09/24 Bernie AMPS: 254, +7: 255, PMPS: 275

Megan and Bernie

Member Since 2020
Previous post

Hi, all!

Bernie and I are new to the Lantus forum, so I wanted to introduce my floofy baby!
upload_2020-9-24_18-27-50.jpeg


My husband is the love of her life, but how could I blame her!? She follows him everywhere, it’s adorable :)
upload_2020-9-24_18-27-31.jpeg


She’s always been around 10 pounds, but back in January, she started losing weight rapidly. I brought her in to her vet and all her labs were normal, except her BGL, cholesterol, and triglycerides, and was told she’s diabetic.

We’ve been on ProZinc since her diagnosis and finally made the jump to Lantus this past week. We were initially doing SLGS, but had much better success with MPM and lots of help from Deb! She was up to 3f (this baby loooves to bounce, so I was increasing her in fat doses), but earned a few reductions. Her last dose on ProZinc was 2.75u, but I’m not entirely sure her insulin was still good. Her civvie brother threw a temper tantrum after I refused to feed him seventeenth dinner ;) and unplugged the mini fridge I kept her insulin in. It was only warm for about 12 hours and should’ve still been good, but her numbers were all off after that point (her Lantus is now kept in the main fridge haha!).

The vet wanted us to start at 1u of Lantus - the last 6 cycles, she’s been flat as can be, right around 250 mg/dL, so I did her first increase tonight to 1.25u (these syringe markings are so much smaller than the U-40s, holy smokes 0.25u is hard to see!!). We shall see where this dose takes us!

I’m looking forward to this new adventure with Lantus and hope it will help get her numbers more regulated :smuggrin:
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-9-24_18-27-31.jpeg
    upload_2020-9-24_18-27-31.jpeg
    34.9 KB · Views: 45
  • upload_2020-9-24_18-27-50.jpeg
    upload_2020-9-24_18-27-50.jpeg
    80.3 KB · Views: 47
Hello and welcome Megan and Bernie! That definitely is one pile of floof. :)

I would have suggested you start Bernie on something more like 2.5 units of Lantus - we take the dose of the existing insulin into consideration when switching. Take this from someone whose vet suggested that I start back at 1 unit when I started Lantus and it took me months to make up the time. :banghead: I am glad you increased, though typically we hold initial doses longer to build the depot.
 
One more thing, you may here it from more than me, but I find the 1/2 hour columns make the spreadsheet hard to read. It's wider and hard to fit an entire day into the screen, but challenges how my brain has been wired to see 24 hours/columns in days worth of data. You can stack numbers in the same cell. So for example, you could put 212, 192@5.5 in the same cell to reflect readings on the half hour.
 
Back
Top