? 09/22 - Woody AMPS 270, + 8 216. + PMPS 306 dosage Q

Mimik

Member Since 2024
Hello Ladies,
It's been a bit since I've asked a dosage question, so here goes. Woody, has been pretty good ( well really good) for the last few mos. after he went through those three major hypo events way back in July - it seemed that was his turning point for his pancreas to kick into accepting the help ( insulin) - lately his #'s have been climbing ( from time to time ) I'm wondering is this usual -- he's not bouncing ( doesn't seem like his #'s are reflecting bouncing patterns) -- I had him at 3 U's twice a day for a while in July and he was doing super swell. And then things started to go back up a bit since then - From what I've read here ( found some old threads) it's telling me maybe not that unusual - But, I'd like to ask in case things have changed ( theory wise) as the threads were some years old -- should I take him (from) 3.75 to 4 U's - or would it be safer to do more testing during the day ) as you can see I'm only testing him 3-4 times during a cycle -- on a foot note. Woody continues to make huge strides to feeling better. Playing, A LOT, asserting his alpha personality again with the rest of the Gatos here - eating on his own for the first time in his whole life -- instead of being syringe fed wet food. And looking so so much better -- On a food related topic -- I keep reading all the intel on the young again dry kibby for cats. I have read "more" than not people saying their cats get terrible diarrhea, or gastro upset -- he still climbs into the other kitties bowls once in a while -- I typically am very on top of this, but he does cheat a bit from time to time -- it's never more than a teaspoon when he does -- he simply just wants to "crunch" okay, thanks for the listen.
 
Hello Ladies,
It's been a bit since I've asked a dosage question, so here goes. Woody, has been pretty good ( well really good) for the last few mos. after he went through those three major hypo events way back in July - it seemed that was his turning point for his pancreas to kick into accepting the help ( insulin) - lately his #'s have been climbing ( from time to time ) I'm wondering is this usual -- he's not bouncing ( doesn't seem like his #'s are reflecting bouncing patterns) -- I had him at 3 U's twice a day for a while in July and he was doing super swell. And then things started to go back up a bit since then - From what I've read here ( found some old threads) it's telling me maybe not that unusual - But, I'd like to ask in case things have changed ( theory wise) as the threads were some years old -- should I take him (from) 3.75 to 4 U's - or would it be safer to do more testing during the day ) as you can see I'm only testing him 3-4 times during a cycle -- on a foot note. Woody continues to make huge strides to feeling better. Playing, A LOT, asserting his alpha personality again with the rest of the Gatos here - eating on his own for the first time in his whole life -- instead of being syringe fed wet food. And looking so so much better -- On a food related topic -- I keep reading all the intel on the young again dry kibby for cats. I have read "more" than not people saying their cats get terrible diarrhea, or gastro upset -- he still climbs into the other kitties bowls once in a while -- I typically am very on top of this, but he does cheat a bit from time to time -- it's never more than a teaspoon when he does -- he simply just wants to "crunch" okay, thanks for the listen.
@Wendy&Neko
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Bandit's Mom
 
Great report on how Woody is feeling/behaving.:)

On August 13th on 3.5 units, he got down to 43. Why did you increase instead of decrease his dose? For newly diagnosed cats (less than 1 year since diagnosis), the reduction point is below 50, or 3 times between 40 and 49 if kitty is not holding reductions well. What are you using for reduction criteria for Woody now?

When the glucose meter malfunctioned recently, did you skip the shots? If so, could you put "skip" in the Units cell so we know you skipped instead of just forgetting to enter the data.
 
Hi Ladies and thanks for the responses -- I did not reduce because Woody's #'s ( aside from mid day, here and there) his #'s seem to be going higher again --- I "suppose" my logic was increasing his insulin a bit would bring down the higher numbers, which has happened in the paste with him when I did. I also read a bunch of threads that spoke to kitties getting nice numbers and then they start to climb again --- perhaps, I am "yet again" confused up --- Wendy - the only times I have reduced his insulin is when he's been hypo --- since I have been since higher sugars my mind went to a bump "up" When the meter broke I still injected his insulin -- I did not stop -- Woody just does not seem to be able to hold green for any length of time at all -- even if nothing changes ( route, feeding, etc....) getting him the green zone more is something I totally cannot figure out -- okay, many thanks,
 
When the meter broke I still injected his insulin -- I did not stop
Even if you couldn't get a preshot test, could you still put the value for the units given in the Units cell. With the depot nature of Lantus, we need to know if a shot was given or skipped when helping with dosing.
 
Good Morning Wendy -- I did that ( updated ) dosage for day meter was not being used -- I am thinking about trying Woody on Levemir insulin -- realizing it's going to be going off the market in the US. I will ask around ( vet) and Mark ( pharmacy in Vancouver) if he's heard anything. I have not been happy with Woody's #'s for some time now -- I am following the TR protocol, food and lifestyle changes and I am not seeing a vast improvement going forward -- -- maybe, the idea would be to try a different insulin for a period of time and go from there -- I met a gal, here where I live, who said she had "initial" success with Lantus -- after about four mos. she noticed numbers going higher and not staying in the green on a consistent basis. She moved to levemir and has been on with her kitty since last year and she's seeing her kitty in green for some months now. I think that anything is worth a try. I have read several of your posts on this insulin Wendy --- okay, thanks,
 
Don't bother asking Mark's - unless it's your regular pharmacy. Any pharmacy will do. I've heard the vials won't be available, but the cartridges will be.

Remember it's ECID, what works for one persons cat may or may not work with Woody. Also, unless you can get tests in the back half of the PM cycle when the nadirs will likely occur, Levemir might not be a great option for you.
 
Back
Top