1/1/10, sophie, AMPS 434, Good lord!

Status
Not open for further replies.

JoshandSophie

Member Since 2010
Admittedly, I did oversleep one hour so the shot was an hour late, but boy.

I've got Sophie's profile set up too, at the helpful suggestion of another commenter.

Cheers and happy new year!
 
Hi Josh,
You are doing a GREAT job getting tests!

Dont worry too much about the oversleeping. We all do it from time to time. Considering it was NYE last night.... :mrgreen:
One thing you want to do is make sure you are giving your next shot (pm) 12hrs AFTER you gave the a.m. shot. So, if you were a 7am/7pm shooter and overslept an hour, you will give next shot at 8pm and now have an 8am/8pm shot time. If you need to stick with your regular time you can slowly get yourself back on track by shooting 15 minutes early. I do believe you can do that on each cycle until you are back on track. Hopefully someone will correct me if Im wrong. Its been a while since Ive needed to do that. There are other ways to get back on track quicker, but those are situational and dependant on your cat's BG's @ shot time and history. The 15min increment I feel is the most cautious.

The higher numbers you are seeing today likely have more to do with SOphie's liver panicking a bit from the lower numbers last night. It could take up to 72hrs for that to clear out. Hope that reduces your frustration a bit.

Here is a link to yesterdays post (condo):
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=33349
Posting the link each day makes it easier for people to backtrack and see what has been going on with Sophie.

Hope you had a great New Years!
 
Not a pretty start for her day (and BTW, it's now 2011), but that red number is not a surprise. Sophie is bouncing. Most of our cats go through this sometimes rather long period where their livers react to normal range BG values. We get excited to see those green numbers and our cats' livers panic. It's the liver's normal response to what is perceived as dangerous BG levels. A diabetic kitty's liver isn't used to those numbers. As a result, the liver dumps a stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones into the bloodstream and numbers bounce into higher ranges. We refer to this period as Liver Training School (LTS). So, the good news is that Sophie's liver is working just fine. The bad news is you had a red pre-shot number. A late shot didn't help.

With regard to the late shot, you need to remember that you're supposed to be shooting 12 hours from your AM shot time. If Sophie's numbers are high, you can shoot early but I would recommend posting at +10.5 or +11 and asking for help. If the bounce is clearing, the earliest you would be able to shoot would be by 30 min. (You can move a shot by 30 min. once a day or by 15 min. twice a day to get back on schedule.)
 
Thanks Sienne and Carolyn!

I'm going to have to give Sophie her shot tomorrow am, max 1/2 hour early, as my friends are coming over to learn how to do it when I'm gone for two days, and I can only ask them to move their scheds. so much.

I got a Relion confirm today because the test strips are so much cheaper. Needs a little more blood, but I'm figuring it out. I first tested her (see spreadsheet) with the Countour, and she was at 232. Then, about 10-15 min. later, the Relion said she was 198. That seemed fast. But then I tested myself on both machines at the same time, and they were within 1 point of each other, so I figure the Relion must be accurate.

I also shot my vet (best guy on earth) a link to the spreadsheet so he can look at it over time and offer dosage advice. He's totally cool about home testing, and has no interest in making more money off folks when they can't afford with excessive vet visits.

Thanks so much for the help. . .it makes me feel better:) I look forward to when I learn enough from you all that I can be a help to others.

Happy New Year!

Yesterday's post on Sophieviewtopic.php?f=9&t=33349
 
Good idea re. testing on yourself, especially since meters often vary the most at the lower end of the range. Keep in mind that there can be 10 - 20% variability between tests even with the same meter.

You are very lucky to have a vet who supports home testing. There are tons of vets who will discourage it and instead, suggest you bring your cat in for a curve or want to run fructosamine tests on a regular basis. Your vet sounds like a gem! You might want to pass along the link to the Tight Regulation protocols. There is a more 'formal' version of the protocol in the sticky. The version authored by Roomp & Rand has been published in veterinary journal.
 
Re: 1/1/11, sophie, AMPS 434, Good lord!

PMPS 244 - I think we're making progress! Seems to be a trend downward by the day on this particular number.
 
Happy new year to you, too! 158 at +3 tonight!

Friends coming over in the morning to learn how to be vampires and kitty drug shooters. Poor Soph's ears. Hopefully I can stop sticking her so often soon.

Have any of you had luck with alternate blood sites?
 
JoshS said:
Happy new year to you, too! 158 at +3 tonight!

Friends coming over in the morning to learn how to be vampires and kitty drug shooters. Poor Soph's ears. Hopefully I can stop sticking her so often soon.

Have any of you had luck with alternate blood sites?
The ears will be OK, honest!! Just look at a few other peoples SS's (ours is in our sig) as to just how much testing we do each day - and apart from a very few folks who use the paw pads, this is all done on the ears. We alternate left and right ear (keep a note in a book of each test and put an L or R after each entry so you know which ear is next!)... we use only the inside of the outer edge (less fur there and MUCH easier to get a drop to bead-up there) but try and move the poke site up and down the ear each time. Get some gauze or cotton wool and apply gentle yet firm pressure to the poke site for 15-30 sec after you get the sample, this helps stop any bruising (sub-q bleeding into the tissue). Some people use a bit of neosporin w/pain med on them, but our Sooty is fine without anything...

The ears do get used to this, over time and it becomes much easier to get a blood drop reliably each time. If you are finding that dificult right now then try the "Double poke" trick it really doesn't hurt and is much more likely to get a nice drop!!

Remember, it probably hurts us more than it does them (esp., when as sometimes happens here, you go right through the ear and prick your own finger!!)

Our Sooty is so used to it all now, that as soon as we get the BG kit out, he jumps right up on the kitchen counter and gets ready for us!!

Hang in there you are doing great and don't get too hung up on the day's highest BG numbers - the protocol is all about the LOWS so focus on getting to know when Sophie's LOWs are!
 
Hello and Welcome, Josh and Sophie! Fine job with the Profile and the SS!
Looking forward to seeing Sophie's progress....so happy that you are here!
Happy New Year to you and yours....wishing for all the very best for you in 2011!! party_cat
 
Happy New Year Josh and Sophie!
I read somewhere on this board that over the centuries cats have become accustomed to having their ears attacked in fights with other cats, the result being that their ears have developed less sensitivity. If this is so, the poking of the ears probably bothers us more than them!
Congrats on getting your spreadsheet and profile up so quickly.

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top