09/21 Blaze AMPS 6.2/112

Blaze and Paola

Member Since 2020
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/09-20-blaze-amps-5-6-100.235614/page-2#post-2640276

@Critter Mom @tiffmaxee @Red & Rover (GA)

Good morning everyone,

Blaze still has diarrhea and I think he is a bit nauseous as well. Last night he didn't eat. this morning he is eating and I was able to sprinkle the flora powder on his food and he is taking it. I hope the probiotic helps his tummy.

Going to email the vet for more powder and for an antinausea med.

As we discussed, I will skip the dose today.

I have physio for my back after school and will be home later than usual but will be testing as soon as I get home. He was still in good numbers this morning.
 
20 minute break at work...yes, I emailed the vet and neighbour will be going at my house at 1 pm today. I feel so bad for him...he follows me everywhere now to let me know he is not well.
 
At least last night I slept through soundly I needed it. I was literally drained. The vet replied saying as soon as a doc comes in, she will let them know about this.
I honestly don't feel confident with this vet office. The things they say, they don't reply promptly most of the times...I just have a gut feeling of not trusting them. They are new, only reason I went to them is because they are 5 minutes from my house and the boys are self destructive and terrified in the car. The old vet was great and knew the boys since they were kitten but he is 25 minutes away from home. He used to to home visits but with covid he stopped. I have decided to contact my old vet and he said to send Blaze's records and he will talk to me so I can get his opinion too.
 
Go with your gut. I’d go back to the old vet and save the new office for when you can’t get to the other one. Or use old one and find another close one to use as needed. Trust is so important.
 
Yes, I agree, thought about the same thing. I am going to wait for them to give me what I need and have been waiting for...test strips, nausea meds and flora packets then I will ask to have their records moved back to my old vet's office.
 
Good afternoon, ladies.

Sorry for not being on earlier but at least I knew you had a game plan in place for this morning, Paola. (Didn't get any sleep last night - afraid I wouldn't be able to wake up to get Lúnasa to the vets first thing this morning. Fell asleep after getting her dropped off.)

I'm sorry to hear Blaze's tum is still upset. (((Blaze)))

Your old vet sounds good, Paola. I second Elise's suggestions above, and agree that trust is so important - even more so with all the covid restrictions. He might even be able to give you a second opinion on Blazes' teeth and gums.


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
Yes, I am waiting for them to send a receipt as a claim to my insurance and then I am transferring everything over. We will deal with the car ride when the times comes. I do not trust these people, they ignore my requests, they are full of excuses and they don't call me back. It's a gut feeling of insecurity that I get, I can't trust them. When I brought Ash to get his blood test, they tortured him. They counld't find a vein, it was horrible to watch. 3 assistants to the vet, and a full 20 minutes of torture.
 
Blaze still has diarrhea, I went and checked...I hope he doesn't have pancreatitis...the blood test we did at the end of August didn't show any. His levels are great even with 2 skipped doses of insulin but he is not really eating that much either. The plan tonight is to give him his drop?
 
Neighbour came but now Ash has now become a full blown guard cat. As soon as she opens the door and comes in, he goes the entrance and growls at her. To the point where she does not feel ok to come in...so trying to get her to give a little food to blaze midday is becoming a challenge.
 
I’m not so sure I would give any insulin if he’s got diarrhea and not eating. I’m concerned he could get dehydrated which has nothing to do with the insulin issue. Any chance you could see your old vet today?
 
I cannot see him today unfortunately, they close in 10 min and he is 25 min away. I am seeing him either Wed or Thursday after the current vet office sends Blaze's last medical records
 
Wondering if you can get medication from current vet if diarrhea continues. How many times a day is it happening?
 
yes I am stopping there tomorrow after school to get what I need, he will give it to me. I stopped by this office after work after sending an 8 AM email requesting the feline probiotic flora and the nausea med...went there at 4:30 PM...lots of time in between...and they said the doctor didn't have time to look at the request
 
I hope so...He seems hungry as well...I wasn't sure if I was going to give him insulin tonight so I am waiting for the official feeding time which is in 40 min..i don't want them to get off the schedule
 
But with upset stomach I agree that he no insulin is the best bet. Plus this is giving me a chance to see how he does without it...which has been pretty good actually
 
Blaze ate a lot tonight...he was starving, I hope he doesnt throw it all up or that his diarrhea get worse. I have an ear out for vomiting sounds or gurgling poos...ew.
But the good news is that he ate all of the flora powder for his tummy
 
He just had more diarrhea, but a little puddle...not as much as the each of the times he went yesterday. But still diarrhea... :(
 
Hi Paola,

I'm so sorry to hear that Blaze's digestive system woes are continuing. I am glad to hear that you're able to get in to see the vet you like. Keeping fingers and paws crossed for a good consultation and for him to give Blaze something to help with the GI upset.

Blaze ate a lot tonight...he was starving,
Did he eat anything after the PMPS tests over the last two evenings? I ask because on both evenings the next BG reading was lower, even though no insulin was given. Usually this is a sign of the pancreas releasing a pulse of stored insulin in response to the food intake, and an indication that the cat may potentially be going into diabetic remission. (HUGE ANTI-JINX).


Mogs
.
 
Hi Mogs :bighug:

No, he hadn't eaten anything after the last 2 PMPS nights. That's why I still tested even though he wasn't given any insulin...i wanted to see the levels.

Super duper anti-jinx indeed
 
Back
Top