1/04 re: Low #s AMPS 224; +6 81; +11.5 (PMPS) 102; +4 69; +4.5 87; +5.5 99; +6.5 99

Cinnie Cole

Member Since 2019
He is acting fine but hungry - got a big dip at his nadir to 81 and PMPS is 102. My husband just gave him a little food - he has been crazy for the last hour for food - sleeping all day, but no other issues.

I am mainly concerned about the big drop from 224 to 81 then staying low. Is this something I should expect?

Following SLGS - should I reduce his dose by .25 or keep him at his normal dose and monitor him tonight?

Thanks!
 
If you are following SLGS you reduce the dose if the BG drops below 90. So yes, reduce the dose by 0.25 units down to 1.5 units.
I would get a before bed test in as one should do every night to keep kitties safe :)
 
Are you home tonight? Can you monitor? Remember the depot is still in play, even with a reduction tonight.
 
Are you home tonight? Can you monitor? Remember the depot is still in play, even with a reduction tonight.
I did reduce to 1.5 and am around tonight; Here is my plan - I will test him before I go to bed (+4 or +4.5) (unless he is not acting normal before then - he has been pretty normal, except for his hunger); after I test him, I will feed him his PM snack.
 
I did reduce to 1.5 and am around tonight; Here is my plan - I will test him before I go to bed (+4 or +4.5) (unless he is not acting normal before then - he has been pretty normal, except for his hunger); after I test him, I will feed him his PM snack.
If the +4 test is lower than the preshot you may need to get up and test again later to keep him safe. If unsure, post and ask advise.
Keep updating the SS please as we always look at that when helping:)
 
If the +4 test is lower than the preshot you may need to get up and test again later to keep him safe. If unsure, post and ask advise.
Keep updating the SS please as we always look at that when helping:)
Absolutely, depending on the test, I would test again (how soon would depend on the reading).
 
At PMPS +4 we have 69. His nadir is at +6 normally, so I am concerned. No signs of hypo so not worried about that right now, but still this is low - should I give him some HC food now then test in a half hour? I don't want to overreact but I also don't want him to go too low. I am not used to low numbers like this.

Thanks!
 
At PMPS +4 we have 69. His nadir is at +6 normally, so I am concerned. No signs of hypo so not worried about that right now, but still this is low - should I give him some HC food now then test in a half hour? I don't want to overreact but I also don't want him to go too low. I am not used to low numbers like this.

Thanks!
So after 1 tbsp of HC, he is at 87. Gave him his normal low carb food snack. I will test again at +5 or +5.5.
 
So sorry I did not see this earlier.
It has been a busy night on the board.
Always tag someone if you need help. To do that you just type in the @ then add the user name of the person and a box will pop up and you click on that and it should tag that person..like this @Bron and Sheba (GA)

You did well. If the numbers drop under 90 you can give some higher carb food if it is earlier in the cycle to bring the number up. If it is late in the cycle, often ordinary low carb will bring it up as the insulin is wearing off. If the number is much lower ( under 50) you would give some HC. Dont feed too much in case you need to feed again later.
Keep testing until the numbers are staying up on their own without the help of food.
 
So sorry I did not see this earlier.
It has been a busy night on the board.
Always tag someone if you need help. To do that you just type in the @ then add the user name of the person and a box will pop up and you click on that and it should tag that person..like this @Bron and Sheba (GA)

You did well. If the numbers drop under 90 you can give some higher carb food if it is earlier in the cycle to bring the number up. If it is late in the cycle, often ordinary low carb will bring it up as the insulin is wearing off. If the number is much lower ( under 50) you would give some HC. Dont feed too much in case you need to feed again later.
Keep testing until the numbers are staying up on their own without the help of food.

Thanks - I think that the instructions were good enough for me to extrapolate - so that helps. I gave him about 2 tablespoons of his normal low carb an hour ago. I will test shortly and add the infomration now, then again at +6.5 so it will be with no food being given for two hours.

QUESTION: Should I reduce his dose again tomorrow AM by another .25, even though I reduced it by .25 this evening due to the afternoon nadir?
 
I guess I can get him through the night, but - I just reduced his dose tonight from 1.75 to 1.5., do these numbers mean that I should reduce his dose again tomorrow AM to 1.25?
The depot from the 1.75 units is still influencing the numbers, especially since it is the cycle after the reduction.
I would stay with the 1.5 dose and see how that goes.
Will you be home tomorrow to test?
I would try and get in tests before the +7 if you can. It is better to catch the drops than to find the drops have already happened.
I would get a +3 and if t is lower than the preshot then you know it is probably going to be an active cycle and you will need to test again. The same with the pm cycle. Always get a before bed test if you can. It will help keep Zoot safe.
 
The depot from the 1.75 units is still influencing the numbers, especially since it is the cycle after the reduction.
I would stay with the 1.5 dose and see how that goes.
Will you be home tomorrow to test?
I would try and get in tests before the +7 if you can. It is better to catch the drops than to find the drops have already happened.
I would get a +3 and if t is lower than the preshot then you know it is probably going to be an active cycle and you will need to test again. The same with the pm cycle. Always get a before bed test if you can. It will help keep Zoot safe.

Thanks for the dosage guidance. That makes sense to me. I will be around all day tomorrow, so testing is not a problem.
99 at +5.5; will test again at +6.5.
 
@Bron and Sheba (GA) So at +6.5 (2 hours with no food) his number is 99; same as +5.5. so not going down. Do you think I need to do another test, or just check his AMPS in the morning. Poor guy has been stuck a lot today, and he seems fine. My husband will probably give him some food in an hour. His behavior is normal.
 
I think he should be fine now. I would give him a small snack now and get your husband to give him a snack again in an hour.
You have done well!
 
Back
Top