1.08 Fa amps 324/+3,281/+5,329/+7,337/+9,351/pmps 349/+3,279/+6,311

If you are doing TR, it’s past time to increase the dose to 5.5u. If nadirs are not in blue, we increase after every six consecutive cycles.

Of course, is she surprises you with a blue number, continue to hold the dose. Good luck!
 
If you are doing TR, it’s past time to increase the dose to 5.5u. If nadirs are not in blue, we increase after every six consecutive cycles.

Of course, is she surprises you with a blue number, continue to hold the dose. Good luck!
After I returned to work on Monday, I cannot do TR since I can not monitor much. Maybe I should change my signature about TR.
 
Was going to see how this cycle goes but it seems Fafa cannot keep up what the dose could do at the beginning. Just like when she was with Lantus before.

Is this ‘resistance’? What should I do ? I can try to do +8, +9 or +10 test in the evening (2am, 3am or 4am).

@Wendy&Neko
 
After I returned to work on Monday, I cannot do TR since I can not monitor much. Maybe I should change my signature about TR.
Yes, you should if you aren’t going to continue with TR. I forgot you were going back to work.

Was going to see how this cycle goes but it seems Fafa cannot keep up what the dose could do at the beginning. Just like when she was with Lantus before.

Is this ‘resistance’? What should I do ? I can try to do +8, +9 or +10 test in the evening (2am, 3am or 4am).

@Wendy&Neko
Any tests you can get are very helpful. Late cycle tests can tell us alot.

Insofar as resistance, it can be a combination of a little resistance as she has been in higher numbers longer due to the Levemir starting dose being too low. It’s likely the Lev dose will need to go higher than the Lantus dose. But hang in there and keep increasing based on the method you are following.
 
I think you can increase to 5.5 units. It's not SLGS, but given you are able to get good tests at night, and you got data on your day off, it looks like she's not getting into blues at this dose. Over a dose of 5 units, we typically move to increases of 0.5 units, unless you are fine tuning a dose that already is seeing green. You got to 5.75 units on Lantus, so this increase still wouldn't take up that high and we can consider this a bit of a fast track or dose catch up.

There is likely some resistance happening. If nothing else, there is glucose toxicity. It's been almost two months since she last saw green, maybe a month since blue. Her body has gotten used to higher numbers.

If you increase before the weekend, you might want to do it at night. Then she'll probably do a couple cycles of new dose wonkiness, and start working the dose by the weekend when you can monitor more.
 
I think you can increase to 5.5 units. It's not SLGS, but given you are able to get good tests at night, and you got data on your day off, it looks like she's not getting into blues at this dose. Over a dose of 5 units, we typically move to increases of 0.5 units, unless you are fine tuning a dose that already is seeing green. You got to 5.75 units on Lantus, so this increase still wouldn't take up that high and we can consider this a bit of a fast track or dose catch up.

There is likely some resistance happening. If nothing else, there is glucose toxicity. It's been almost two months since she last saw green, maybe a month since blue. Her body has gotten used to higher numbers.

If you increase before the weekend, you might want to do it at night. Then she'll probably do a couple cycles of new dose wonkiness, and start working the dose by the weekend when you can monitor more.
Oh so shall I change back to say TR?

If we increase now, I can test maybe +3,+5 before bed and try to get up once to test +7, +8 or +9.

in the day time, the best I can do is to test at +2.5 but usually I am in a rush in the morning, do you think it is safe if I don’t test after insulin until pmps?

you said it’s possible glucose toxicity. Does it mean it can cause the BG to be not as good as the best BG when on the same dose?

As long as I don’t run the risk of her going too low when we are not at home, I am happy to do the increase maybe tonight. From the recent BG we have, I don’t think she will go down to really low is that right?
 
Or increase tomorrow night, your call. Given that she's only hit low yellows on this dose, I don't think you are in danger of this increased dose taking her below 50. In the day time, if you get a test before you head out the door and it is a big drop, leave out lots of food. Or if you get up an hour or two before shot time, and you find she is dropping into AMPS, you could leave out more food.

you said it’s possible glucose toxicity. Does it mean it can cause the BG to be not as good as the best BG when on the same dose?
Their body gets used to higher numbers, and it takes a higher dose of insulin to break through that resistance. And how she did on a dose a month or two ago is not relevant. Insulin needs can vary over time.
 
Or increase tomorrow night, your call. Given that she's only hit low yellows on this dose, I don't think you are in danger of this increased dose taking her below 50. In the day time, if you get a test before you head out the door and it is a big drop, leave out lots of food. Or if you get up an hour or two before shot time, and you find she is dropping into AMPS, you could leave out more food.


Their body gets used to higher numbers, and it takes a higher dose of insulin to break through that resistance. And how she did on a dose a month or two ago is not relevant. Insulin needs can vary over time.

Thanks very much Wendy. I think I will wait till tomorrow night (Thursday night) to increase to 5.5u then.

I understand better now about resistance and glucose toxicity after your explanation. Hopefully Fafa just needs the higher dose to break through the resistance. I have been worrying she is acro and we don’t have the SRT or surgery option available here in our state.
 
Many people don’t have easy access to surgery or SRT. I had to drive three days each way for SRT, into the US and four states over. It’s a little better now, but more costly now than then. One of the reasons a number of acros here are on cabergoline.
 
Many people don’t have easy access to surgery or SRT. I had to drive three days each way for SRT, into the US and four states over. It’s a little better now, but more costly now than then. One of the reasons a number of acros here are on cabergoline.
Oh I thought it would be easier on your side.

in Australia I think only Queensland has SRT if I remember right. As much as I want to do the best for Fafa, travelling is the last thing we would like to do. She gets too stressed even travelling in cat.

Good to know about Cabergoline is helping those who cannot access surgery or SRT.
 
Back
Top