1/1/11 Casanova PMPS 221 +11 320

Status
Not open for further replies.

casanovasmom

Member Since 2010
Wow, that's a lot of 1s! Happy New Year to everyone! AMPS of 266 which is a little high for my liking. I did feed Casanova some Soulistic wet food yesterday which he loved. It's so nice to feed him something that he actually wants to eat. I've been nervous to feed him the Soulistic because it doesn't seem like there is really true data on the carb percentages and I've been trying not to feed him anything higher than 2 %. His numbers yesterday were a little high but they were the day before as well so I'm not sure there is a correlation. Oh well, we'll just have to wait and see what today brings.

Yesterday's link viewtopic.php?f=9&t=33303

Laura
 
Re: 1/1/11 Casanova AMPS 266

Happy New Year Laura! :lol: Yes, that is a lot of ones! Wait till the 11th of the month! :lol:
He sure likes yellow these past couple of cycles...how about some blues Cassanova... confused_cat
 
Re: 1/1/11 Casanova AMPS 266

Some cats will have an increase in numbers even with a change in the variety of food within the same brand at the same level of carbs. Go figure!

Probably the only way you'll be able to get the info on the Soulistic food is to write the manufacturer and ask for them to send you the "as fed" values and plug them into Janet & Binky's calculator.
 
Re: 1/1/11 Casanova AMPS 266 +2 101 +3 35 !!!!!!!!

Oh my!!!! These numbers are driving me a little NUTS!! +2 felt great at 101 then +3 35!? He seems fine and I just fed him and he gobbled it up. I'll check again in about 15 minutes to see what the numbers are doing. I have a back up meter and just pulled that out to make sure it wasn't my meter that was doing something weird. Nope, same reading on both. It could be a long day :(

Laura
 
Re: 1/1/11 Casanova AMPS 266 +2 101 +3 35 !!!!!!!!

WoW Casanova. Good catch Laura.
Will be waiting for the next test.
 
Re: 1/1/11 Casanova AMPS 266 +2 101 +3 35 !!!!!!!!

WOW!!! You have any MC or HC I assume..That is fantastic that you caught that number!!--What a good beginning to a New Year!!!
 
Re: 1/1/11 Casanova AMPS 266 +3 35 +3.75 50

Just tested at 3.75 and back up to 50. That makes me feel much better. Thank goodness I'm off today :) If DH would have called with that number I would have freaked out a little :o
 
Re: 1/1/11 Casanova AMPS 266 +3 35 +3.75 50

whew!

It's early in the cycle, so how about a little more food and testing in 1/2 hour, to be sure he is staying up. For the record, what did you feed at +3 and how much?

Any time you see a big drop like this at +2, it means "pay attention." For most cats, the Lantus is just starting to kick in at +2, so usually the +2 is around the same as the PS. It looks like it is usual for Casanova to be a bit lower than PS sometimes, but 160 points lower deserves attention. Just for future reference. ;-) You did good, you retested and caught the low number.
 
Re: 1/1/11 Casanova AMPS 266 +3 35 +3.75 50

Nice catch, Laura! For the future....when you get a number below 40, you want to feed (HC gravy is good for numbers that low, and this early) and retest in 15 minutes. You will want to know right away if he is continuing to drop when he is that low. I'm glad that he is up some, but I would retest in 30 minutes to make sure he isn't heading back down. It's early in the cycle for being that low, so you may need to feed higher carb food to keep him up than if it were later.

On the food...I don't rely on the carb % of the food to determine what I feed. I use it as a starting point, yes....but then I feed the food at PS time and test at +1 to see how much of a food spike I get...that tells me whether or not to keep feeding that food. A couple of things to keep in mind though: I always test a food twice to make sure my results are valid, and I never test new food when Tinkles is bouncing.
 
Re: 1/1/11 Casanova AMPS 266 +3 35 +3.75 50

I fed him a can of Soulistic Sweet Salutation Chicken and Tuna because I knew he would eat it-he licked the bowl clean! Will test again in about 10 minutes.
 
Re: 1/1/11 Casanova AMPS 266 +6 27!!

Just tested and at +6 and he's at 27. I just gave him a fancy feast elegant medley that's 13% carb. He ate about a third of it. He seems fine and ill test again in 15 minutes.
 
Re: 1/1/11 Casanova AMPS 266 +6 27!!

do you have anything higher in carb than then FF medley. like 16-18% calories from carb? if you do, feed some now. you don't have any margin for error with a 27, it's not a number to mess with.
 
Re: 1/1/11 Casanova AMPS 266 +6 27!!

I agree with WCF. You need HC, not MC. If you don't have HC, add some Karo -- a couple of drops -- to bring #s up.

Also, don't feed by the can. You want to give a teaspoon or two so Casanova isn't too full if you need to give more food/gravy. Feed the gravy -- it's where the carbs are and its not as filling.
 
Re: 1/1/11 Casanova AMPS 266 +6 27!!

I agree with the others, I would give 2 tsp of gravy from HC food. If you don't have that then add a drop of Karo to the MC food. Test in 15 minutes.
 
Re: 1/1/11 Casanova AMPS 266 +6 27!!

Didn't think about just feeding the gravy but obviosly thatt makes sense. The only thing I have that's higher carb is his old dry food. I better buy some higher carb at the store next time. Just tested and he's back up to 39.
 
Re: 1/1/11 Casanova AMPS 266 +6 27 +6.5 39

Dry food takes too long to bring numbers up and it takes forever to clear out of a cat's system. I'd plan on stocking up on gravy-style food. The FF gravy lovers is around 15 - 17% carb. Please get another test in 15 - 20 min.

You might also want to print this post out on how to handle low numbers.
 
Re: 1/1/11 Casanova AMPS 266 +6 27 +6.5 39

If you just added the Karo (when you posted), it needs a bit more time to work. 15 - 20 min. between tests is fine. If Casanova's #s were higher, you could go 30 min. Let's get him surfing in the 50 - 60s.
 
Re: 1/1/11 Casanova AMPS 266 +6 27 +6.5 39

Back up to 74. Good thing my boy is a little bit of a piggy eater.
 
Re: 1/1/11 Casanova AMPS 266 +6 27 +6.5 39

It's good that he's eating. They do get hungry with low numbers. You don't want to over feed because he might scarf-and-barf.
 
Re: 1/1/11 Casanova AMPS 266 +6 27 +6.5 39

With all of this going on I'm just wondering what sort of bg numbers we should be striving for. I love to see the lows but not if they get so low I am worried all the time. Since I'm usually not home during the day, lows like todays just can't happen. I guess the trade off is being satisfied with higher numbers. I guess its also telling me to lower the dose. This is all so overwhelming. I just want my baby to have the best quality of life possible.
 
Re: 1/1/11 Casanova AMPS 266 +6 27 +6.75 74

Casanova certainly earned a dose reduction. I would reduce by 0.25u so your dose this evening, provided Casanova doesn't bounce sky high, would be 4.25u. If he's in the pinks, you have the option of shooting the current 4.50u one last time to help the bounce clear more quickly.

You had asked in a previous thread whether Casanova's dose was too high based on a low pre-shot number. It may be that a low pre-shot is giving you some advance warning that a dose change is brewing. The low pre-shot, in and of itself, doesn't mean the dose is too high. What we do is wait for the cat to tell us that a dose is higher than what's needed. As you get more data based on the way Casanova is responding, you'll know whether a low pre-shot is good information that a decrease is coming up. It's not unlike Libby's point that the 160 point drop was a heads-up that numbers were dropping. ECID and you are getting the data that will help you to know how what Casanova's patterns are - well, at least until he changes them.
 
Re: 1/1/11 Casanova AMPS 266 +6 27 +6.75 74

What a way to start the New Year! Good catch, Laura! And good luck on finding that elusive "best dose".

Hang in there!
Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/1/11 Casanova AMPS 266 +6 27 +7 111

By giving him the karo his numbers did go up. How long will it take for the karo effect to wear off? If his BG is high tonight will it still be because of the extra sugar in his system? Once that wears off-or leaves his system couldn't his numbers come crashing down again? I'm thinking I'll be too nervous to shoot the full 4.75. I ordered some of the syringes today that come with the 1/2 unit markings. Can't wait to get those!
 
Re: 1/1/11 Casanova AMPS 266 +6 27 +7 111

casanovasmom said:
By giving him the karo his numbers did go up. How long will it take for the karo effect to wear off?
ECID (every cat is different). Karo doesnt usually stay in the system too long. You will probably start seeing a bounce in numbers soon, if you are not already. You could probably get another test to be sure he is going up.


casanovasmom said:
If his BG is high tonight will it still be because of the extra sugar in his system? Once that wears off-or leaves his system couldn't his numbers come crashing down again?
If he is real high tonight, it is probably due to the liver dumping glucose in his system as a panic response from the drop to the 20's. That is the bounce. It can last up to 72hrs. How quickly will he come back down depends on how quickly his body can clear the bounce. ECID. Some can clear it in a cycle, some take the full 72hrs. Testing/data can help you learn your cat's patterns.

casanovasmom said:
I'm thinking I'll be too nervous to shoot the full 4.75. I ordered some of the syringes today that come with the 1/2 unit markings. Can't wait to get those!

Here is what Sienne suggested about the dose.
Sienne and Gabby said:
Casanova certainly earned a dose reduction. I would reduce by 0.25u so your dose this evening, provided Casanova doesn't bounce sky high, would be 4.25u. If he's in the pinks, you have the option of shooting the current 4.50u one last time to help the bounce clear more quickly.

Most importantly, do what you are comfortable with. You could try to get a +11, so you can see if or how fast he is rising by pmps. That might help you decide on shooting the full dose through the bounce, or not.

Nice catch today!
 
Re: 1/1/11 Casanova PMPS 221 +1 281

Happy New Year Laura and Casanova !!

WoW... You had quite an afternoon...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top