09/23 Ivana AMPS=286, +2=266, +3=238, +8=268, +11=338, PMPS=328, +2=313, +4=324

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tara & Ivana (GA)

Member Since 2015
Yesterday's post

Ok, I'm stumped. Is there a reason why, when Ivana has been on 1u for 15 cycles now (though that includes a fur shot), she had one really good day with greens, one ok day with blues, and then the rest have been yellows, pinks and even a couple of reds? What is it that makes a day great as opposed to not so great, when the dose is the same? Diabetes, I don't get you.
 
With a fur shot the count starts all over. She had enough of a depot going to give you lots of green and then either bounced from not being used to those numbers and/ or the fur shot caused her to head back up. Then to add to the confusion they don't always absorb the insulin as well. So many variables make it confusing.
 
What Elise said.
Looking at the SS she does look a bit bouncy, especially adding in that fur shot. The effects of the missed shot can take a day or two to show up, too. Martian has often been low in the evening after I skipped his morning shot, but higher the next day. Some cats can take three or four days to catch up again. We don't have enough data on Ivana yet to know how she responds.
Put on those patience pants, keep doing what you're doing, and wait for her to even out again.
 
Patience pants... what are those? haha. I'm just not understanding why some days are good and other days are not good, when nothing else (obvious to me) has changed. Even counting from the fur shot onwards, she's still had 10 cycles at the same dose after that. What would cause changes in insulin absorption rate, and is there anything we can do to try to keep it even?

I'm starting the TR protocol which I'm reading works on nadirs, and her nadirs are so different on different days that I don't know which one I should be looking at in order to decide if there's a dosage change. Eg. from the furshot onwards (18th), most of her nadirs are in the range of 200-300, so according to TR I would increase the dose by 0.25. But then what about the two days in there where she went green and blue, does that come into consideration? If I increase her dose and she would have had a green day anyway, would the extra cause her to hypo? Or should I just wait until she's *consistently* in the 200-300 range?

Sorry if those questions sound pedantic, I'm just so scared of doing the wrong thing. Her hypo last week has still got me nervous about increasing the dose.
 
I'm starting the TR protocol which I'm reading works on nadirs, and her nadirs are so different on different days that I don't know which one I should be looking at in order to decide if there's a dosage change. Eg. from the furshot onwards (18th), most of her nadirs are in the range of 200-300, so according to TR I would increase the dose by 0.25. But then what about the two days in there where she went green and blue, does that come into consideration? If I increase her dose and she would have had a green day anyway, would the extra cause her to hypo? Or should I just wait until she's *consistently* in the 200-300 range?
You look at answering the question "how low can the cat go on this dose?". And you don't pay as much attention to the high cycles immediately after a fur shot, because the depot will not be stable. And don't look at the nadirs of cycles where she is bouncing. For this dose, Ivana did get into the 70's once. Let's see if she can do it again. Often a flat yellow cycle will be followed by one a more active cycle. I'm curious to see what she does tonight.
 
I'd give a couple more cycles, for a total of 10 cycles after those greens, to see if you can see green again. So if you don't see any more by tomorrow, I think you can go up to 1.25 U. But I'd do it on a cycle you can monitor.
 
Good plan. That will mean doing it on Monday then. Will continue on the same path till then and re-evaluate after the weekend. Thanks!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top