09/25 Bernie AMPS: 245, +3.5: 242, +9.5: 288, PMPS: 297

Megan and Bernie

Member Since 2020
09/24 condo

So far, so good today! No bounces from the increase last night (*knock on wood*), hooray! She woke me up 10min before my alarm went off to let me know she was ready for breakfast, my sassy lil lady haha!

I’m still learning how to do the daily condos - I tried copying and pasting the replies to last night’s posts into today’s condo to avoid commenting on an old condo, not sure if I did it correctly? Hopefully they show up properly! :joyful:

Hello and welcome Megan and Bernie! That definitely is one pile of floof. :)

I would have suggested you start Bernie on something more like 2.5 units of Lantus - we take the dose of the existing insulin into consideration when switching. Take this from someone whose vet suggested that I start back at 1 unit when I started Lantus and it took me months to make up the time. :banghead: I am glad you increased, though typically we hold initial doses longer to build the depot.
Thank you so much!! Oh dang, I thought 1u seemed kind of low! Should I hold the 1.25 dose longer than the 6 cycles to make up for increasing too early (assuming she’ll need an increase in 6 cycles)?

One more thing, you may here it from more than me, but I find the 1/2 hour columns make the spreadsheet hard to read.
Thank you for the suggestion! I’ll work on cleaning her SS up this afternoon :)
 
Good morning Megan! Love your chart comparisons of the AT2 vs Relion!

As Wendy mentioned yesterday, your SS is kinda hard to read at a glance...

I'll stop back after you've had a chance to normalize it for us regular beans who just want to scroll through quickly to see how the numbers look.

Have a great day! I'm off to work...always rushing...rushing, rushing. :)
 
Good job on the post today!
Should I hold the 1.25 dose longer than the 6 cycles to make up for increasing too early
Definitely not. You started on too low a Lantus dose so sooner rather than later would be best for the increase. And I think I'd actually suggest a larger increase than normal, just to try to get you up to nearer the dose you were with Prozinc. If you are up for it and monitor, I'd go to 2 units right away. That is, if you can monitor closely this weekend.
 
Good morning Megan! Love your chart comparisons of the AT2 vs Relion!
Thank you so much! My vet was really set on the AT2, but it's so dang expensive! I use the ReliOn for all Bernie's dosing, with the except of I think maybe twice(??) the AT2 read much lower than the ReliOn so I used it for a reduction. I initially started using it to just give my vet pre-shots and occasional nadirs, but now I'm kind of hooked on having 2 meters - especially to confirm wonky numbers when my Bernie girl bounces ;)


I'll stop back after you've had a chance to normalize it for us regular beans who just want to scroll through quickly to see how the numbers look.
I took off all the 1/2 hour marks from the SS, hopefully it's easier to read now! Are the food rows alright? She can be finicky with food, so I've been using it to try to figure out how the insulin affects her based off how much she's eaten.


Good job on the post today!
Definitely not. You started on too low a Lantus dose so sooner rather than later would be best for the increase. And I think I'd actually suggest a larger increase than normal, just to try to get you up to nearer the dose you were with Prozinc. If you are up for it and monitor, I'd go to 2 units right away. That is, if you can monitor closely this weekend.
Ooh, I'm definitely up for it! I had already dosed her tonight prior to seeing this, but I'll up her to 2u in the AM. She hasn't had the best appetite these past few days, but I'm sure if my BGL was elevated, I wouldn't be hungry either. Hopefully it gets her feeling better! Thank you for the suggestion! :smuggrin::smuggrin:
 
You may want to take a look at how some of the others who track the food carefully so it doesn't interfere so much with the BG readings 'at a glance'...

@Butters & Lyla have done an excellent job of tracking the food given and when - look in the notes on the right hand side.

There are several others who do that as well; it's helpful to look back to see what food was given and when as far as the subsequent BG's go....and helps you get a 'smooth' look when you start to see those flat numbers.

I'm glad you're going to use the Relion..personally I don't know why anyone wants to use the AT2 in the first place - except the vets all recommend them which for my 2 cents is another shortcoming of most vets....first they know so little about FD, and then make recommendations they don't understand impose an awful financial burden to 99% of cat parents...I suppose if you have unlimited funds and want to spend it on strips, as they say, 'it's a free country'...but that's not how I prefer to spend my hard earned cash...I'd rather spend it on more food varieties, better litter, etc. for Miss Luci...and that list goes on and on...
 
Back
Top