09/28 Bernie AMPS: 240, +4: 217, PMPS: 239 - dose increase question

Soon an increase is in order for Bernie...let's get him down out of that lemon tree!

Have a great day!

Thank you! And hah, you totally beat me to it, I agree! (Side note: Can I just say how much I love this forum and how grateful I am that everyone is so helpful!? What an amazing and welcoming group of humans - and kitties!) :cat::kiss:


Tonight was the 6th cycle at 2u, so I'll give her an increase in the morning. I do have a question about the increase, though.

[Quick recap: We switched from 2.75u ProZinc to 1u Lantus (dose suggested by vet) 1 week ago, but quickly skipped up to 2u with help from the group. Her BGL hasn't budged.]

I know TR increases and decreases in 0.25u increments, but since the 2u still seems way too low, should I increase her from 2u to 2.5u, as a second starting dose correction? Or should I only increase in 0.25u increments from here-on-out? I'll be home all day to monitor her. :cat:
 
should I increase her from 2u to 2.5u, as a second starting dose correction?

I'm never comfortable increasing by .5 when your kitty is in the yellows...or when you're already on such a low dose. Only high dose kitties increase by .5 units.

It may take just a nudge to get her into better numbers and you wouldn't want to pass by that dose on our way...it's only for 3 days if it's not enough...just take it slow and easy...
 
I'm never comfortable increasing by .5 when your kitty is in the yellows...or when you're already on such a low dose. Only high dose kitties increase by .5 units.

It may take just a nudge to get her into better numbers and you wouldn't want to pass by that dose on our way...it's only for 3 days if it's not enough...just take it slow and easy...

Okay, that makes sense! Thank you so much! 0.25u it is :)
 
Back
Top