? 09/27/2022 Millie AMPS336/forgot dose UGH/+3 432/+4.5 491/+6 469/+9 416 PMPS: 424/+2 404

Heidi n' Millie and...

Member Since 2022
Yesterday: ? - 09/26/2022 Millie AMPS 284/1.25U/+2 378 +4 326 +6 373 +8.5 372 +10.25 388 PMPS 360 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

09/26 for the most part, pink across the board. Nadir seems to be 3 to 4 hours post shot. This is her 7th day of 1.25U, although we've had a couple of days with hiccups. SLGS says to stay on dose for at least 7 days, not to get in a hurry. I talked to my vet yesterday. I had sent SS on the 22nd, one day after starting 1.25. Yesterday, she suggested going to 1.5. Was puzzled at how she could recommend that since I sent her the SS one day after going to 1.25. Then, realized that the link was to the live spreadsheet and didn't change as I modified it. So, she was seeing current numbers. Yesterday I tested every 2 hours, for 18 hours, pink everywhere but either end. (Monday is curve day) Do I need to wait one more day to increase? Because I am off of work on Monday through Thursday, changes are better if made early in the week, so I can watch/test/modify. Using your advice, with vet's secondary. Thanks for your guidance.
 
I think you can increase a day early looking at her spreadsheet if that works better for you given there’s not a question that it’s needed. Nice to see some yellow unless you see a blue nadir.
 
It seems like I am sliding into dementia or something. Just about the time I get organized, and on track here, other stuff creeps in and overwhelms. I had a lot going on this morning, got all my stuff ready, tested, asked my questions, got answers, fed Millie, waited to see if she was going to eat, then promptly forgot to give her shot. I didn't realize until I was puzzled when she tested 432 at +3. UGH. Obviously, she doesn't get the shot and I have to get back on track. We decided to up her to 1.5. Do I now wait another day? Do it tomorrow, like I planned? Wait to see the readings from today/tomorrow? Decide how many times to kick myself in the butt?? I now know not to get everything ready all at once, break it down into steps, maybe set 2 alarms 10 minutes apart. Don't let the other crap intrude (well, that's an obvious choice.) Damn.
 
You can shoot any time. Since you essentially skipped this morning's shot, the next one just has to be at least 12 hours after the first one. Pick a time that works for you for the new preshot time.

As for an increase, the answer is no. You got a 115 on the 23rd and that 89 too days ago. Plus there has been some skips and a 1 unit dose in there due to the 89, which you weren't sure if it was real. Lantus is a depot style insulin, it needs time at a dose to see what it can do. The pinks you are seeing could be bounces in reaction to those lower numbers. Time for patience. I would stick with 1.25 units for a bit, to see if those lower numbers you are seeing are real. Next time you get a lower test, test again so we can tell if it's right.
 
Thanks. Since I work all day on Friday/Saturday/Sunday, I have to be pretty on track with timing, and don't have a lot of wiggle room walking dosing times, 15 minutes at a time, back beyond an hour or so. Millie is a grazer, which is great with Lantus when I don't screw up. She can't graze when I work and I don't want to have that affect her numbers. I have ordered a timed feeder with freezer packs, so she can graze and will then leave the last compartment empty and set for 2 hours before her shot, thus ensuring that she has nothing before her shot, even if I forget to pick up her bowl. I'm sure it will eventually become a routine...can't wait for eventually.
 
PMPS 424. High but glad it didn't skyrocket. Millie is the proud new owner of a timed feeder, with 5 compartments and ice packs. Hopefully, it will level out the days when I am gone all day. She loves her Sheba Perfect Portion pates. Also, a ketone blood meter...just in case.
PMPS +2-404/+4-314/+9-374
 
Last edited:
Back
Top