09/28 Fergus AMPS 475 +3 302 +6 151

Dawnthebikegirl

Member Since 2021
Getting some blues finally, so that is exciting however some of Fergs AMPS and PMPS numbers are still in the reds.

I've run this dose (3.75) for 10 cycles now. I'm wondering if i should hold it or go up to 4.

I wonder if sometimes the high numbers are related to his stress level when he can't poop. Seems likely.

Anyway. If someone could weigh in that would be great. Thank you so much.
 
This appears to be your previous post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/2857985/
It is very helpful to reference your previous post in your current post so members can pick up on your story. Also, you may want to change from no prefix to ? in your title so anyone quickly scanning new posts can see you have a question. I believe protocol is to run a full 12 hour curve of bg tests every 2 hours or 18 hours if done every 3 when determining when to increase so you get an idea of how low the current dose is taking him. I’ll let others weigh in on dosing. You’re following TR, correct?.
 
Hi Dawn, tonight was cycle 10 on this dose. You are good for an increase to 4U from tomorrow morning.

Have you seen this website on feline constipation?
https://www.felineconstipation.org/

@Bama Kitty Mom The weekly curve is for SLGS where the CG cannot test so much every day. With TR, you get at least 1 more test per cycle in addition to the PS. With TR dose adjustments are as often as 3-5 days unlike SLGS where it is weekly.
 
Hi Dawn, tonight was cycle 10 on this dose. You are good for an increase to 4U from tomorrow morning.

Have you seen this website on feline constipation?
https://www.felineconstipation.org/

@Bama Kitty Mom The weekly curve is for SLGS where the CG cannot test so much every day. With TR, you get at least 1 more test per cycle in addition to the PS. With TR dose adjustments are as often as 3-5 days unlike SLGS where it is weekly.
Thanks for the clarification @Bandit's Mom
 
Thanks to both of you! I'll try to make my posts easier for people to follow. Thanks for the tips.

I did do a curve when I first put his dose up to 3.75. I've been trying to do TR, but somedays I can only get 4 tests.

I'm on several groups that deal with feline constipation, but it can't hurt to read up on another one. I've learned a lot. Thank you.

It's just that his body has been used to a high-fiber diet in the past. It might just take a while to re-adjust? There are a few people on here who have the same issue and I've talked to them too. It's just a steep learning curve for sure. A really shitty one.. (lol...no pun intended?)

Thanks again. I'll take Ferg up to 4 units tonight.
 
Back
Top