1/03/13 Angie PMBG=151 +2.5=81

Status
Not open for further replies.

GraceAndAngie

Member Since 2013
Good morning everyone,

I've been struggling to do the nights with Angie and last night I slept right through my alarms ohmygod_smile . I set an alarm to wake up at 1.25 am for her +4. From there I was going to decide what time to wake up next. She has an early nadir, ranging between +2 and +5. So anything could have happened to her last night - I was blissfully asleep.

Is there anything I can do, if I know that I need sleep, or if I have to go out during the day, to keep her in safe range? Skip insulin? Feed high carb wet food? Lower her dose?

By the way, I volunteer for snow shovelling for anybody!


Today:
AMPS -- 151, insulin 0.25


Yesterday recap:
AMPS -- 182, insulin 0.5 IU
+1 ---- 140
+3.25 - 52
+3.5 -- 59
+4.5 -- 43
+5 ---- 89
+6 ---- 101
+8 ---- 115
+10 --- 144
PMPS -- 130, insulin 0.25 IU
+2 ---- 126

Yesterday's condo is here.

Thanks for your help/stopping by.

My thoughts are with Angela and Jr. Mint. Big hugs.
 
Re: 1/03/13 AMPS=151 - what to do if I need to go out/sleep?

There really isn't a single good answer because in part, every cycle can be different. What you do under one set of circumstances may not be the best strategy the next time.

What will make decisions easier is to have data. For example, Gabby has an early nadir. If I go out with friends, I am usually home by +2 or +3 (or I stop home) to get a test. While I ordinarily feed at pre=shot, +1, +2, and +3, when I go out, I usually feed 3/4 of that cycle's meal. I also have a substantial amount of data that lets me know if this is a good strategy for that cycle. There have been times when I've given some high carb if I think the numbers are looking like they may drop and I want a buffer.

I'm also not good about responding to the alarm. I stay up. I am usually up until Gabby's +4 or +5. It's easier for me to stay awake than get up and test.

You may want to think about your shot time. Is it the best time for you to shoot? One of the things I did end up doing was moving my shot time an hour earlier. It allows me to get tests before I leave for work and to get those later PM tests.
 
Re: 1/03/13 AMPS=151 - what to do if I need to go out/sleep?

I have no advise except I started setting 2 alarms. 1 was my phone alarm and I would set it on vibrate and put it under my pillow. My whole pillow would vibrate and scare me, so not only did I get up but was wide awake.
Testing can be draining and stressfull < I know, ask anyone they'll tell you what crazy pants I am. But stay the course and be proactive. It will get easier and be more routine.
 
Re: 1/03/13 AMPS=151 - what to do if I need to go out/sleep?

Hi Sienne - Thanks for your help - I'm starting to get it, I think! I know that I've learned something because every day I realise that there's more that I don't know!

I am trying to move my shot time 3 hours earlier. But only by 15 mins at a time. I want to get it to 6 am/pm so that I can stay up for her pm tests easier. I'm used to going to be early so staying up till 2am has been quite a challenge. From her am data it's clear that what I'm doing at night isn't adequate. You've tried to tell me that before but I didn't properly understand the risk.

Hi Samantha - Two alarm clocks is a good plan (with one on the other side of the room) until I can transition her insulin time forward enough.
 
Re: 1/03/13 AMPS=151 +2=110 +4=68

There are two possibilities with regard to moving shot time in addition to the 15 min. twice a day time shift that you're doing. The option which I don't think will work given Angie's numbers, is to shoot early if numbers are high. Given where Angie's numbers typically are, they're too good for this to be safe.

The second option is to skip a shot and at the next shot time, shoot at your new, desired time. (You can think of it like a fur shot.) Obviously, this takes a lot less time and gets you on your preferred schedule much more quickly.

BTW, you may want to put Angie's name in your subject line.
 
Re: 1/03/13 Angie AMPS=151 +2=110 +4=68 +5=85 +10=151

Hi Sienne,

Fur shot it is! That idea is so relieving. I'm going to skip her insulin tonight, test one more time before I get an early night and wake up early tomorrow morning to start the new 6 am/pm regime.

Thanks for your constant support.
Grace
 
Re: 1/03/13 PMBG=151 +2.5=81 - no insulin, why drop?

So much for an early night.

Angie's PMBG was 151 (at 7.30 pm before dinner). Her +2 is 81 so that's quite a drop without insulin since 9 am. I'll keep testing to make sure she doesn't go low - but if she hasn't had insulin for 12 hours, can it keep going down? She ate all her dinner Is there a reason it can drop two hours after dinner without insulin?

I'm confused! :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 1/03/13 PMBG=151 +2.5=81 - no insulin, why drop?

I can't find any evidence of her throwing up and she's been in the same room as me.
 
Re: 1/03/13 PMBG=151 +2.5=56 - no insulin, why drop?

It sounds like Angie's pancreas is working a little. It is supposed to react to a food spike and lower the kitty's BG, which it looks like it did. That's good.
 
Re: 1/03/13 PMBG=151 +2.5=81 - no insulin, why drop?

I just spoke to Serryn (Vyktor's Mum) who said it could be her pancreas working and that she won't go hypo if I'm not giving insulin. So I'm off to bed.

Good night!
 
Re: 1/03/13 PMBG=151 +2.5=81 - no insulin, why drop?

Hi Dyana, thanks for the response. I was speaking to Serryn as you were replying. Two people telling me the same thing is good news! :) Grace
 
Re: 1/03/13 PMBG=151 +2.5=81

She still has a depot of insulin in her from the previous shots, I would test her again in 2 hours.
I had to buy extra alarm clocks and set one just outside of my bed room to get me up.
 
Re: 1/03/13 PMBG=151 +2.5=81

You're probably sleeping. I agree with Serryn and Dyana about Angie's pancreas working. Keep in mind, there's still some insulin available from Angie's depot.

Also -- remember to put Angie's name in your subject line!! She deserves credit for those good numbers.
 
Hi Dyana and Sienne,

Oops - name in subject line and caught sleeping again! Thanks for your help. I should be able to look after her better in the evenings no that her insulin is 6 am/pm.
 
hoping mr.p is working good job bean, angie lets get your system in check so mum can get some much needed rest
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top