are right that he will need an increase again. 3 days should be good. I would try it once, and if that doesn't work out, then you can go back to the increases every 4 cycles.

Waiting another cycle or two will give you a chance to see where he is going. He's surfing pink right now. If he keeps surfing into a pink preshot tonight, he could very well go back to blue again tonight. If he doesn't, then you'll know it's time to increase. If he DOES go blue tonight, well, blue is nice but your goal is probably green. You'll probably still want to increase, but you might not want to increase by as much. Does that make sense?
 
Re: 1/1/14 Cobb AMPS 356 +3 341 +4 323 +6 403 +7 328 +9 334

Yes. That makes sense! Thank you!!

So if he drops into the blues again tonight (fingers crossed), would you say to increase by .25u instead of the .5u I've been doing? Or if he drops into the blues, hold through tomorrow's cycle and see what develops? I go ahead and ask because I shoot at 8am eastern, which is before a lot of people are on the board.
 
Re: 1/1/14 Cobb AMPS 356 +3 341 +4 323 +7 328 +9 334 PMPS 32

I would wait and see what the numbers are. Usually once you're shooting a dose that high, 0.5u increases make sense. If it's lower blue, or if he hits blue and surfs rather than going back up to pink, then you might want to either hold the dose or increase by a smaller amount. Use your judgment.
 
Re: 1/1/14 Cobb AMPS 356 +3 341 +4 323 +7 328 +9 334 PMPS 32

OK Cobb, time to show us your inner blue again please! Sorry about those fireworks, I'm glad they're not much of a tradition here and that the guy who used to live behind us and set off the boat flares has moved. :twisted:

When Neko was around Cobb's current dose, I usually did .25U increases when she was seeing green. A bit of blue but mostly yellow/pink/red meant a .5U increase. And sometimes she'd see green, get an increase, then see nothing but yellow at the higher dose. Once you've done it a few times, you'll figure out what works for Cobb.

Best wishes for a great 2014 for you, Cobb, DH and Matty.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top