09/21 J.D. PMPS 464 not feeling as good

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dyana

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's Condo - Pancreatitis Diagnosis

Last Night:
441 PMPS
204 +3
119 +4
88 +5
84 +6
I fell deep asleep after that +6 and didn't wake up to any alarms.
390 +9.5

At +10, he got his Flagyl and Pepcid.
I gave him his Bupe, Ondansetron, and Denamarin at AMPS. He ate his 1st Breffis and most of Ginger's 1st Breffis. He is currently out on the deck in the cool foggy morning where the sky is just beginning to lighten.

I have some morning plans today, so will be back on later this afternoon.

No poos from J.D. since yesterday while out on our walk.
 
Re: 09/21 J.D. AMPS 592, +3 HI

Sounds like J.D. is enjoying watching the sunrise.
I hope he comes down soon. Maybe after a good poo...

Enjoy your day, Dyana!
 
Re: 09/21 J.D. AMPS 592, +3 HI

He just finished his 4th Breffis. I think he likes this bupe, because he is more active and seems happier.

I think he wants to leave me a prezzie as he keeps going in and out of the litter box. Ah there he goes. Oh, only pee.

12lbs 0.5oz this morning.
 
Re: 09/21 J.D. AMPS 592, +3 HI

Morning Dyana ~O) ~O) ~O)

What a nice set of greens yesterday for JD. I hope he will come back down soon for you. Ugh on that +3. Think down JD!

Have a great day today.
 
Re: 09/21 J.D. AMPS 592, +3 HI

Hi Dyana,
I'm sorry about yesterday's pancratitis diagnose.
J.D. is lucky he has you.
You are so good and skilled at dealing with inappetence.
(Your advice has helped Lucy greatly in the past too.)

I'm glad bupe is working, and he's eating well.
I'm sending lots of vines to J.D. that he continues to improve.
And poo vines too.
 
Re: 09/21 J.D. AMPS 592, +3 HI

Thanks. He hasn't pooed today, yet, but I think that is okay. It means his diarrhea is getting better.
He has been eating a lot and I have been letting him. I hope that is okay, too.
 
Re: 09/21 J.D. AMPS 592, +3 HI

(((Dyana)))
I am SO sorry about the Pancreatitis....
I am sure you read this link http://www.idexx.com/pubwebresources/pd ... atitis.pdf
Right?
Anyway, I read all that I could find about this and both my two have had it....Shadow is the one who got it twice and I have been miserable all this time with watching him. He had the vomiting bile on an empty stomach....and hairballs too. I was SO upset when he would upchuck a hairball and then not want to eat. I did give him Pepcid twice a day at noon and midnight. The, the Ondansetron thanks to your advice. And the Cypro too.
Well, I finally took him off all the meds....and he seems to be doing better now.... I am soooo thankful!!!

It is a strange condition because you can't just do ONE thing and have it miraculously cure them. It reoccurs also....and I guess it kinda slowly subsides.
Well, I find it totally awful and I am so sorry that you guys are dealing with it now. They do say that autopsies show that most cats SO suffer from it even if their caregivers are not aware of any attacks in the past. I hope his appetite is okay for you.....that is about the only thing that I had trouble with...

Sending healing vines for him....and hopes that he continues to eat well.....
He is so lucky to have YOU though Dyana.....you are such a great Bean and you are a wonderful nurse too!
Feel better J.D.....!!! A million HUGS to the three of yous.... :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
I guess I jinxed myself, because J.D. was active this morning.
Last night or rather this morning at 4:00am he did seem out of it when he walked and I figured it was the bupe. He was much better in the morning. This afternoon, he is more kind of laying looking like he's uncomfortable.
I gave him his Bupe at +8, Cyanocobalamin at +9, Flagyl at +11, and his Azodyl, Pepcid, Ondansetron, and Cyproheptadine at PMPS. I only gave him 1/6 of a can of FF at PMPS and 1/6 of a can at +1.25.
He could use your well wishes vines through this.

Thanks Pat for posting. It's so nice to see you. I remember how helpless I felt when he had it before in March of 2012.
I didn't give him so much bupe back then.

I just want my boy to feel good more and in pain less.
 
Dyana.....I'm so glad J.D. presented you with a solid poop. That's encouraging.
Oh, how I hate to hear that he's sick and in pain.
Sending prayers and healing vines to your sweet boy.
 
Dyana.....I'm so glad J.D. presented you with a solid poop. That's encouraging.
Oh, how I hate to hear that he's sick and in pain.
Sending prayers and healing vines to your sweet boy.
 
Thanks ladies. I think I'll give him some baby food squash with his next meal in 10 minutes.

It's starting to get humid here, and I just turned back on the air conditioner. I'll have to close the windows next.

Oh, there he is. He got up from the bathroom floor to come out to where I am and eat Ginger's uneaten meal. I guess I'll get him some squash next meal. He's looking good walking around right now. Blech, I hate this on again off again. Feel better everyday, J.D. Beat this pancreatitis flare quickly.
 
Dyana -

So sorry to hear J.D. is feeling poorly. Hardey says he wants to send lots of purrs his way...

Good thoughts coming from Florida for you guys.

Also, I'm curious... when you give the Denamarin, do you give it to him on an empty stomach (after 3 hours of no eating) and then wait an hour to feed him? I have a heck of a time fitting the pill it into Hardey's busy eating schedule. I miss it more than I like... There has to be a way to get it in more....
 
Dear Dyana, River has panc too, and the bupe really helps. I think that when they get the right meds, it helps tremendously with the inflammation. Sounds like you're doing a great job.
 
Dyana --

You may want to think about when you're giving the bupe. It sounds like J.D. feels better after he gets the bupe. You could reduce the dose and give the bupe every 8 hours if you think that might help. It can be important to get ahead of the pain.
 
Mary Alice, I give J.D. his Denamarin in the morning at AMPS. I often do not know if or when he got up during the night and ate. And he gets fed right then at AMPS as I have to make sure he eats in the 1.5 hours I have between AMPS and the time I have to walk out the door for work. We do the best we can.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
Dyana --

You may want to think about when you're giving the bupe. It sounds like J.D. feels better after he gets the bupe. You could reduce the dose and give the bupe every 8 hours if you think that might help. It can be important to get ahead of the pain.

He got it yesterday at 2:30pm and 10:00pm.
Today at 6:15am, at 2:15pm, and will get it again at 10:00pm.
Tomorrow, I will take him to work with me and will again give it at 6:00am, 2:00pm, and 10:00pm.
Monday through Friday it will have to be 6:00am and 6:00pm. That's the best I can do.

So, today when I said he was feeling better, and then afterward when he wasn't so much, he was fully medicated I think. And, I usually halve the dose the doctor prescribes (last time I gave 0.05), but have been giving the full dose of 0.10 this time.

I think I'll bring his bed with me to work tomorrow, so he is more comfortable.
 
Piling on more getting better and feeling better vines for JD. And :YMHUG: :YMHUG: for you Dyana.
 
Sending many more healing vines for JD.

Adding to want Sienne said, you can dose bupe every six hours. You just have to reduce the dose to give it more often.

His phosphorus is great! The optimim range of cats over 12 is up to 4.5.
 
'Evening Dyana,

Sending more healing and feel better vines to J.D.
Checkers got his bupe every 6 hours. As Sienne suggested, (and also told me for Checks), it's better to keep ahead of the pain, than to try to catch up. It worked much better for him.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top