09/29 Milo AMPS 122 vet today/+5 65/+10.5 99

Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha

Member Since 2020
Good morning everyone! I didn't even get a chance to post yesterday. Trying to juggle two cats, their concurrent illnesses, testing, work and the rest of life is proving to be a challenge....!

Good news all the way around. Both cats seem to be on the mend. Milo just finished his last antibiotic and is eating/drinking/urinating/pooping (missed the box, I think when BG was higher yesterday after reduction. Slightly more lethargic last night when he was in the yellows).

Singha is a different boy and back to himself, demanding food, snuggling, active, interactive, happy. BG is down to 90!!! Thank goodness for emergency antibiotics when we live so remotely and the vet is only part-time (3 days/week) He still has most of the week to complete his round of AventiClav. Do other kitties get sick like this very often? It's rare for Singha but this is the regular routine for Milo (1-2x year for the past 10 years) requiring antibiotics. He used to bounce back after the first 24 hours but it can take a bit longer now.

Have a great day everyone! Safe surfing

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/09-27-milo-and-singha-on-the-mend.236010/#post-2645696
 
Last edited:
That is a lot to juggle. I think you are doing a fab job! Glad to hear kitties are on the mend.
Anecdotally since you're asking, my cats over the years have never gotten sick like where they've needed an antibiotic on a 1-2x yearly basis. Butters usually gets sick a couple of times per year, but it has been sorted out at the vet with an anti-nausea drug for the most part. She has only had antibiotics associated with having dental work done.
Have a great day, Sam.
 
Thanks for all your input. Milo had some subcutaneous fluids today and the vet wants him to get a bit more potassium. They let me come and do his BG on my lunch break (he stayed for the day while I was at work next door.) He had dropped to 65 by +5 so I have him some MC I brought along just in case. The vet wants me to decrease his insulin right away but he’s not up on the TR so I nodded politely. (I have tried to explain it before but better to just smile and nod). He gave him Royal Canine Renal food which I wasn’t thrilled about (can’t find it in the food guide but I suspect HC... does anyone know???) but he’s only 99 at +10.5. I expect there will be a food bump since he ate and ate and ate all day right up until 4pm.
All in all, the vet is very pleased with his progress and will do his teeth next week.

No vet has ever really determined exactly why he gets sick requiring antibiotics often. They best explanation seemed to be that he’s immune compromised and as soon as something challenges his system, he goes down. I have left it too long to administer antibiotics and he has gotten VERY sick and almost died. So, we don’t fool around when he’s not well. 9.9/10 times AventiClav brings him back to health relatively quickly. It’s much more unusual for his brother to have any problem.

Have a good evening everyone!
 
That is a lot to juggle. I think you are doing a fab job! Glad to hear kitties are on the mend.
Anecdotally since you're asking, my cats over the years have never gotten sick like where they've needed an antibiotic on a 1-2x yearly basis. Butters usually gets sick a couple of times per year, but it has been sorted out at the vet with an anti-nausea drug for the most part. She has only had antibiotics associated with having dental work done.
Have a great day, Sam.
Thanks! I’ve never had animals requiring this much medical management. Not at all!! I thought two nice little kitties that came with needles, just get them neutered and we’d be good to go. Oh my.... Milo has used up wwaaayyyyyy more than his 9 lives and Singha gave me a bad scare with an obstruction last summer. Then we discovered the heart murmur and diabetes and confirmation that he was totally blind. Milo lost his hearing after a particularly aggressive round of intravenous antibiotics when we thought we were going to lose him. So, very special needs kitties, indeed. At least during COVID I’ve been able to be home and get them mostly sorted out with the diabetes. I hope you’re having a lovely day, Lyla, and that Butters is staying green for you!
 
Back
Top