09/20 Eddie AMPS 218 +2.5 317 +7 347 PMPS 347 +3.5 428 +9 301

The spreadsheet says 218 for AMPS. I was about to be amazed that both boys had the same AMPS, though darn close! Good luck at the vet today. Remember, IAA is also part of the picture.

Did you get any tests after that +2 last night? Like I've mentioned before, a test that early on Levemir is not enough. Onset isn't until later. Let me put it another way. Levemir action is typically a couple hours later than that of Lantus. Getting a +2 on Levemir is like only getting a preshot on Lantus. It gives you no idea how low he went in a cycle, specifically last night. You need to get a test somewhere between onset (+3 for him) and preshot. Given that he was only slowly rising to +2, I'd expect there was some action last night, and would have at least gotten a +4. And his bounce at +2.5 this morning confirms he went lower.
 
The spreadsheet says 218 for AMPS. I was about to be amazed that both boys had the same AMPS, though darn close! Good luck at the vet today. Remember, IAA is also part of the picture.

Did you get any tests after that +2 last night? Like I've mentioned before, a test that early on Levemir is not enough. Onset isn't until later. Let me put it another way. Levemir action is typically a couple hours later than that of Lantus. Getting a +2 on Levemir is like only getting a preshot on Lantus. It gives you no idea how low he went in a cycle, specifically last night. You need to get a test somewhere between onset (+3 for him) and preshot. Given that he was only slowly rising to +2, I'd expect there was some action last night, and would have at least gotten a +4. And his bounce at +2.5 this morning confirms he went lower.
Oh, sheesh, thanks for catching that. It happens sometime that I get crossover when I'm trying to fill in the data while juggling other tasks. I just noticed that in fact when I went to fill in the +7 343 so I changed the AMPS.
And, yes, getting a +2 or 2.5 seems to result in a number higher than AMPS or PMPS for that matter. Got to get a better balance between testing the two cats.
 
How did the vet appointments go today?
Blue's visit with flying colours. The vet said he makes having zero teeth look natural. With the exception of one stitch yet to be resorbed, he is totally healed.
Eddie's visit was more focussed on his spreadsheet and the consistently high numbers that when coupled with his IGF-1 strongly suggests tumour activity. The vet said it would probably make him feel better to increase his dose again. There will be more to come.
 
Back
Top