09/18 Blackie AMPS 338; +2.5 181; PMPS 278

Status
Not open for further replies.
You're right -- it's hard to tell if Blackie is bouncing. It's kind of a good news/bad news thing. The good news is that Blackie is seeing blues on a much more regular basis. (Which given what the beginning of your SS looks like is a very welcome change!) The bad news is that there may be some bouncing involved. I'm guessing that Blackie is seeing some blues at night and bouncing into pink by morning. For many cats, the AMPS is a tough number to come down. It's a result of the body releasing cortisol in the hours before waking as a means of preparing the stress of the day.

I hope the stress resolves itself soon. Hang in there.
 
Dose Increase? Re: 09/18 Blackie AMPS 338 +2.5 181 PMPS 278

Thanks, ladies.

I'm pretty sure that she's feeling our stress of the situation. I know that one of my cats, who's normally standoffish 99% of the time, has been seeking me out to try and comfort me. She does this when I'm stressed over an approaching storm that has the potential to becoming extremely severe. She'll also seek me out when she first wakes up, too. It's very cute, and so is she.

So, yes, I'm thinking it's the stress. Animals are extremely inuitive... Probably more so than we give them credit for.

On that note... Do I increase her dose tomorrow morning to 4.75u and potentially risk a hypo, or do I leave her for a bit longer, and see if things change?

Yes, I've bolded that question for ya'll to see in case it gets missed in the reading.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top