09/29 Wendy PMPS 440 (+3) 455 AMPS 501

Wendy and Eva

Member Since 2022
Wendy's PM +3 (455) was a bit higher than the PMPS 440. Therefore, I didn't continue to test again at night and gave her a break. Should I have tested 1 other time?

Yesterday (09/28/22), I gave 50ml of sub-q fluids and she perked up. However, she still drank a bit more water than usual, but not as much as not giving fluids.

Today Wendy threw up a bit right before the 2 hours no food time frame. She didn't look lethargic or wasn't acting abnormal. Her AMPS was 501 @ 3.5 units and today she ate half a bowl of raw beef liver (stopped feeding her liver 2 weeks ago due to shortage at the grocery stores). She also ate some wet food and groomed. She hasn't groomed in 2 days so that was a good sign :cat:.

How long should we continue with the same dose? I'll be testing throughout the day today.

Picture of Wendy below enjoying her liver.:coffee:

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-2-408-amps-524-new-dose.268989/#post-3003856

upload_2022-9-29_10-32-1.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-9-29_10-32-1.png
    upload_2022-9-29_10-32-1.png
    79 KB · Views: 107
Should I have tested 1 other time?

No, it probably wouldn't be necessary but if you happen to get up in the middle of the night for some reason, it's always a good idea to grab a test! A lot of us would drink a big glass of water in the evening so we "had to" get up. Once you really have testing down, you can do it without really fully waking up!

How long should we continue with the same dose? I'll be testing throughout the day today.

At least 6 cycles...maybe 8...will depend on her numbers.

Was the "throw up" mostly clear/yellow foamy liquid? A lot of cats will throw up when it gets close to feeding times. Their stomach knows food is coming soon so it starts to produce more acid and that acid can sometimes make them nauseous and they throw up.

Grooming is a good sign! Means they feel better!
 
No, it probably wouldn't be necessary but if you happen to get up in the middle of the night for some reason, it's always a good idea to grab a test! A lot of us would drink a big glass of water in the evening so we "had to" get up. Once you really have testing down, you can do it without really fully waking up!



At least 6 cycles...maybe 8...will depend on her numbers.

Was the "throw up" mostly clear/yellow foamy liquid? A lot of cats will throw up when it gets close to feeding times. Their stomach knows food is coming soon so it starts to produce more acid and that acid can sometimes make them nauseous and they throw up.

Grooming is a good sign! Means they feel better!

Hi Chris! The throw up was mostly pate food but it wasn't all that much. I'm still waiting for the vet to call back. I left another voicemail today.

I just tested Wendy AMPS +2 and it read HIGH then I tested again and it read 600 and I can tell she's feeling lousy. I usually give her a lick or two of her favorite wet treat (Hartz Delectables Squeeze Up) and she turned away from it. She also had 1 bite of her pate food then went directly to the water bowl. I

Should I be taking action and take her to the vet?

How I wish she could talk and tell me whats wrong :arghh:. Since we started this journey on 08/01/2022, I hardly ever leave my home. I run a business and have neglected it so that I can attend to Wendy. I love her so much and want to do everything humanly possible to get her better.
 
Last edited:
Have you gotten a ketones test in lately? I'd do it as soon as you can.

When a cat is in continuously high numbers (above 300) and it's not from a bounce, you can increase sooner than six cycles. Tonight is cycle six after the PM of the 26th, which is the last time you did not test at night, and the last possible time she might have gone low enough to cause a bounce. You've been doing a great job testing since then so we know she's been just in higher numbers. So, if you don't see anything below 300 tonight, you can increase to 4.0 units tomorrow morning.

How much raw liver does she get in a day? From what I've seen, it shouldn't be more than 10% of their food per day.
 
Should I be taking action and take her to the vet?

I agree with @Wendy&Neko .....I'd get a ketone test in. If it's anything over trace, she needs to be in an ER that can monitor her 24 hours.

I also agree to take her up to 4U tonight. Great job getting those PM tests in. They're just as important as the AM ones! I like comparing the spreadsheet to a puzzle. The more pieces you have sprinkled around, the easier it is to know what the whole picture is but if you only fill in pieces on the left side, you know there's a kitten, but you don't know if there's a daisy or a puppy on the other.
 
No, it probably wouldn't be necessary but if you happen to get up in the middle of the night for some reason, it's always a good idea to grab a test! A lot of us would drink a big glass of water in the evening so we "had to" get up. Once you really have testing down, you can do it without really fully waking up!



At least 6 cycles...maybe 8...will depend on her numbers.

Was the "throw up" mostly clear/yellow foamy liquid? A lot of cats will throw up when it gets close to feeding times. Their stomach knows food is coming soon so it starts to produce more acid and that acid can sometimes make them nauseous and they throw up.

Grooming is a good sign! Means they feel better!

Also, since she's at 600+, should I be testing her more often?

#Wendy & Nikki,
Have you gotten a ketones test in lately? I'd do it as soon as you can.

When a cat is in continuously high numbers (above 300) and it's not from a bounce, you can increase sooner than six cycles. Tonight is cycle six after the PM of the 26th, which is the last time you did not test at night, and the last possible time she might have gone low enough to cause a bounce. You've been doing a great job testing since then so we know she's been just in higher numbers. So, if you don't see anything below 300 tonight, you can increase to 4.0 units tomorrow morning.

How much raw liver does she get in a day? From what I've seen, it shouldn't be more than 10% of their food per day.


I just tested Wendy AMPS +5 (501) and also tested for ketones and there's no trace. She ate great after AM shot, but after hitting HIGH number, she stopped eating. I syringe fed her and gave sub-q fluids so that she won't decline.

Wendy normally eats less than 10% of liver. She will eat her wet food first and then eat some liver. I will test a couple of times after PM shot so we can see what's going on. If there's no improvement, I will increase the dose as you suggested.
 
I agree with @Wendy&Neko .....I'd get a ketone test in. If it's anything over trace, she needs to be in an ER that can monitor her 24 hours.

I also agree to take her up to 4U tonight. Great job getting those PM tests in. They're just as important as the AM ones! I like comparing the spreadsheet to a puzzle. The more pieces you have sprinkled around, the easier it is to know what the whole picture is but if you only fill in pieces on the left side, you know there's a kitten, but you don't know if there's a daisy or a puppy on the other.

Will do! Thank you both so much for helping me out. If it takes me a while to respond it's because I'm with Wendy. She's a bit of a diva and doesn't like to see me on the phone when shes eating.

I'm letting her rest for a bit before I try feeding her again.
 
Back
Top