09/25 Fistuk AMPS 106, +3 104, +6 103, +10 148, PMPS 157

Fistuk & Shelly

Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-40-4-59-5-88-9-70-11-95.281884/#post-3107874

Good morning :)

The night was more or less uneventful. Just woken up in panic once feeling I forgot to put the alarm to test him, I couldn't remember whether I needed to test him or not. Woke up a second time by Fistuk to feed him.

This morning he ate really nicely and was happy to stay in the kitchen for breakfast. Even came to me to the counter where I prepare the food to kind of meow impatiently and excitedly as he used to do. He stood for eating. The only thing is that he gets angry at being shot so he goes back to bed but he relaxes quickly and continues to eat.

I do wonder why his stance is glitchy again and his walk is drunken like. I thought that with lower numbers the neuropathy will become better where it seems to have retreated after we saw an improvement.

I haven't noticed any twitching like two days ago yet from what I read on the internet the numb-like back legs could be lack of potassium. I called the vet to ask about blood work and am waiting for a call back
 
Good to hear that he is eating well! I think it has been a couple of days since you gave him Ondansetron?

Neuropathy can take some time to resolve for some cats. He has been in good numbers only a week now.

It will be good if you can get the labs from the vet so you can check his potassium levels:
http://felinecrf.org/potassium.htm#symptoms_low
 
Good to hear that he is eating well! I think it has been a couple of days since you gave him Ondansetron?

Neuropathy can take some time to resolve for some cats. He has been in good numbers only a week now.

It will be good if you can get the labs from the vet so you can check his potassium levels:
http://felinecrf.org/potassium.htm#symptoms_low
YEs, it's been two day without Ondansetron (which I really think didn't do anything to him and I'm also wondering of its contribution to loos stool)

Thanks for the symptom list. he does have the twitching and all the symptoms she names under weakness of back legs. Should I try to call the local vet see if they could take me in just for blood work?

Could there be a withdrawal with neuropathy ? Because he was a bit better

I'll take a +3
 
+3 104
I think Fistuk got the idea that sometimes surfing is nice, not just bungee jumping :woot:

He's eating very well. Looks he's adorable familiar cuteness (until I'll destroy it with going to the vet :banghead:)

I'll give hime a break with testing and will take a +9
 
I was just thinking, I'll take a +6 bc that'll be right before going to the vet. Going to the vet is going to be very stressful for him so I want to see what he's doing with the dose before getting into the stress machine
A check before you leave is a good idea, Georges BG would go up significantly at the vets though it comes down promptly once he is home.

Good luck with the visit.
 
A day late but I'm also celebrating three weeks since last hospital (where did those days go???was I here? :banghead:) with no ketones. I had that as. mark because it was three weeks after the first show of ketones that we were back to the hospital. we're in a different realm since the last episode.

I wish I had written here sooner, right after diagnosis and started TR sooner. But it' not a complaint bc I think Fistuk is doing a great job. Just appreciating the wisdom here an in this protocol
 
A check before you leave is a good idea, Georges BG would go up significantly at the vets though it comes down promptly once he is home.

Good luck with the visit.
Thanks, Gill.

We're going to the local vet just for blood work which is only 5 minutes drive. Hopefully it'll be an easy one for him. He responds very badly to car trips and to vets
 
It is rewarding for us to see his improvement compared to after the first ER visit. He is such a good boy and you have done a wonderful job with him Shelly. I’m hoping you are managing to get some decent sleep now as you certainly need it. So far he’s looking good with the 2 units and I’m sure he is feeling better not having to have all that honey and HC food. (Anti-jinx anti-jinx)
 
Hi Shelly, best of luck at the vet today. I think many of us can relate to the vet trip stresses. Fistuk is looking good.
So glad he’s acting more like your cuddly inquisitive kitty again.
you’re doing an incredible job taking care of him!!
Have a safe, great day. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
It is rewarding for us to see his improvement compared to after the first ER visit. He is such a good boy and you have done a wonderful job with him Shelly. I’m hoping you are managing to get some decent sleep now as you certainly need it. So far he’s looking good with the 2 units and I’m sure he is feeling better not having to have all that honey and HC food. (Anti-jinx anti-jinx)
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I just got the blood tests by email so I'll fill in the data on the SS lab tab.

But on the whole the vet said that potassium is in good levels. The only thing she noticed was a bit of inflammation - maybe it comes from the kidneys, maybe from the gastro, maybe the cat flu (I think she s^ran out of maybes at that point). I asked if there's a way to eliminate and know the cause she said no.

Her suggestion was to wait and see how he's doing. When I asked if he needs AB she said she'd rather wait. Maybe it comes from the diarrhoea. But it could be that diarrhoea comes from inflammation I said - Maybe...

I'm not at all happy to give AB. It gives him diarrhoea. Always ! But if he does have inflammation that needs to be under control I think it needs to be treated.

I asked he to send the results to the hospital too so tomorrow I'll call and ask what's best to do. But before I do that I'm much more interested to hear what you have to suggest.

+6 103
+10 148 (post vet)

Still eating nicely. haven't had poo yet. he seems to like doing that at night soI'm waiting patiently

I do appreciate that the vet let me in with him when she took the blood. But it was heart breaking. He was crying, shacking, yowling, drooling, and really screaming when the needle went in to collect blood. He peed. He was just so so miserable. But I appreciate being there and helping him holding hr and not turning my back to the way he's suffering. he's now attached to my leg on the bed under the cover, regaining some sense of safety
 
+1 155
I'm wondering if he's just staying flat or going down. I wanted to have another plan today. To check his +1 and see an indication of up or down and then decide if to take +3 or +4

I think perhaps a +4 or +5. any suggestions?
 
I'm so so happy to hear that Fistuk's has such a good appetite and you are seeing more of your sweet boy. Aww he was under the covers with you. Give him kisses for me and big hugs for you. You are doing such an amazing job Shelly :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
 
The wbc is elevated which means inflammation or possible infection. Neutrophils elevated as well which could be a sign of the same. I think it might be from the diarrhea and since feeling better not pursue this and see if all returns to normal when next tested as long as doing well. @Bron and Sheba (GA) Thoughts?
 
The wbc is elevated which means inflammation or possible infection. Neutrophils elevated as well which could be a sign of the same. I think it might be from the diarrhea and since feeling better not pursue this and see if all returns to normal when next tested as long as doing well. @Bron and Sheba (GA) Thoughts?
There are a few abnormal results suggesting either possible infection, inflammation or something else. The WCC is very high as is the amylase and neutrophils, and the lymphocytes are low. I’m going to tag @Suzanne & Darcy to have a look.
 
The wbc is elevated which means inflammation or possible infection. Neutrophils elevated as well which could be a sign of the same. I think it might be from the diarrhea and since feeling better not pursue this and see if all returns to normal when next tested as long as doing well. @Bron and Sheba (GA) Thoughts?
That's in aline with what the vet said. She suggested blood work in 2-3 months.
 
Back
Top