09/24 J.D. AMPS 317, +2.5 367, +3.5 Vet, +6 369

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dyana

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's Condo

I thought I should finally open a condo today, although I'm not very excited with his numbers.
J.D. ate breffis #1 at AMPS, and #2 at +1.5. His vet apt. was at +3.5. I put him in the carrier and he didn't fight me or cry. I picked up the carrier and as I went to set it out on the cement porch, I noticed a fountain of pee coming out of the front of the hard plastic carrier and landing on the cement. When he was finally done peeing, then he started to cry. It is a 3 minute drive to the vet, and usually J.D. pees on the way, this time, he just had to go the very second I put him into the carrier. I told him what a silly boy he was.

I told my vet that I would like to get a prescription for Adequan and he said yes. He also said that he has only used Adequan on horses and dogs, and never cats. He brought his book out and it said that it (the canine version) should only be given intramuscular and by a veterinarian, unless the owner can be taught how to give the injection. He gave J.D. 12 ml? (the prescription says 0.12 ml 1/ M (I think)) of the canine Adequan. He spent a bit of time showing me how to hold the back leg and where to put the shot into the top of the muscle, just above the knee area.

I got home and quickly logged onto Foster and Smith and bought a vial of equine Adequan. They said it was illegal for me to fax in the prescription, being the customer, and I had to have my vet do that, or have him call in the prescription, or else I could mail it in. I figured mailing in the prescription would take too long, as he should have another shot in a week, right? So, I called my vet's office back, and they told me that they do not normally do that (call in prescriptions), and that I should go to Staple's and fax it in myself?, or mail it. I told them that I was told that faxing it myself was illegal and that mailing it would take too long to get the drug in time for next week's shot. So I asked for J.D.'s vet to call me back. He did, and was able to call in the prescription, so hopefully it will arrive now by end of next week or so.

Is the dosage for the equine Adequan the same as for the canine Adequan?
Also, I thought we would need bigger needles/syringes, but he tested the Adequan with an insulin syringe and it worked just fine, so that's the plan is to use an insulin syringe for the Adequan. Now, for me to learn to give the IM shots.. nailbite_smile

J.D. has been very hungry since we got home. He's always happy when he's on his way home from the vet's office.
 
JD you look much better in yellow and blue and need to ditch the pink. Hope he comes down for you soon!!

I only have experience with adequan for our dog and it is intramuscular. However, I know that Amy (& Trixie) uses it for her civvie. She is doing subquentous (spelling?) shots and not intramuscular and uses a different needle. Hopefully she will come on after work and be able to give you some advice on it.

Have a wonderful weekend!!
 
Hi Dyana-

I'm at work right now and then have to go food shopping after that, but when I get home this evening (probably around 7:00 or so) I'll send you the exact "going home" information my vet gave me....Mario's dosage/freqency and the needle info. I'm wondering if the dosage your vet recommended is high enough. I don't know the formula, but I'm pretty sure it's determined based on weight. Mario was about 13lbs, and his dosage is .30ml (I think). I know it was more than what he gave J.D. today.

The protocol we followed is:
Twice a week for 4 weeks (We did Tuesdays and Fridays)
Once a week for 4 weeks
Every other week for 4 weeks
Once a month for the duration.

However, I can see that the effects of the shot are wearing off Mario at the end of 2 weeks, so I've been holding at the "every other week" stage for a few extra weeks so far.

I don't think there's a difference between equine and canine adequan; according to my vet, the difference is only in the labeling. The first time I got adequan, it was canine; the second it was equine. I was concerned about the possible difference in potency, so I called the vet before dosing, and they told me it was just a difference in packagine.

Adequan does NOT have to be given intramuscularly. You can do it as a SubQ shot in the scruff, just like insulin. I'm sure the insulin needles would work, but with a larger needle, you'll get the dose in more quickly.

I'll get more info to ya this evening!

Amy
 
Thanks Amy.
My vet got the dose by reading the vet? drug? book. J.D. is a little less than 14 pounds.
He seems to be standing up higher on his hind legs, already. As always, he followed me to the refrigerator, looking for treats (there's sliced steak in there), and he was reaching a good 6 inches higher to grab the piece from my hand. I don't know if it's just my imagination.

I just gave him some R because it's +9 and he's 362...just floating along in the pinks (which is not for boys, J.D.!).

I'm going to take the cats outside for a good walk, as this is my only day off until next Saturday, and I like to get them out as much as possible when I can.

bbl.
 
According to what I see online, both canine Adequan and equine Adequan come in a concentration of 100 mg/ml (please confirm this with the packaging when it arrives).

I am reading that Adequan is usually dosed at 5 mg per kg for cats.
At 14 pounds, J.D. weighs 6.36 kg.
The dose at 5 mg/kg would be 31.8 (say 32) mg.
At 100 mg per ml, the dose in mls would be .32 ml.
I think that your vet is being very conservative with the dose. It looks like he is dosing approx 2 mg/kg. I wonder if he is confusing the dose per pound vs the dose per kg, or if he is just being very cautious.

Pinkerton weighs 5.3 kg (11.6 pounds) and he gets .28 ml of Adequan.
e.t.a. Pinkerton's instructions were twice weekly for one month, then once weekly for one month, then once every 3 - 4 weeks as needed.

I have always given it sub-Q, at the direction of my vet. If you are able to give it IM, and want to do that, there would be nothing wrong with that.

See this post on the topic. If you scroll down to the 7th post, Jess and Earl gives her opinion on dose, sub Q injections, and using an insulin needle.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?p=378418
 
I just double-checked Mario's info...like I said, he weighs about 13 lbs, his dose is 0.3mL, and the syringe we use is a 1cc/mL with a 25 guage needle that is 5/8" long.

Just my opinion, but I think you do want to give J.D. more than what the vet did today, and follow the protocol for the loading dose. If you do increase J.D.'s dose, you make want to consider the larger syringes, since - as I mentioned earlier - you'll be able to get it into him more quickly.

Glad to hear he already seems to be feeling better from it! Initially, I think it took Mario a couple shots to show noticeable improvement, but now I can see that he's feeling better just a few hours after his shots.
 
Thanks Linda, for the link.

I just received an email from Foster and Smith and the prescription has been authorized and will be shipped out...hopefully on Monday. There will be some Freeze Dried Chicken Treats in that package, too, J.D. and some yucky toothpaste.

I guess I'll go with the twice a week for 4 (to 6?) weeks, and start as soon as the vial arrives.


TrixieCat said:
I just double-checked Mario's info...like I said, he weighs about 13 lbs, his dose is 0.3mL, and the syringe we use is a 1cc/mL with a 25 guage needle that is 5/8" long.

Just my opinion, but I think you do want to give J.D. more than what the vet did today, and follow the protocol for the loading dose. If you do increase J.D.'s dose, you make want to consider the larger syringes, since - as I mentioned earlier - you'll be able to get it into him more quickly.

Glad to hear he already seems to be feeling better from it! Initially, I think it took Mario a couple shots to show noticeable improvement, but now I can see that he's feeling better just a few hours after his shots.

So, I'll go with 30 units which will then fill an insulin syringe. That is a lot more than the 12 units the vet showed me.
You're right, it would be easier with a bigger syringe.
Pardon me, If you already answered this previously and I ask again, but where did you get your 25G syringes? Because my vet was going to write out a prescription for them, and then tried the insulin syringe and it (the 12 units he had in there) looked fine and he said it pushed through the syringe with ease, but if I need more, than maybe it won't. Can you get the bigger syringes from WalMart? My vet said not to re-use them, so I guess I should get a box of 100.
 
My vet supplied me with the larger syringes. I would assume you could get them at any local pharmacy with a script...

The protocol we followed was twice a week for 4 weeks, then once a week for 4 weeks, then every other week for 4 weeks (which is where we are currently holding)...

I had to print out calendars and write everything out in advance in order to properly keep track of it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top