09 Mar: Teasel (AT): AM 184 | +2 326 | PM 418

Status
Not open for further replies.
Already bouncing ... :stop: Not sure that 2.75 u keeps a lid on bouncing as well as 3 u but 3 u can also drop him too low even after being on it many cycles. If I can figure out how to get a skinny 3u consistently I might try that. He's one tricky cat!
 
Last edited:
Kris maybe try calipers to help you fine tune the dose as the syringes can be so irregular with the markings. They really helped me . If you want the link where to get them let me know.
 
Kris maybe try calipers to help you fine tune the dose as the syringes can be so irregular with the markings. They really helped me . If you want the link where to get them let me know.
Hi bobbie,

By all means send the link. I might have to go down the caliper road.
 
canadian tire is the type i got and if you watch and wait they come on for great sales of around $14 instead of the $40
http://www.canadiantire.ca/en/pdp/mastercraft-digital-caliper-0586800p.html#srp

also if you have a KMS tools they should carry them... and most likely Princess Auto

... they made a difference in Lincoln... 7.25 was too much... 7 not enough... got the calipers and turns out i was giving closer to 7.5... set the calipers for a 7.25 dose and Lincoln got into healing numbers and i was able to sleep without him diving in with the sharks... i would look into it as it seems you are having the same problem that one is too much and one not enough
 
7.25 was too much... 7 not enough... got the calipers and turns out i was giving closer to 7.5... set the calipers for a 7.25 dose and Lincoln got into healing numbers and i was able to sleep without him diving in with the sharks... i would look into it as it seems you are having the same problem that one is too much and one not enough

Not to mention the inconsistency in the syringe markings, so that 2.75 one day is more like 3.0, and another day maybe more like 2.5! I never used the caliper method myself, but I think it makes a lot of sense to try it for a sensitive kitty like Teasel.
 
@Kris & Teasel, I can't see your spreadsheet as I'm at work, but what worked for Frankie was not reacting to one low number and reducing immediately. I waited until he got 3 in 3 separate cycles before reducing. I'm not sure if the dose even helps with bouncing. Frankie bounced when he was on 5 units and also when he was on 2 units, just as high, until he got fed up and decided to stop being so dramatic.
 
@Kris & Teasel, I can't see your spreadsheet as I'm at work, but what worked for Frankie was not reacting to one low number and reducing immediately. I waited until he got 3 in 3 separate cycles before reducing. I'm not sure if the dose even helps with bouncing. Frankie bounced when he was on 5 units and also when he was on 2 units, just as high, until he got fed up and decided to stop being so dramatic.
Thanks, Sue. I know you understand dramatic cat responses. I could certainly try that. The dose reduction from 3.0 u back down to 2.75 u happened because of my NS on 03 Mar PM. I'm still learning my way through Lantus Land with a cat who doesn't follow standard procedures. I'd increased very slightly last night to a skinny 3.0 u and he rewarded me with a 3.2 this AM. Another NS. I know I'll have a better feel for how to handle these situations as time goes on but right now they're unnerving! :eek:
 
@Kris & Teasel. I know how unnerving an unpredictable cat can be, but as you are home to monitor, you can be a bit more daring. Frankie is unusual in that he takes at least 5 days to see what a dose can do. He used to do a double bounce before I could see the full effect of the dose.
 
@Kris & Teasel. I know how unnerving an unpredictable cat can be, but as you are home to monitor, you can be a bit more daring. Frankie is unusual in that he takes at least 5 days to see what a dose can do. He used to do a double bounce before I could see the full effect of the dose.
Nice to know I'm not alone with a very tricky cat, Sue! :) I'm learning that Teasel, too, needs more than 3 days on a dose to do his version of "settling". I also see that skipping a shot because of a very low PS scrambles him more and for longer than your "average" FD kitty (if such a thing exists ...).
 
Last edited:
Maybe try stalling without food next time you get a low pre shot. If he's rising after 30 minutes, then shoot. I tried not to skip too many shots but had to do a few 18 hour cycles. Frankie started throwing low preshots at me a few weeks before getting regulated, so you never know, maybe Teasel is reading the same instruction manual as Frankie. Lets hope so.
 
Maybe try stalling without food next time you get a low pre shot. If he's rising after 30 minutes, then shoot. I tried not to skip too many shots but had to do a few 18 hour cycles. Frankie started throwing low preshots at me a few weeks before getting regulated, so you never know, maybe Teasel is reading the same instruction manual as Frankie. Lets hope so.
Good tip. Could you please explain how you handled 18 hour cycles? Do you mean doses 18 hours apart and then a reversion to 12 hours apart?
 
Do you mean doses 18 hours apart and then a reversion to 12 hours apart?
Yes, that's exactly what I mean. Look at my spreadsheet from July 2016. There are also times where +11 is shown which was really proper test time, then PMPS is 30 mins later and you can see whether I shot or not depending if his numbers had increased. Then August last year he started getting regulated.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top