Martica and Fred
Member Since 2010
01/03 Shane-Sebastian AMPS at +18.75! 234; >.25U > +3=160
Hi
Well Shane is doing really really well I think. I haven't posted in a few days because I wasn't doing full curves, wanted to give his ears a break but was aiming for a 0.5U BID dose...however, he was giving me some low PS and/or nadir numbers that made me nervous to give him this full dose, so I tweaked it (0.5- being roughly 0.3ish I guess). Last night I actually fell asleep at +12, but woke up at +13.5 to do his shot and he was 166, after reaching 89 at +7 yesterday. And this after he ate a lot throughout the day, too. I did not give him a shot because, again, I'm afraid for those middle of the night lows and was not going to get up at nadir to do a check and feed, etc. So I skipped him and this morning 7hrs after he was supposed to have his shot, and after having eaten during this period too, he had only risen about 60 points to 234. So I shot him again but very teeny dose 0.25 (even slightly less than is 0.5- prior).
I didn't give him food for 3 hours because I wanted to see if this amount even had any effect or if he would spike, but now at +3 he has dropped another 60pts--to 160..so I've just given him 3oz of NAture's Variety Duck. (I have found by the way, that the NV seems to have very little effect on his BGs)
So any thoughts..is this remission underway? I"m going to get nervous if he keeps getting lower when it comes to shooting. I will go back and read my literature. I'm trying to hold the dose steady to allow for adjustment, but I just can't risk those really low numbers right now and I've seen him drop fast and by a lot on the small doses, so I'm feeling like I need to knock off a drop or two if I feel like there is a risk.
And no, have not checked for ketones.I do have the urine strips but can't seem to catch him in the act of peeing. I did buy the Precious Xtra meter but the two drugstores I went to did not have the ketone strips, have to special order, which I will, just haven't done so yet. But I think he is very happy, purring, wanting to be petted all the time; socializing and growling less with my cats, playing, eating great and peeing and pooping. His diarrhea is back, but then I cut back a little on the FortiFlora, am going to ramp it up again. Shane Sebastian has been with me a full week now...at the vet he was on Zeniquin and Tumil K...I saw that a side effect of Zeniquin is diarrhea, but then how long does that last? He's now going a lot, or uncontrolled, small amount of regular poop that are soft or past day, liquid...how long is that supposed to last and can it be something else?
He is on a steady diet of BG (Before Grain), Nature's Variety and Wellness (occ. Merrick).
Thanks for your feedback. Paws crossed, little guy is doing well!
Hi
Well Shane is doing really really well I think. I haven't posted in a few days because I wasn't doing full curves, wanted to give his ears a break but was aiming for a 0.5U BID dose...however, he was giving me some low PS and/or nadir numbers that made me nervous to give him this full dose, so I tweaked it (0.5- being roughly 0.3ish I guess). Last night I actually fell asleep at +12, but woke up at +13.5 to do his shot and he was 166, after reaching 89 at +7 yesterday. And this after he ate a lot throughout the day, too. I did not give him a shot because, again, I'm afraid for those middle of the night lows and was not going to get up at nadir to do a check and feed, etc. So I skipped him and this morning 7hrs after he was supposed to have his shot, and after having eaten during this period too, he had only risen about 60 points to 234. So I shot him again but very teeny dose 0.25 (even slightly less than is 0.5- prior).
I didn't give him food for 3 hours because I wanted to see if this amount even had any effect or if he would spike, but now at +3 he has dropped another 60pts--to 160..so I've just given him 3oz of NAture's Variety Duck. (I have found by the way, that the NV seems to have very little effect on his BGs)
So any thoughts..is this remission underway? I"m going to get nervous if he keeps getting lower when it comes to shooting. I will go back and read my literature. I'm trying to hold the dose steady to allow for adjustment, but I just can't risk those really low numbers right now and I've seen him drop fast and by a lot on the small doses, so I'm feeling like I need to knock off a drop or two if I feel like there is a risk.
And no, have not checked for ketones.I do have the urine strips but can't seem to catch him in the act of peeing. I did buy the Precious Xtra meter but the two drugstores I went to did not have the ketone strips, have to special order, which I will, just haven't done so yet. But I think he is very happy, purring, wanting to be petted all the time; socializing and growling less with my cats, playing, eating great and peeing and pooping. His diarrhea is back, but then I cut back a little on the FortiFlora, am going to ramp it up again. Shane Sebastian has been with me a full week now...at the vet he was on Zeniquin and Tumil K...I saw that a side effect of Zeniquin is diarrhea, but then how long does that last? He's now going a lot, or uncontrolled, small amount of regular poop that are soft or past day, liquid...how long is that supposed to last and can it be something else?
He is on a steady diet of BG (Before Grain), Nature's Variety and Wellness (occ. Merrick).
Thanks for your feedback. Paws crossed, little guy is doing well!