09/30/2022 Millie AMPS 405/+2 388/PMPS 352

Millie needs more insulin. Even with SLGS you are due for an increase. With the amount you are testing, you can follow TR. I would suggest that you ditch the dry food and switch to TR so you can get her to a good dose soon. With TR you can increase as often as every 3 days till you see nadirs below 200.
 
I know she's due for more but after my screw-up, when I forgot her shot and she was back in the 400's, I was counseled to hold tight on my Tuesday post, by Wendy & Niko, after you and tiffmaxee counseled to raise it. I am not comfortable doing TR because, on Friday through Sunday, I work all day and it's exhausting, so I'm not at the top of my game. I don't want her to suffer for my blunders. If I raise it on Monday, I have all week to monitor/test to my heart's content. If I read it correctly, the goal with SLGS is to stay on a dose for 7 days and try to get a flattened curve. She stays pretty even if she has snacks, so I just got a timed feeder and have another on the way. One for daytime and one for nighttime, turning to an empty compartment 2 hours before her AMPS and PMPS. Also, I know all cats react differently but she gets no more than 3 pieces of Young Again kibble as a treat after her tests. She lives for those. When I walk in the room, she runs over to her ottoman to get tested, so she can get that treat. Anyway, I have to go to work those 3 days and I have no backup. During those 3, I have little wiggle room to hold off on a shot and work my way back, in 15-minute increments. It's why I.chose SLGS. My incessant testing is because I find it fascinating and my vet doesn't question what I am doing.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top