09/27 Fistuk AMPS 103, +2 106, +4 79

Fistuk & Shelly

Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...5-59-4-5-59-5-5-52-6-5-68-7-5-76-9-86.281951/

Good morning :)

Wow. I slept quite well. I told myself before going to sleep that it's safe to leave the guard, that he'll be find :p Nevertheless I woke up at +6.5 so I tested and fed him.

He hasn't peed yet this morning :( I kept on giving him water with syringe yesterday and this morning.

The small mercy (actually a big one is that he has good appetite and eating by himself)

Lets see what the day brings :bighug:
 
Update: I wanted to add that Fistuk looked very well this morning. His face looked full and bright. He was in a good mood. He's terrified if the needle but I've gotten so good at shooting that it's over in a split of a second and he goes back to eating.

He had a good go on BF and was in the kitchen. His walk is still neuropathic like but not as bad as it was three days ago that got me alarmed. He's had a good session of grooming and since he was such a good boy he was allowed on my duvet and then covered by his favourite blanket :joyful:

The vet appointment for urine analyses is for Friday afternoon to give his bladder a chance to be fuller (rather than the original appointment that was scheduled for 9am). When he pees I'll take a free catch and bring it to the hospital for a check.

He's not going to the toilet trying to get something out so I wonder if he's not badly consitpated but just that his bowls are cleaned from the mess and maybe tonight he'll be more regular again (paws crossed)
:bighug:
 
EDIT:
I got confused! It was actually +2 :banghead:
...

+3 106

Looks like a quiet day today. I'll use it to pack the house :woot: Moving happens tomorrow

I'll take a +6
 
Last edited:
Shelly, this is great!
Good luck (not sure if that's the good term here) with your move tomorrow, i hope it goes as smoothly as possible. Are you moving very far? I hope Fistuk adapts fast, too.
 
upload_2023-9-27_10-36-56.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-9-27_10-36-56.jpeg
    upload_2023-9-27_10-36-56.jpeg
    94.3 KB · Views: 256
+9 77


Thank you all so much for your support and encouragement.
We're in the chaos of preparing for the move so I'll post briefly here and be with you in my heart and back here soon :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Fistuks number look great, I’m glad he is giving you a bit of a break :cat:
Hope everything goes smoothly with the move :bighug::bighug:
 
+2 83

Fistuk seems to be in pain. He doesn't want to eat. I took him to the toilet and he really screamed. he peed. but now he sits on the carpet close to the toilet and growling and making sounds of anger
 
Last edited:
Honestly I don't know what to do anymore.
He's just growling. I picked him up to the toilet again. he was screaming like hell. I put him in the litter box and he gave a bit of a poo, formed with a tail of mushy texture. Who I wiped him I think I saw a massive warm falling off his anus. I couldn't find it afterwards so I'm I doubt - did I see right?! But I think I did. How the hell did he get worms ? He's just looking for a place to hide
 
Hello. I have been reading through some of Fistuk's recent adventures (wow!) He's really doing great with his reduced doses, but you have been kept on your toes, haven't you? I'm wondering if he is taking an antibiotic now? His recent bloodwork shows a very high white blood cell count and also a high neutrophil count, indicating infection. Did he receive an antibiotic injection? Or are you currently giving him some antibiotics.

About the worms (well, maybe a worm?) Can you take his stool to the vet for a fecal analysis -- to make sure this is not what is wrong?
 
Hello. I have been reading through some of Fistuk's recent adventures (wow!) He's really doing great with his reduced doses, but you have been kept on your toes, haven't you? I'm wondering if he is taking an antibiotic now? His recent bloodwork shows a very high white blood cell count and also a high neutrophil count, indicating infection. Did he receive an antibiotic injection? Or are you currently giving him some antibiotics.

About the worms (well, maybe a worm?) Can you take his stool to the vet for a fecal analysis -- to make sure this is not what is wrong?

Hi Suzanne. Thanks for taking a look at Fistuk's data.

Yes we're going through the dark night of the soul here. It's like one moment things seem bright only to be turned the other moment. I am very happy he broke through the glucose toxicity and that he finds his was to a lower dose. We do need to figure out the digestion and infection problem-

The vet suspects kidney infection but wanted to do more tests before giving AB. I delivered a free coach urine today for analyses. I think results are tomorrow. We have a vet appointment on Friday to collect urine directly from the bladder.

I'll call tomorrow and ask to bring a stool for fecal analysis. I do wonder if I gave him constipation bc of too much psyllium husk :(

He's now exhausted. Went to sleep and finally seems relaxed. His respiratory rate seems normal again. I hope that in an hour or two he'll regain bit more balance and will be willing to eat as happened a few times before after a painful episode of bowl movements.
 
Fistuk turned a corner. And he ate.
This cat has 99 souls.
Whatever he was going through has moved through. He's still sensitive to touch in the belly and doesn't want to be move. At least he ate
 
Hi Suzanne. Thanks for taking a look at Fistuk's data.

Yes we're going through the dark night of the soul here. It's like one moment things seem bright only to be turned the other moment. I am very happy he broke through the glucose toxicity and that he finds his was to a lower dose. We do need to figure out the digestion and infection problem-

The vet suspects kidney infection but wanted to do more tests before giving AB. I delivered a free coach urine today for analyses. I think results are tomorrow. We have a vet appointment on Friday to collect urine directly from the bladder.

I'll call tomorrow and ask to bring a stool for fecal analysis. I do wonder if I gave him constipation bc of too much psyllium husk :(

He's now exhausted. Went to sleep and finally seems relaxed. His respiratory rate seems normal again. I hope that in an hour or two he'll regain bit more balance and will be willing to eat as happened a few times before after a painful episode of bowl movements.
Oh, I hope the vet will not delay any longer if a kidney infection is suspected. They can be very dangerous — and also take longer than the normal course of antibiotics to cure (4 weeks or more.) That could also be a source of pain.
 
I took Fistuk to the hospital. I can’t believe we’re here again. A bit demoralising. Not for ketones time, it’s true. But still. He was in so much pain he didn’t let me touch him it just didn’t make sense to keep on waiting for vets to wake up.
 
I took Fistuk to the hospital. I can’t believe we’re here again. A bit demoralising. Not for ketones time, it’s true. But still. He was in so much pain he didn’t let me touch him it just didn’t make sense to keep on waiting for vets to wake up.
Oh no. I'm sorry to read that. I hope they will soon find what is wrong and help him. Lots of thoughts for you :bighug:
 
Oh I do hope that they will be able to help Fistuk! Please keep us informed. We are all rooting and hoping for good things and praying for him and sending love and healing thoughts your way.
 
No kidney infection. Still no idea Where the infection comes
Oh I do hope that they will be able to help Fistuk! Please keep us informed. We are all rooting and hoping for good things and praying for him and sending love and healing thoughts your way.
thank you Suzanne. It warms my heart :bighug:
 
So the good news there’s no kidney infection. Vet still doesn’t know where the inflammation comes from. She said could be bacteria in the bladder or the gastrointestinal bacteria. The free catch urine I brought this morning was ok.
I had to keep him here so she could try and get urine from the bladder. He peed as she tried to examine him so there wasn’t anything left in the bladder. She will also do an ultrasound and check pancreatitis
I’ll know more in few hours

She couldn’t put the IV in bc he was poked so many times. I suggested that for the urine she could give SQ and asked she’d do it with syringe and a 21G needle as I do at home.
She also will give him anti nausea SQ to encourage him to eat. I told her he’s eating well with a syringe and she said they can do that
She measure his BG 5.8 (104) Which was close to what I tested at home before we left (108).
 
Sending lots of prayers to you and Fistuk, Shelly. I will be praying and watching you. You have so many people sending you positive vibes.
I’m so sorry you are going through such a difficult time. Warm hugs to you both :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Are they giving him a broad spectrum antibiotic? My boy Darcy sometimes had infections that they could not pinpoint. He would become sick and was put on antibiotics. Before this he had an infection of unknown origin and landed in the hospital for a week because the infection caused a serious DKA.
 
Back
Top