09/30/13 Jerry AMPS 208 + 6 293

Status
Not open for further replies.

HappyCat

Member Since 2013
Highest AM NADIR since the 14th. Not being very cooperative for my first wedding anniversary but at least he's happy. cat(2)_steam
 
happy-first-anniversary_81acd622f084ea05310637f37e214853.jpg
 
Happy Anniversary Sarah! I hope you get to celebrate it in some way today.

Your last post on the 27th, Jerry hit a 40. According to the protocol, Jerry earned a .25U reduction that day.
Reducing the dose:

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit.
Since Jerry has been diabetic for less than one year, he is considered a newly diagnosed diabetic.
 
Thank you for the anniversary well wishes! :razz:
He's definitely newly diagnosed not yet 2 months in. Must've overlooked that he threw me into a bit of a frenzy. Definitely want to do what's best for him. How would I know that's the right dose? I've had to change it a lot and I'm never sure of when to do what. Thanks for the help!
 
Just to be on the same page sorry I worded that kind of weird. He seems higher at night than the day now. If I went down to 1.5 would that be a potential spike later? I think that may be his bounce now from that low just a guess so just curious if the reduction would be indicated too. Sorry.
 
I don't think you've changed Jerry's dose much at all. In fact, you want to evaluate how well the dose is working every 3 days:

[url=http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581:105rwand][b:105rwand]Tight Regulation Protocol sticky[/b][/url] said:
"General" Guidelines:
  • Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
  • Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
  • Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.

Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Reducing the dose:
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
  • If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
  • Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.

Many cats experience higher numbers at night. It's not all that unusual. There's no way to really know if any dose reduction will hold. It's always an educated try. You can try reducing. If the reduction doesn't hold, bring the dose back to 1.75u.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top