09/26 Blackie AMPS 328 +3.5 127 +6 91 +8.5 103 PM 118 +5 262

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=25892&p=260577#p260577

I had 2 incidences when I was drawing the insulin into the syringe, and wasted 2 syringes because of it. The first time, and despite my best efforts, there were 2 huge air pockets in the syringe... one between the insulin and the needle, and the other between the insulin and the plunger. I wasted a lot of insulin that time (approx. 3 units' worth if you don't include the air pillows). Pulled out another syringe, tried again... Nope. This time, I had a huge air pillow between the needle and the syringe, and wasted about a unit of insulin. Pulled out another syringe. 3rd time's the charm, but I still had a bubble in it, so I compromised and drew another drop.

The protocol says to never push the insulin back into the vial (or whatever) as it'll ruin the insulin. I went according to the protocol. I hate wasting this insulin. It's too expensive to waste. I never have any luck with bubbles. Yes, I tried the tapping method to get the bubbles to go to the needle so that I can remove them. It never works.

Simply put, I wasted insulin and needles this morning.
 
Re: 09/26 Blackie AMPS 328

Hi Angela

been there, done that.
But sometimes, I would practice a bit more with my used syringes, to work on those bubbles.
As for putting insulin back into the vial, I would rather waste a bit here and there than risk the chance of ruining my entire vial.

I could get away with a tiny pesky bubble, but the big ones, I tried my best to make them pop.

How is Blackie doing?
 
Re: 09/26 Blackie AMPS 328

Angela,

What brand syringes are you using? Some are more prone to bubbles than others. I had trouble with BDs. Less trouble with GNPs.

Also, before drawing insulin, I move the plunger on the syringe in and out a couple of times, just to get it moving smoothly.
 
Re: 09/26 Blackie AMPS 328

Angela,

Venita's suggestion about moving the plunger in and out a few times before drawing the insulin really helps.

I bookmarked a really good post by Sienne about drawing insulin. Maybe some of the tips will be helpful to you, they were to me! viewtopic.php?f=9&t=25593#p257638

I hate wasting insulin and syringes too!
 
Re: 09/26 Blackie AMPS 328 +3.5 127 +6 91 +8.5 103

nice numbers today. :smile:

I've been having bubble trouble lately too. I have had the best luck with the Wal-Mart syringes.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top