09/17 Regs +2 282 +6 194 +8 154 AMPS 479 +6 357 Hello Bounce

Britta and Regs

Member Since 2026
Regs has such a good day yesterday, low numbers happy kitty, at night he had a good drop and I already started getting a bit nervous but I did not do anything to see where it would be going in preparation with the upcoming trip and he went straight into a bounce. With that numbers I did not expect a bounce that bad though.
Not sure if I should be sad, if I should have fed him (I feel guilty) or a bit relieved that in case he is dropping a lot his body manages it somehow and does not go into hypo(I know we were still way over).

Lets hope the bounce breaks quick

Regs, as always, is pretty unimpressed
IMG_8274.jpeg
IMG_8359.jpeg
 
Regs has such a good day yesterday, low numbers happy kitty, at night he had a good drop and I already started getting a bit nervous but I did not do anything to see where it would be going in preparation with the upcoming trip and he went straight into a bounce. With that numbers I did not expect a bounce that bad though.
Not sure if I should be sad, if I should have fed him (I feel guilty) or a bit relieved that in case he is dropping a lot his body manages it somehow and does not go into hypo(I know we were still way over).

Lets hope the bounce breaks quick

Regs, as always, is pretty unimpressed
View attachment 80323View attachment 80322
He's so beautiful, I love his very bushy tail! :bighug:
Bounce expected from nice blue numbers. He needs to get used to lovely blues again!

Have a gentle slide down Regs! 🌊 🐈 🥰 :cat:
 
What a handsome boy! I always struggle with feeding Moonie +8 or +9 snacks too - I know it cuts insulin duration short to feed after +6, but at the same time, she can bounce pretty hard towards the end of her cycle.

I'm glad this experience helped you feel better about Regs going into the blues before your vacation!

I hope he comes down for you gently today 💚

For whatever it's worth, when Moonie bounces, she shows flat yellows and blues (pinks in the beginning) for anywhere from 1-6 cycles (most typically 3-4). Moonie's bounce breaks typically happen towards the end of the cycle (vs her typical nadir) and bounce breaks tend to produce much stronger downward movement (cycle is more active than normal). So please don't be too alarmed if you see a much lower than expected preshot at some point, and you may not want to increase Regs' dose until you see the bounce break (since an increased dose can make the downward movement even stronger if it goes into a bounce break). All cats are different so Regs may be different but sharing what Moonie does in case helpful :)
 
He's so beautiful, I love his very bushy tail! :bighug:
Bounce expected from nice blue numbers. He needs to get used to lovely blues again!

Have a gentle slide down Regs! 🌊 🐈 🥰 :cat:
Thank you so much Staci! The problem is Regs knows he is pretty and sometimes acts like a tiny spoiled brat 😂
Ivy has long fur too so I’m sure you know you find the hairs everywhere.

After I saw the numbers yesterday and last night I assumed he would bounce, but I was surprised how strong it was.

I hope he will slowly get lower today or tomorrow😊
 
What a handsome boy! I always struggle with feeding Moonie +8 or +9 snacks too - I know it cuts insulin duration short to feed after +6, but at the same time, she can bounce pretty hard towards the end of her cycle.

I'm glad this experience helped you feel better about Regs going into the blues before your vacation!

I hope he comes down for you gently today 💚

For whatever it's worth, when Moonie bounces, she shows flat yellows and blues (pinks in the beginning) for anywhere from 1-6 cycles (most typically 3-4). Moonie's bounce breaks typically happen towards the end of the cycle (vs her typical nadir) and bounce breaks tend to produce much stronger downward movement (cycle is more active than normal). So please don't be too alarmed if you see a much lower than expected preshot at some point, and you may not want to increase Regs' dose until you see the bounce break (since an increased dose can make the downward movement even stronger if it goes into a bounce break). All cats are different so Regs may be different but sharing what Moonie does in case helpful :)
Thanks so much Connie 🥰 I hope the numbers getting a bit better today.

At the moment I’m really not sure if I’m going next week and Rob thankfully accepted that. On one side I’m super excited to go and after all that happened recently, I would love some days without worrying, but I would never forgive me if something would happen to Regs in that time.

But I’m a bit calmer to see that his body would work against a steep drop. I know it’s not always the case though.

Regs tend to drop late so I assume when the bounce breaks it will be late in the cycle. I just hope he will break before the weekend. That I have a couple more cycles to see his numbers bounce free. And I hope that the bounce breaking cycle will not go too low, because, even if you warned me, I would be worried about him. Or he would bounce right back up 🙄

I will not mess with his insulin amount until we are back from the trip. His fructosamine is still incredible high, I think it was 480, so we have to work on his glucose levels but I would not want to change anything before we go.
 
Thanks so much Connie 🥰 I hope the numbers getting a bit better today.

At the moment I’m really not sure if I’m going next week and Rob thankfully accepted that. On one side I’m super excited to go and after all that happened recently, I would love some days without worrying, but I would never forgive me if something would happen to Regs in that time.

But I’m a bit calmer to see that his body would work against a steep drop. I know it’s not always the case though.

Regs tend to drop late so I assume when the bounce breaks it will be late in the cycle. I just hope he will break before the weekend. That I have a couple more cycles to see his numbers bounce free. And I hope that the bounce breaking cycle will not go too low, because, even if you warned me, I would be worried about him. Or he would bounce right back up 🙄

I will not mess with his insulin amount until we are back from the trip. His fructosamine is still incredible high, I think it was 480, so we have to work on his glucose levels but I would not want to change anything before we go.
I'm happy that Rob was so understanding. I know that it'd probably disappointing for him if you didn't go, but maybe you can experiment with shorter trips (weekend, one night away etc) later.

For whatever reason, Moonie's bounce breaks always happen in the evening... of course. Hopefully Regs is better behaved and breaks for you gently when your'e awake!
 
It's wouldn't be the worst thing if you reduced his dose to 2.0 units before you go on your trip. I am a strong advocate of people taking breaks from FD, when they can. You need to relax and recover from how intense FD can be. I think he'd be fine on his current dose, but 2.0 would also be easier for a petsitter to get consistently. Plus it's not a very long trip away.
 
I'm happy that Rob was so understanding. I know that it'd probably disappointing for him if you didn't go, but maybe you can experiment with shorter trips (weekend, one night away etc) later.

For whatever reason, Moonie's bounce breaks always happen in the evening... of course. Hopefully Regs is better behaved and breaks for you gently when your'e awake!
I’m not sure if he completely understands but he knows me going and sitting the whole day in front of the camera doesn’t do us any good. But I know he would be disappointed so I have not completely made up my mind yet.

Regs is similar to Moonie I guess, he also has a pattern. Most times his bounces were breaking in the very early morning and I worry why he is suddenly dropping like a stone. So I need to be careful the next days. If I go he will get a mc snack at night no matter what his numbers are
 
It's wouldn't be the worst thing if you reduced his dose to 2.0 units before you go on your trip. I am a strong advocate of people taking breaks from FD, when they can. You need to relax and recover from how intense FD can be. I think he'd be fine on his current dose, but 2.0 would also be easier for a petsitter to get consistently. Plus it's not a very long trip away.
I really thought about that so I’m glad someone with so much experience is bringing that up. Thank you!

This morning I tried to take picture of the 2.25 units that the sitter has an idea about how much I’m talking. Depending on the angle it looked so much more or less in the syringe so that would not be a big help.
And I would rather have that he runs 5 days a bit higher than being concerning low.

Do you think I should start with a tad lower dose (and from 2.25 to 2units should be only a difference of 0.0025ml or 2.5uL) already on the weekend or just when the sitter starts?
 
I’m not sure if he completely understands but he knows me going and sitting the whole day in front of the camera doesn’t do us any good. But I know he would be disappointed so I have not completely made up my mind yet.

Regs is similar to Moonie I guess, he also has a pattern. Most times his bounces were breaking in the very early morning and I worry why he is suddenly dropping like a stone. So I need to be careful the next days. If I go he will get a mc snack at night no matter what his numbers are
Yeah Parker and I had a lot of back and forths before we went to Ireland. For us, we were able to get comfortable going (after lining up multiple sitters and working with the experienced members here on dosing) and it was a big family trip. But I wouldn’t blame you if you didn’t feel up to it. :bighug:
 
I really thought about that so I’m glad someone with so much experience is bringing that up. Thank you!

This morning I tried to take picture of the 2.25 units that the sitter has an idea about how much I’m talking. Depending on the angle it looked so much more or less in the syringe so that would not be a big help.
And I would rather have that he runs 5 days a bit higher than being concerning low.

Do you think I should start with a tad lower dose (and from 2.25 to 2units should be only a difference of 0.0025ml or 2.5uL) already on the weekend or just when the sitter starts?
That was a big reason why picked 3u as our vacation dose by the way. It’s easy to draw. We did leave a syringe filled with colored liquid for comparison though to make it extra fool proof.
 
Another option for showing the sitter the dose is to fill a blank syringe with coloured liquid (juice, tea, pop) to show the dose and leave that as a sample to compare to.

You can start the lower dose a couple cycles before you leave if you want, to lower the depot too.

You are right instead of a picture I should just leave a syringe to compare. Even 2 units are so much easier to draw than 2.25 and she is a vet tech, but I will do it anyways and o calm my nerves.

I guess I will start with the 2 units tomorrow, then we have 4-5 doses on the little reduced dose.
I’m just a bit worried because last time he was on only 2 units he was constantly in the 300 and 400, sometimes in the 200 but also 500.
But I think I rather have him too high than worry hat he gets too low and who knows maybe his need for insulin changed a bit
 
Just one question, have you tested lately for ketones?
yes I test almost every day but only in the urine. If he is very high sometimes twice a day

And after his diagnosis we never had an issue with it. I asked our vet if I should get a blood ketone meter and she said no
 
That was a big reason why picked 3u as our vacation dose by the way. It’s easy to draw. We did leave a syringe filled with colored liquid for comparison though to make it extra fool proof.
I’m just a bit worried because when we have been on two units his glucose was always high, but I’m also not sure if 2.25 or 2 make such a huge difference and maybe his need for insulin changed
 
I’m just a bit worried because when we have been on two units his glucose was always high, but I’m also not sure if 2.25 or 2 make such a huge difference and maybe his need for insulin changed
Probably a better question for Wendy but I think our sitter could have handled half unit doses too like 2.5u especially with a comparison syringe. The quarter units though are tricky.
 
Back
Top