1/1/12 SAM SIAM pmps 357

Status
Not open for further replies.

donna & sam siam

Member Since 2011
First time with Sam this low, and of course it's his amps time! He tested at 89. I printed off the "what to do if..." sheet but of course AFTER I had already fed him. So...please suggestions! I am supposed to leave this morning at about his +1.5 time & return at about +4.5. I know this is bad cause I really should be monitoring him. If I HAVE to I can stay home but really would rather not. Any suggestions are much needed! Thanks to all of you!

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=59797
 
Re: 1/1/12 SAM SIAM AMPS 89!!

It sounds like you fed but didn't shoot? Is that right? (If you haven't shot, the test is your AMBG and not an AMPS.)
 
Re: 1/1/12 SAM SIAM AMBG 89!!

personally, if you've already fed and you can't stay and monitor, i'd skip this shot. just call it a fur shot and see what Sam Siam is like tonight.

oh, and if you haven't shot insulin you don't have to worry about him going low. they can't become hypoglycemic without having received a shot, so enjoy your day!
 
Re: 1/1/12 SAM SIAM AMBG 89!!

That sounds good. I just feel so bad for not being home this morning. But yes, you are right, at least he won't go low so that is a relief. His poor little body is so used to being high it doesn't know what to do with a low number. So I guess what I should do then is check him throughout the day after I get home & see what he's been doing before his pmps.
 
Re: 1/1/12 SAM SIAM AMBG 89!!

Have a nice day off! it is a relief, even if we don't like to admit it. Get a test as soon as you get home and a =11 would be good too.
 
Re: 1/1/12 SAM SIAM AMBG 89!!

Just to point out that we don't actually know how low Sam's numbers were last night. If you had been able to get a spot check in, you'd have an idea where this AMBG came from.
 
Re: 1/1/12 SAM SIAM AMBG 89, +5 177, +8 386

Yes, I was actually feeling a bit guilty this morning because I had planned on getting up a couple of times to check his pm numbers like I have been. But that bed of mine was just waaaaay too cozy & couldn't make myself do it. :oops: After I saw his ambg all I could think of was oh man, I'm glad he's still alive! Who knows how low it dipped. Believe me, living with a type I diabetic for 32 years you see some pretty terrible low blood sugars. So I know very well how serious it can be. My bad! Tonight I'll be on it...well, at least once or twice. ;-)
 
Re: 1/1/12 SAM SIAM AMBG 89, +5 177, +8 386, +10 403, +11 39

Well, interesting bgs. Sam went up as expected but not as high as I thought he would without an am shot. His +10 & +11 are close, but I found it odd that it actually went down a bit. Maybe it's just a meter thing. Anyhow, with the low ambg and his numbers today, should I maybe back off his insulin to 1.25? I allowed him several extra cycles on his 1.5 (good advice from Julie!), which was good because it leveled out lower than I thought it would and saved me from giving an unnecessary increase. Perhaps I increased too fast from 1.25 to 1.5? I don't know... obviously you guys are the experts. Just some thoughts.

I plan on shooting soon so any advice is welcome! Thank you all!!

**Back atcha binks & buddy!!!
 
Re: 1/1/12 SAM SIAM AMBG 89, +5 177, +8 386, +10 403, +11 39

Don't forget there's approximately 20% variance with any test you get due to the meter. Your +10 and +11 are pretty much the same number.
 
I looked over sam's ss carefully. Very likely I didn't give him enough cycles on 1.25 to really see where he would level out. He went through several more cycles on 1.5 before it finally leveled out. Given that even without an am shoot, his bg didn't go into the black today, and actually barely into the red, & also because it started going back down at the pmps (although only 50 points or so)I chose to shoot 1.25. Will monitor tonight.
 
If you go back to the dosing protocol, you'll note that when nadirs are generally over 200, you evaluate the effectiveness of the dose after 3 days (6 cycles). With Sam's dose at 1.25u, you were lucky if you were seeing a nadir that was in the 200s -- there were lots of pink and red numbers. I don't think the numbers were going to level out at a good place. On the other hand, with the 1.5u dose you were beginning to see some blues and greens. I'd really encourage you to bring the dose back to 1.5u tomorrow.
 
Totally agree with Sienne and he didn't earn a reduction with that AMBG....true, we don't know how low he got but I'd also take him back to 1.5u in the morning and see how he does...of course, now he has to refill his shed and clear any bounces....so it might be a few cycles before you see anything.

Happy New Year Donna and Sam.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top