09/24 Ivana AMPS=317, +4=275, +7=299, +10=277, PMPS=272, +2=302, +4=317

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tara & Ivana (GA)

Member Since 2015
Yesterday's post

I've set the automatic feeder to open at AM+5 and PM+5. It's just opened at AM+5 and Ivana slept through the whole mechanical turning and recorded voice of me calling out "Ivana, dinnertime!" Hopefully she will be hungry from only having half of her breakfast, and venture out to investigate.
 
Try feeding her all her meals out of it for a couple of days so she "gets" what it is for. Then set it up to use as an automatic feeder. At the moment she doesn't know what it is for.
What has happened is very common. She will get it. She is a quick learner.
 
Yeah, I bet once she figures out that that "thing" holds food, she'll have no problems watching and listening for it to open!!!

I wouldn't hold that 1U dose much longer....I know you're waiting for her to use the feeder to make the total switch to TR, but we don't want her hanging out in those higher numbers too much longer either.
 
Bron she has got it sussed - She watched me put her meal in there and close it up, so she knows it's in there. And yesterday I put her in front of it when it opened (see pic) so she'd associate the noise of it and my voice with getting food. She ventured into the kitchen about an hour after it opened today, so not bad :-)
2015-09-23 08.12.06.jpg
 
Also - are there any differences between the protocol in the sticky notes and the one in the document it's based on? If not, I'm going to use the one in the document as it has same measurements I'm used to using (info in table 3).
 
Yeah, I didn't mean to do it tonight Tara....the next time you can be home to watch her!

We just don't want them staying too long at a dose that's not getting them where we want them to be since it can encourage glucose toxicity, but safety is always first around here
 
He sure is :-) The other day I asked him if he wanted to read that journal article, and he said "No, you're doing a great job of managing her diabetes, so you just tell me what to do and I'll do it" He's a keeper :-)
 
Haha nope sorry!

So when we increase her dose, is the cycle we do it in that we need to watch her, or the next couple of cycles? Ie. if we increase Saturday PM, do we need to monitor her Saturday night or will it take longer to possibly have an effect and we won't see anything til Sunday?
 
No easy answer to that...generally, the first cycle isn't too exciting because there can be some New Dose Wonkiness and you're just starting to increase the depot, so most of the time, that first cycle is pretty safe

But there's always exceptions!
 
So when we increase her dose, is the cycle we do it in that we need to watch her, or the next couple of cycles? Ie. if we increase Saturday PM, do we need to monitor her Saturday night or will it take longer to possibly have an effect and we won't see anything til Sunday?
Neko reliably shows me what a new dose can do somewhere between first and sixth cycle after an increase. :rolleyes: It's a case of ECID and sometimes cats like to be different every time. You did see action the first cycle of going up to 1.5u, but we really don't have enough data on Ivana to see if she's predictable.
 
Good point re Ivana's last rise Wendy, maybe we will increase on Sunday morning just incase. I can't be up all night on Saturday as I'm working all day Sunday so that's probably safer. Far out, so many decisions!
 
Sure would be nice if we could just get them to read the rulebook, wouldn't it?

OK Ivana...the dosecrease threat is out there....better do something soon! Mama's getting an itchy trigger finger!
 
+4 is higher than the PMPS - is that ok? I noticed it's happened a couple of times before, though I thought the insulin would be working by now? Or I guess the insulin is keeping her from being sky-high maybe.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top